We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food any time of the day or night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Star Diner

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
American Star Diner
1200 Welsh Rd, Ste 1, North Wales, PA 19454-3771
215-368-4848
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 71 Restaurants in North Wales
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good food any time of the day or night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This diner has a huge menu, I always take forever choosing what I want to eat! Always fresh and great service!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    6
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast, Don't Bother for Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I enjoy their breakfasts, and find the service to be good. They also serve Lacas Coffee, which is a local coffee company and just delicious. They also give you a pot of coffee at the table so you can serve yourself refills, which is much appreciated.

Avoid the polydachtyl waiter though...he's nice but not very good as a waiter. If you get seated in his section, seriously asked to be moved.

They have a decent salad bar, but was disappointed by their meatloaf. I mean, it's a diner. The meatloaf should be stellar. Sadly, it was not. Too bad, too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not so tasty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Food was just average, service was fair. Desserts were the best part of all. Salad bar needs sprucing up

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Star Diner Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Been at this restaurant several time hoping that it would get better. It is still average. The prices were average for a diner. Do not think I would visit the restaurant to soon.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good enough if it is real close (Ie. Not worth the trip)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Overall the food is good and the staff are friendly so I may return but it is low on the list even though I live within five minutes. The waiter was friendly but when he put the utensils out he managed to touch every one by the food end (there were three of us). One of us made clear: 'no cheese' in the omelet and we were assured that it did not come with cheese unless requested and cheese was additional. Of course there was cheese on the omelet. Additionally, none of us were served toast with our omelets, the waiter did not come by to check on us and we had waited a WHILE for the food in the first place. The man that took our money at the register was nice but did not ask how we enjoyed our meal. Maybe he knew better?

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Star Diner also viewed

 

Been to American Star Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Star Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.