We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great concept... need a bit of work on the service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harvest Seasonal Grill

Harvest Seasonal Grill
1460 Bethlehem Pike, North Wales, PA 19454
+1 267-460-8986
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Harvest Seasonal Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 73 Restaurants in North Wales
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Organic, Sandwiches, Vegetarian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Welsh Rd
Description: Harvest Seasonal Grill and Wine Bar offers an under 500 calorie seasonally changing, local farm to table menu, 50+ wines by the glass, seasonal cocktails and local beers. Start your meal at Harvest with one of our seasonal flatbreads and then enjoy wood grilled steak, poultry and seafood paired with the perfect glass of wine selected by our knowledgeable staff. Every three months Harvest changes the menu to reflect the change of the seasons. Harvest works with 75 local farmers to source the freshest and highest quality products available. At Harvest the use of sustainable, organic and healthy ingredients doesn’t stop with the menu. From the organic cleaning products, to our recycled glass bar tops, and from our recycled paper products to the ink on our menus Harvest is truly a green concept.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great concept... need a bit of work on the service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We've dined here twice over the past two months, once in January and once in February. These were our first two times at the location.

Both times we made reservations using OpenTable. One frustrating thing is when the restaurants called within minutes of each booking to "confirm we really wanted a reservation". Isn't that that point? I've experienced this with a few other restaurants. It's annoying, and part of using OpenTable is so that I don't have to take the time to talk to someone about the reservation.
If there are problems with people booking, then either ban them from booking online or get rid of OpenTable all together.

Both times the greeting at the front door has been rather gruff, as was the phone call. Surprising for this type of restaurant.

Our first time we sat at a table in the main restaurant. The tables in the middle were just a bit too close together. The hostess walked us a strange and long way to our table, but still were bumping people who were eating.

The food was good. Enjoyed the edamame three ways (salt, chili and sweet) which are served in a stackable bamboo tower. Short ribs were good, but not amazing. Service was pleasant but drinks were slow to come each time we ordered.


Second time we sat at the bar, got there before the mad rush on a Friday night. Service was better (as to be expected). Food was again good.

Great concept for using local and fresh ingredients. A nice slightly upscale alternate to the many chain restaurants around. They just need to polish the politeness on the phone and at the hostess stand..... and space the tables out just a wee bit more.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    22
    13
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sellersville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ridiculous”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Really$14 for a Chardonnay !? Average quality
It's not NYC!
Was going to see American Hustle I think I got hustled before I saw the movie!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Our new favorite place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stumbled across Harvest from Open Table and boy are we glad. The menu features local farm fresh food. The menu changes every season as well. The menu is about 80% meals that are under 500 calories. The only problem with the menu is the meals that are over 500 calories, the totals are not given. Is it 502 calories or 2000 calories? Would be nice to know. I love the chill and bison meatloaf. My wife has had the spicy tofu stir fry. Everything we have gotten there has been top notch. The service is always great and after only a few visits the staff recognized us and greeting us warmly. The desserts are excellent as well. My wife always gets the salted caramel mousse and I get the peanut butter and chocolate. We need more places like this in Montco and lets hope that this is the start of something great and a move away from so many chains.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, PA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful first time experience, looking forward to returning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided to try this restaurant with a friend. We made reservations (which we would recommend, particularly on a Saturday). The restaurant was crowded, which we took as a good sign that the food was good. They have a good menu, so even a picky person will be able to find something. We each ordered an appetizer (I recommended the shredded beef tacos). For our main courses, we ordered the wood grilled sword fish, the pork medallions, and the bison meatloaf. I am not sure what made me order the bison meatloaf, as I don't think I have eaten meatloaf in 20 years. We were all happy with our meals. I don't eat fish, but would order the sword fish - wonderfully tasty. The pork medallions were served with a pecan topping - sweet tasting and not overcooked. For me, though, my favorite was the bison meatloaf. It was perfectly cooked and served with a sauce on the top. Just delicious. Unfortunately, with all the appetizers and the main courses, we did not save room for dessert. The dessert tray had many tempting options. We would recommend this restaurant as a great place to go with friends, as almost everything was under 500 calories a plate so you did not feel like you needed to switch into an outfit with an elastic waistband at the end of the meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Glen, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great menu, excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

First time visitor. Far exceeded expectations. Food was delicious. Cheese flatbread, turkey chili, edamame, short ribs, bison meatloaf, pecan pie...all great! Our waiter, Clint, was awesome. Recommended a lot of the dishes and a great wine. Will go back soon! Only drawback is that it's a bit pricey and loud.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvest Seasonal Grill also viewed

 

Been to Harvest Seasonal Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvest Seasonal Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.