We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great italian restaurant in the suburbs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bacco Restaurant

Bacco Restaurant
587 Dekalb Pike, North Wales, PA 19454-2221
215-699-3361
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bacco Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 71 Restaurants in North Wales
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 63 (Welsh Road)
Description: Welcome to Bacco, a Neapolitan family trattoria specializing in homemade Italian dishes and wines. The name Bacco is Italian for "Bacchus", the mythological god of "good times" who taught mortals the celebration of the grapes and living every day to the fullest. Bacchus is the essence and enjoyment of the food and fruits of the earth. The meal is the center of Italian culture. With its own wine room, martini bar, indoor garden and bocce court on the patio, Bacco is truly a cut above the rest when it comes to authentic Italian dining. A large choice of family-style dishes allows everyone to share their selections, creating fun and the warmth of dining in the manner of the Italian family table. Benvenuto!
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great italian restaurant in the suburbs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I never heard of this restaurant but went here for dinner with my in-laws. They reserved a separate room for our dinner, which was nice - it was kinda detached from the rest of the restaurant - you could close the door. It was great, since you didnt had to overhear other people's conversation and it felt like you were just sitting in a dining room at home. Service was friendly and quick. We tried the fried calamari, which was crispy and delicious. Hubby also tried the australian lamb chops which were cooked to his liking - medium rare. I also posted more pictures on my other food blog, if you're interested:

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Been-There-Ate-That/156499854368045

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    23
    11
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Have been there four times in the last year, and the food is consistently excellent. Both the regular menu and the dinner specials are worth checking out. It can get very busy, especially on Saturday nights where people pack the bar as well as the restaurant. I would definetly recomment a reservation. Price is reasonable for the quality of the food. It can be a little noisy when busy, but the place has a great warmth to it and great for people watching. Will most certainly be back there again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best in Montgomery County”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Been there many times over last 8 years....always a pleasure from the great authentic Italian menu items to the friendly bar and entertainment on week ends..patio in season is terrific...fun place to hang out ....very casual and friendly with best staff...Atmosphere and "FEEL" a is great.....try the long hots and OssoBuco...wonderful.'

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A table in the aisle??? Wear to a helmet to prevent bruising!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Food: Portion sizes were generous, bread and olive oil were great! Long hot peppers not hot, but still tasted good. We ordered the appetizer tomatoes and mozzarella and asked for the pizza bread and they were out of it. They said it would be 3minutes to cook, but then the waitress forgot to bring it. She also forgot to bring an ordered drink. I think it was just way too crowded. Our waitress was flying around and appeared very busy and really just couldn't keep up with everything!

Seating: Absolutely horrible! They have all the tables compressed together that you are literally shoulder to shoulder with the next person and my husband kept getting hit by every staff member as they walked by. We told the owner and she pushed our table over, but he still was getting hit in the head and knocked by the servers! That was really disturbing!

Bathrooms: In the height of flu season, there was NO hot water to wash your hands!!! I told the owner and asked if she was aware of this and she said that she knew about it. The hot water spigot wouldn't even turn on.

In summary, the food was good, not great! The service was okay. The seating was horrible. I am not sure how quickly I would return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good food, but expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

There is a take out pizza side and a dine in side. We did the dine in. Outside it looks like an average place, but it is gorgeous inside. Food was very good, but it was also very expensive. Would be great for a romantic date. We though it was just a pizza place and felt both under dressed and out of place on our first visit.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacco Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bacco Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bacco Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.