We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Oil City Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Oil City Conference Center to your Saves list
Days Inn Oil City Conference Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Seneca Street, Oil City, PA 16301 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Oil City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oil City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't Stay Here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

To start, my mother reserved this hotel strictly because their website said that they allowed pets. Also, on the paper we received when we checked in, also stated things about pets at the bottom. Too bad their sign said no pets were allowed whatsoever. The manager let us take our 3 week old kitten anyways, because that was definitely false advertising. However, this was after we approached the woman at the counter to ask about taking off the cost of one person so that my mother could take the kitten to our grandmother's house. The woman said, "No, because on our website it clearly states that no pets are allowed." So, of course, we said, "Uhm, no, it doesn't. It actually says that pets are allowed." and we showed her the website screen on my phone. She said it should have been fixed, and called the manager, who called back later on to approve the situation. So, that's how that played out, which is okay, but was still frustrating. When we entered our room, it smelled of smoke extremely bad and there was definitely a tobacco scent coming through the vent in the bathroom. We are not smokers. We don't need to smell it in our NON-SMOKING ROOM. The room was dirty. The carpets look like they haven't been vacuumed in ages. They could have also steam cleaned the carpet to get the nasty goop off of the floor. The lamps were extremely dusty. There was a wet ring of something in the drawer of the nightstand between the beds. The granite, or imitation granite, in the bathroom shower was incredibly disgusting. It looked like it was coated in dirt. We had four people in our room and there weren't enough towels for all of us. The lighting is horrible. The coffee pot was definitely dirty. One of the comforters had at least one cigarette burn hole in it. The "leather" furniture that was supposedly brand new (and also supposedly why they no longer allow pets), was torn when we entered the room. The "clean remote" was dirty. There were no extra garbage bags in the room. Our room did not have a microwave like it was supposed to. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, and there were only three pillows on each of the two beds. The pillows were only soft; none of them were firm. The air ventilation system was terrible. The temperature was fine and all of the sudden it started blowing out hot air. It felt like a sauna. We could not shut it off; it wouldn't let us. The room service moved the tip envelope out, as if we were going to tip them for pretty much doing nothing. They maybe made the beds, gave us two towels (again, not enough), and one roll of toilet paper. It was definitely not dusted or vacuumed at all in the room. She/he also left the bathroom and sink lights on. The breakfast area is small and hard to get around in when many people are in there. Overall, the experience was horrible. We will never stay here again. Maybe the employees who read these should focus on bad reviews, such as this, to help improve the stay of future clients; instead of ignoring them. If they were so worried about pets not being there, they should have checked every possible place of where "Pets Allowed" had been posted to check for the change. They didn't, it is not the responsibility of the client to look at every website to find out the rules. On their actual website, which Facebook links to (www.oilcityhotel.com), it says under 'Accommodations' that pets are, indeed, allowed. They finally changed this nearly a week after we were there. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oilcity, General Manager at Days Inn Oil City Conference Center, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We, at America's Best Value Inn-Arlington Hotel in Oil City, PA were sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. We apologize for the miscommunication regarding our pet policy. We were in the process of changing all websites to reflect the new "No Pet" policy. We are glad we were able to resolve that situation for you.
As for the cleaniless of the room, you never indicated there was a problem in that area. Our coffeemakers do not have pots, but are one-cup coffeemakers, with self contained trays of coffee that drip into a cup. The rooms are cleaned thoroughly each day, unless there is a "do not disturb" sign left on the door. Some rooms are not equipped with microwaves, but we would have been glad to provide one if you had let us know it was missing. The granite countertops and showers in the bathrooms are brand new, less than three months old.
As for the smoky smell in the room, it could very well have been coming through the vent in the bathroom. We deeply apologize for the inconvienence. Had we known it was a problem, we would have moved you to another room.
You were here for four nights and never reported any of these problems about the room to the front desk. If it was so terrible, we must wonder why you never mentioned it.
Thank you,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    46
    22
    6
    20
See reviews for
57
25
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barberton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Myself and 5 others just stayed here for one night for a biking trip to Oil City. First off, for the price,( $77 with tax) you can't get a better room. It is an older hotel but they have done decently with remodeling. The rooms are updated with newer furniture, bathrooms, etc... My room was very clean, you could tell the linens and towels had been freshly laundered. The door to the room was a bit hard to shut, but you just had to put some muscle to it. This part of the hotel (the doors, and exterior) is a bit outdated but still nice. My room was on the back looking at the river, nice view but cold walking out of it in the morning!;-) The staff was very kind to us, suggesting they had laundry facilities to dry off our wet clothes, and also suggesting where to eat. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a good price and a nice room. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the river are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oilcity, General Manager at Days Inn Oil City Conference Center, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We, at America's Bets Value Inn-Arlington Hotel in OIl City, PA, would like to thank you for the wonderful review you left for us on Trip Advisor. We strive to keep our rooms clean and everything in working order. It is nice to see that our efforts are appeciated. As for the bike trails, we hope that the next time you decide to experience the area again that you will spent your time here with us. We really enjoyed having you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredonia, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I had never been to Oil City before and didn't have very many choices of available rooms in the area, because our stay was during the Apple Fest in Franklin. I was very pleasanly suprised by this hotel. The room was clean. It had been recently remodelled and they did a good job with it. The staff was very nice and offered to help with anything when we checked in. The breakfast was also very decent. Run of the mill continental, but done well. My daughter loved it, as they have a belgium waffle maker! Bet it is vey nice in the summer because of the pool, river view and playground. I would recommend to anyone travelling to this area of PA. If I find myself there again, will probably stay here :)

Room Tip: The river side is nicer than the parking lot side, duh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oilcity, General Manager at Days Inn Oil City Conference Center, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
We, at America's Best Value Inn-Arlington Hotel, in Oil City, Pa, would like to thank you for the review you left for us on Trip Advisor recently. Its always nice to know that our efforts are appreciated. We are happy you enjoyed your stay during Apple Fest weekend and we look forward to seeing you next year. If you get the chance to visit in the summer, you will love being able to walk down to the river from our backyard.
Thanks again,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed in room 328. It was just the right level of kitsch and class!

Upon arriving at the hotel, the front desk attendant was very helpful and personable, and the experience was repeated for each change of shift over our 21 hour stay.

The room was clean, and the view was really beautiful outside of the room. Going in October, the weather was brisk and the trees were beautiful, but in the summer, I'll bet it's nice to sit outside and enjoy the river views.

When we pulled up, it looked like a typical hotel, but when you're inside, and you see the back of the property, you see how lovely everything truly is. And the staff were very friendly.

We will celebrate our love for years to come at the Arlington Hotel (America's Best Inn and Suites).

Room Tip: Jacuzzi suite. Do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oilcity, General Manager at Days Inn Oil City Conference Center, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
We, at America's Best Value Inn-Arlington Hotel, in Oil City, Pa, would like to thank you for your wonderful review . The heart shaped jacuzzi room is my personal favorite as well! It was nice to hear that our attempts at friendliness and hotel upkeep did not go unnoticed! We hope to see you in the summer so you can enjoy the river and the park behind the hotel.
Thank you again,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was my first time at this hotel and with an America's Best Value Inn. It was the worst hotel experience I've ever had. The minor stuff was the filthiness of the room, the fact that we had two remotes and neither worked and once we got a different one it would time out and have to be reprogrammed every 5 minutes, the fact that the hairdryer mounted on the wall would blow the fuse after 90 seconds of use, and that the door would only stay shut about 50% of the time. The biggest issue was that I booked the reservation over the phone and asked for two rooms with two beds. We had 8 people traveling with us and once we got to the hotel we were told that we would have to pay an extra $40 for the 4 extra people. This extra fee was never communicated to me when I booked the room and it was never asked how many people I would be traveling with. When the desk clerk (who I think was also the owner) claimed she asked me and that she asks everyone, I informed her that she did not ask me and must have me confused with another patron, at that point she called me a liar and proceeded to speak in a foreign language about me to the gentleman behind the desk in front of my face. I have never had such a negative experience or been treated so poorly at a hotel in my life and I travel 2 to 3 times a month. The worst part is if I had been told up front about the extra fee I would have paid it gladly but to have it sprung on me once I was already checked in is dishonest and sketchy. I will never stay where again and advise anyone to avoid this hotel at all cost.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oilcity, General Manager at Days Inn Oil City Conference Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We, at America's Best Value Inn-The Arlington Hotel in Oil City, PA, were sorry to hear that you felt taken advantage of here at our establishment. We strive to make our guests happy and comfortable during their stay with us. We do charge $10 per extra person in the room. That policy has been in effect for a number of years and is also clearly stated on our website. When we make reservations, we always ask about the number of persons expected to stay in the room, so we feel certain that you were asked that question. Also, we gave you the special rate of $69 for the room when the regular rate in $89. When you reported that your remote wasn't working, our front desk clerk immediately brought you a new remote and programmed it for you. As for the cleanliness of the room, neither you nor your guests made mention that the room was unsatisfactory or we would have attempted to rectify the situation.
Again, we are sorry that you were unhappy with the service that you received at our hotel, as we would like to keep you as a customer.

Thank you, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oil City hotels

Burlington, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

After the passing of my mother, I tried to check in at the Arlington at 6:30AM. The desk clerk ( I believe the owner) told me I would be charged for two nights. One night being from 6:30AM to 3:00PM, the other from 3:00PM to the next day at 11:00 AM, I tried to explain the situation, my mother just passed and I was from out of town and needed a room for my family members to get rest while I made arrangements and was told " I don't care". Any person who is that cold hearted and frankly rude does not deserve to be in business, I encourage all who reads this to consider different places to stay, The Holiday Inn Express in Cranberry went above the call of duty to meet all my needs that morning, they were very considerate to my family and recommended the Quality Inn in Franklin PA for the families that traveled from out of town for the services. For the Arlingtons rudeness and thier lack of compassion toward a family in great distress they lost my business and the business from my family. I do hope this was an isolated incident and it wont happen again, but I'm afraid it will.

Room Tip: The Holiday Inn Express in Cranberry or Quality Inn in Franklin
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oilcity, General Manager at Days Inn Oil City Conference Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We, at America's Best Value Inn-Arlington Hotel, would like to apologize for any additional grief you feel your family suffered when checking into our hotel. We followed strict hotel policy of charging for two nights when guests will be staying for a day and a half of a day. You attempted to check in before 6am which constituates an additional day. I do not believe any of my employees were rude and stated "I don't care." We try to make our guest comfortable and satsified when they are staying at our hotel. Again, we apologize if you were offended, but we couldn't make exceptions on the price for you.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at the Arlington while visiting family in Oil City, this past week. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice the accommodations were. The staff was cordial. The building is neat and clean and the room was neat clean and well maintained. We had a nice selection of free breakfast options and also a nice buffet lunch for our whole group. I would recommend this establishment to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oilcity, General Manager at Days Inn Oil City Conference Center, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words about your stay at our hotel, America's Best Value Inn-Arlington Hotel, in Oil City, PA. It is always nice to hear from a satisfied guest. We hope we made your visit with your family a more comfortable and enjoyable time. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Oil City Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Oil City Conference Center

Address: 1 Seneca Street, Oil City, PA 16301 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Oil City)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Oil City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oil City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Oil City Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Days Inn Oil City Conference Center, conveniently located on the banks of the Allegheny River in historic downtown Oil City, PA. Whether you are in the area for business, pleasure or scheduling an event or conference in one of our meeting rooms or ballroom, we invite you to come and experience the warmth and hospitality of our newly remodeled hotel. We offer amenities such as free continental breakfast, featuring hot and cold items, microwaves, refrigerators, and automatic free Wi-Fi in all public areas and guest rooms, to ensure you have everything you need for a convenient stay. Take advantage of our seasonal outdoor pool overlooking the Allegheny River, or blow off some steam in our on-site fitness center. Guests also have free access to the local YMCA. A variety of restaurants are within walking distance of the hotel and our staff can help you with information about local events, shopping, museums, historic buildings or the resident Artist Studios. Oil City is a recognized "Trail Town" and our hotel caters to bikers and cyclists. It is conveniently located just 2 miles from the head of the Samuel Justus Bike Trail where you can walk, bike, cross country ski or snowshoe. However you choose to spend your time, we look forward to having you at our Oil City hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Oil City Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites Oil City
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Oil City Hotel Oil City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Oil City Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.