We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Oil City Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Oil City Conference Center to your Saves list
Days Inn Oil City Conference Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Seneca Street, Oil City, PA 16301 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Oil City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oil City
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    46
    22
    6
    21
See reviews for
57
25
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minot, North Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Used to stay at this hotel, but it has changed hands several times, and the service has gotten worse each time. Only show in town and still won't ever get our business again. Front desk staff is extremely rude! Don't bother with this glorified dump, drive farther out and spend your money on a real hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daysinnoilcity, Webmaster at Days Inn Oil City Conference Center, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Days Inn Oil City during your visit to our area.

We appreciate you for the review and regret the experience however unlikely it may be.

We have taken adequate steps to ensure that guests enjoy a fine stay and the best hospitality.

We assure that we shall further do the very best to make your next stay at our hotel a memorable experience.

The next time you visit our area, choose to stay with us.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The "Arlington" (now Days Inn Oil City) is an iconic property. The owners have recently added tremendous amounts of effort and $ into updating it very successfully.

I always love to stay here when I come to OC because both Bob and Henna take care of me and go the extra mile to see that my stay is perfect. They embrace the historic culture of Oil City and their "small town" thoughtful gestures make you feel right at home.

Everything was new/updated in my room - showers, beds, tv, furniture, paint, etc. There is a lovely view overlooking the river and the hotel is nestled right up against Justice Park. There are many restaurants within a five minute walk of the hotel. The complimentary continental breakfast is great too!

This is "THE" place to stay when visiting the history-rich Oil Region of Venango County, PA!

Thank you Bob and Henna for another perfect Oil City, PA vacation!!

-Amy

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Days Inn, Oil City is the latest new name of this old hotel. The locals refer to it as Arlington Hotel. I've stayed at this hotel several times. It's great strength is its staff, led by the owner, who are very polite and very helpful. Will they go the extra mile? I believe so. Having said that, I've not needed them to do so,

The strongest thing going for this hotel is its location. It is right by the Allegheny River and a park and one can just sit by on the bench by the river and enjoy the scenery.

The weakest part of the hotel is its dated architecture. All the hotel rooms open into a common corridor, so you have to choose between privacy or letting the sunlight in through the window. Should you leave the curtains open, anyone walking by can potentially look into your room.

The rooms itself are large and very clean. The hotel furniture and bathrooms have been updated and are quite nice. The beds could be a little lower in height though. I would suggest more comfortable down pillows but overall sleep quality was excellent.
And no, in all my several stays there, I never found any bugs in the room at all, as one reviewer has alluded to.
Overall the hotel is very clean.

The continental breakfast consists of your basic carbs (cereals, waffle maker, breads, mini-donuts), bananas and little else. There is a McDonald's next door if you are looking for a warm breakfast. And for the evening, there are some good restaurants in walking distance, the most popular of them being Yellow Dog.

Each room as a microwave and a small fridge--a nice touch. It is a little less expensive than the Quality Inn and considerably less expensive than the Holiday Inn Express which are the nearest competitors. Though, having said that, the room rate of the three hotels reflects the limited competition in small town USA.

There is an in-house restaurant and a bar, but I can't comment on them as I haven't used them.

Overall, I would definitely stay there any time I'm in Oil City.

Room Tip: If you want to look at the river from the hotel, ask for Riverside room. Though having said that, si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daysinnoilcity, Webmaster at Days Inn Oil City Conference Center, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing you excellent experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay. We appreciate your kind words regarding our hotel staff and we are thrilled to learn that helped to make your stay special.

We are addressing your observations for further improvement and you shall definitely find the difference during your next visit.

We are thankful for mentioning all the positive sides which you observed during your stay.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay with us. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Oil City Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Oil City Conference Center

Address: 1 Seneca Street, Oil City, PA 16301 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Oil City)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Oil City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oil City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Oil City Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Days Inn Oil City Conference Center, conveniently located on the banks of the Allegheny River in historic downtown Oil City, PA. Whether you are in the area for business, pleasure or scheduling an event or conference in one of our meeting rooms or ballroom, we invite you to come and experience the warmth and hospitality of our newly remodeled hotel. We offer amenities such as free continental breakfast, featuring hot and cold items, microwaves, refrigerators, and automatic free Wi-Fi in all public areas and guest rooms, to ensure you have everything you need for a convenient stay. Take advantage of our seasonal outdoor pool overlooking the Allegheny River, or blow off some steam in our on-site fitness center. Guests also have free access to the local YMCA. A variety of restaurants are within walking distance of the hotel and our staff can help you with information about local events, shopping, museums, historic buildings or the resident Artist Studios. Oil City is a recognized "Trail Town" and our hotel caters to bikers and cyclists. It is conveniently located just 2 miles from the head of the Samuel Justus Bike Trail where you can walk, bike, cross country ski or snowshoe. However you choose to spend your time, we look forward to having you at our Oil City hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Wyndham, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Oil City Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites Oil City
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Oil City Hotel Oil City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Oil City Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.