We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice, Relative Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Philadelphia Montgomeryville

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Philadelphia Montgomeryville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Philadelphia Montgomeryville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   544 Dekalb Pike, North Wales, PA 19454   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in North Wales
Frederick, MD
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Choice, Relative Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My family & I stayed here for our annual long weekend in Doylestown, PA. Doylestown doesn't have much in the way of hotel choices, so Montgomeryville was the most convenient choice with the new Route 202 that heads directly to Doylestown much quicker than it used to. The location is right across from Montgomeryville Mall at Route 309, near Welsh Road, so it's convenient to many of the major routes in the area.

Overall, we had a good impression and would stay here again. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. The room is attractive and well sized. There is free Wi-Fi and HD TV's that actually show the HD broadcasts. There was a reasonable amount of cable channels, including Showtime which can be a rarity in hotels. Checking in was efficient and the people at the desk were friendly.

While not inexpensive to stay here, the value was there-- it was cheaper than similar "three star" lodging in the general area, significantly so on Sunday. No breakfast was included, however, as the buffet costs $10 a person (we didn't try it). The hotel seemed full and yet the room was very quiet, so I sense it was soundproofed well.

Just some notes- the elevators are small and slow, so we took the stairs up to the fourth (top) floor. If you have a ton of luggage, you should know that you're not getting a cart in that elevator. The small indoor pool was popular and very cold and the hot tub wasn't working when we were there. The fitness room had three new-ish cardio machines with televisions built in and a rack of dumbbells with a bench. It was very clean and pleasant and adequate for its purpose, better than many hotels.

I have the feeling we will be staying in this property again, as it was a very nice stay.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, ask for a first floor room, since carts (if they have any) would never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian W, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Montgomeryville, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We thank you for the many fine comments. Our staff always wants to hear the good and the bad so we can always improve. The hotel was just renovated last year in the rooms so everything is up to date for your stay with us. Whether you are going north, south, east, or west the location is great to any major highway. Hope to see you soon on your next stay with us.


Thanks
Brian P. Witman
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    26
    16
    1
    5
See reviews for
18
9
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Royersford, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding nearby at Pinecrest Country Club. Overall, it was a very nice hotel. Check-in/check-out was very easy, and staff was friendly. The room was clean, fairly large, and seemed updated. The bed was comfortable, and lots of pillows were provided. Bathroom was clean, and good quality toiletries were also provided.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian W, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Montgomeryville, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We thank you for the many kind words. Our hotel hosts alot of wedding blocks every weekend because of the great location and exceptional service. The staff and management would say we make that special day a memorable one. We hope you stop in and stay with us the next time you are in the area.


Thanks
Brian P. Witman
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modiin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hi
I'm visiting this hotel 4-5 times a year.
It is very nice, clean and well run
Have swimming pool and small jim.

Good breakfast
Evening- almost nothing to eat but a lot of restourants just a short distance away

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian W, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Montgomeryville, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. Our staff strives to give the great service that guests expect. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip and the cookies will be waiting.


Thanks
Brian P. Witman
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 4 times for my business trip. I love the clean room!!! No sour/funky smells in the bathroom like other hotels , their beds are so comfy and clean and a small refrigerator was a plus! Their front desk people are very friendly and they have free fresh baked cookies on a daily basis. I have about 3 to 4 business trips to make this year and I will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian W, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Montgomeryville, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
We thank you for the many kind words. As a manager we like to hear the good and bad so we can improve. I get a comment almost every day on how friendly our staff is. This is not the case at most hotels. Our hotel is currently ranked in the top 25% of all Courtyards around the world. The staff and management take great pride in the service they provide. The hotel is in a great location with a major mall right across the street and is also surrounded by any kind of restaurant you can think of.

Thanks
Brian P. Witman
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Plainfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have stayed here a few times and it has been improved of late with nice rooms and decor. The staff are attentive and pleasant. I was slightly disappointed with the fitness room which is lightly equipped. Breakfast is good but a confusing mix of self service buffet and cook to order which can take a while at peak times.
Nice selection of places to dine including an adjacent Chilles, which served me well.
I will be happy to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian W, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Montgomeryville, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We thank you for your many comments and hope by reading these we can improve. Our fitness room was also renovated last year. One thing we don't have that we did is the elliptical but we do meet Marriott standards. I am trying to get another elliptical though because we have had some requests. The hotel is definitely in a great location from a major mall across the street to every restaurant in the book around us. We hope to see you next time.


Thanks
Brian P. Witman
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork - Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed at this Courtyard Marriott for 5 nights on business. Location is good for my work and also for chain restaurants, and the Montgomerville Mall. Stayed at other Courtyards in the US and this one was simiar if a little below par relative to some of the others.

In general a good stay though so dont get me wrong. I would recommend.
Very friendly staff. Very helpful. Easy check-in and good welcome. No mention of Marriott Rewards Club though.
Lobby and entrance is the most dissapointing element of the place. Needs a refurb. Its pretty dreary. Even though it looks like it had some form of a make-over recently....

Rooms have been refurbished too to reflect usual Courtyard style. Bath products have become poor though. Sage soap? Allergic! This is a general comment re Courtyard though!

Room was clean - though a little further investigation suggests a little better dusting would be beneficial. In general though the standard of cleanliness is good.

Breakfast was varied and some healthy eating options available. No atmosphere in the restaurant at all though, as it feels like it is part of the reception area and needs a good refurbish.

Internet access was excellent. A first for Couryard Marriott! Very fast. Didnt drop. Easy log in! Well done!!!
Quiet room. Very well insulated. No noise from other rooms. Temp in the room good also and easily controlled.

I didnt use the pool area but it looked clean and well maintained.

Good stay but the communal areas and front of building let the impression down a little.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian W, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Montgomeryville, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We thank you for the many comments as we welcome good and bad so we can improve on our service. The sleeping rooms were renovated last year and the lobby and public space are scheduled this year. Our hotel gets many comments on its great location since it is right across the street from a major mall. It is also surrounded by any restaurant you can think of. As the manager, I get comments almost everyday how friendly our staff is. So whether it is for business or pleasure, make the Courtyard by Marriott Montgomeryville your place to stay.

Thanks
Brian P. Witman
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Been here four or five times. Rooms are very clean, but amenities are limited. They seem to aim for two, not three towels, etc. Front desk staff (and dining room staff) couldn't be nicer, but are lacking in training and knowledge.

Reception had no idea where a local restaurant was located and wouldn't say that, asked me to come back in 30 minutes. (Gosh, I could use Mapquest in 3.) Much confusion checking out trying to get breakfast charge sent 30 feet to the front desk. Took a huddle of waitress and receptionist to try for 5 minutes to come up with a plan. Bar was supposed to be open at 5, but never opened that evening.

Bottom line. A perfectly fine place to stay, but don't expect more than big smiles, good intentions and a clean hotel. Getting anything done can take a little extra time and effort. Staff will pleasantly smile while they work on it, but they leave you wondering if they've ever traveled themselves or heard the request before.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian W, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Montgomeryville, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We welcome good and bad comments. We strive to give the best service that we can but can always improve. I will definitely look into the issues mentioned. Our hotel is currently ranked 40 out of all Courtyards around the world. We also went through renovations this year in the rooms.

Thanks
Brian P. Witman
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia Montgomeryville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia Montgomeryville

Address: 544 Dekalb Pike, North Wales, PA 19454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > North Wales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in North Wales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Philadelphia Montgomeryville 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia Montgomeryville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott By Marriott Philadelphia Montgomeryville Hotel North Wales
Courtyard North Wales
North Wales Courtyard
North Wales Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Philadelphia Montgomeryville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.