We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joseph Ambler Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Joseph Ambler Inn to your Saves list
Joseph Ambler Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   1005 Horsham Road, North Wales, PA 19454   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Sizzling Sundays
Ranked #1 of 1 North Wales B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfect Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

We got married at the Inn in mid-October, and it couldn't have been more perfect. Although the weather didn't cooperate 100%, the staff were ready for any eventuality - we had backup plan after backup plan. The property is beautiful, and the fall scenery only contributed to the overall beauty of the buildings and grounds. The staff, especially Keenan, were top notch and receptive to all our needs. We probably juggled guests and rooms 3 different times, and as annoying as that must have been, Keenan never hesitated to meet with us and work through our concerns. The food was top-notch and resulted in numerous compliments from our guests.

We decided on a "whole house agreement" for two of the houses, meaning we had the entire building to ourselves. This worked perfectly for our guests and I would recommend it to anyone with large numbers of out of town guests for a wedding. We ended up staying two nights, and couldn't have been happier. Our guests felt the same way.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    46
    23
    16
    6
See reviews for
50
121
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

I stayed at this hotel in mid-October for my friend's wedding and was overall pleased with the entire experience. The Inn is right off of a fairly busy road, but you would never notice once you're there and the grounds are gorgeous. We paid a bit more and got a suite with a private outdoor patio and huge spa tub, which was wonderful. The food at my friend's wedding was fantastic, probably the best wedding food I've ever had. The presentation of cocktail hour was also very nice and the space for the wedding was ample and beautiful. The staff were all very friendly, especially the dining room staff during breakfast. I also liked that a full breakfast was included in the price of our room and the variety of food and beverages was great; not a simple continental breakfast or anything! Overall this was a great experience and I would highly recommend it for both events and staying at the Inn.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

My husband & I got married in Sept. 2010 at Joseph Ambler Inn. It rained the morning of the ceremony, however the staff at Joseph Ambler Inn made everything great! All went well, the sun came out before the ceremony started, the food was AWESOME, and the ambiance of the inn just spoke for itself. I stayed from Sat til Mon & our room was just great! Very clean & the staff was just perfect! I also had out-of-state family stay at the inn & they still can't stop talking about what a wonderful experience they had, especially the full buffet breakfast the next morning!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagleville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

We had our wedding at JAI in October of 2010 and I could not be more please with how everything went! Wendi and her staff were incredibly organized and were on top of every detail! We are not easy to please, and I can honestly say my expectations were exceeded! Not a detail was missed, my friends and family loved the food, atmosphere and accomodations. JAI was also a perfect location for us as we had many out of town guests that were able to stay right on site. Renting one of the houses "Whole House Agreement" was such a great experience as well to have a post gathering with friends and family following the reception. JAI is a gem for small weddings, we had about 90 guests and a 10 piece band it was just right!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

I stayed here for two nights while travelling on business. Arriving up the long dirt driveway after a long day of travelling or business starts you relaxing right off the bat. The buildings themselves are beautiful, and despite their age, have been renovated to include everything one needs.
The staff is very pleasant and helpful. I arrived quite late, hoping to get dinner, and when I mentioned it while checking in, the woman at reception phoned over and asked the restaurant to stay open a little longer to expect me, then told me to take my time getting settled in my room! And boy am I glad they did. The food was exceptional - lamb chops and an amazing potato gratin. And despite being the last diner, no one tried to rush me out.
At another point, I got a soda out of the machine, and it was flat (had clearly been in there a little too long). When I brought it up to reception, it was immediately replaced with two and an apology given.
The room was comfortable and very beautiful. Antiques, but not overrun with doily's and froufrou. I had a room with a spa tub which I was looking forward to. The only downside was that the tub was extremely noisy and couldn't be turned off when I was done with it - it had to cycle through its entire 40 minute (I think) run time. On checking in, I'd been told this, but didn't realize it would be that noisy! I felt very bad for anyone else with a room on that floor.
The other drawback was the wireless which only worked sporadically. Apparently, too many people were using it, to which I would say - that means add more bandwidth or don't say you have wireless.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

It was such a beautiful weekend that I cannot believe it is over. Staying at the Joseph Ambler Inn was just perfect as we prepared for our son's wedding and hosted the rehearsal dinner. Everything was as I hoped it would be. The John Roberts House was comfortable and spacious for our family. It also allowed the groomsmen ample space to dress and the photographer enjoyed the beautiful venue as well. The rehearsal dinner was absolutely delicious and the service superb. The lunch on the wedding day was enjoyed by all. Everyone offered many compliments for the food and the beautiful surroundings. Thanks to you and your entire staff for your warm hospitality and commitment to excellence.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

People very friendly Good food and great service. Maid left note with inn manager
regarging missing towels. Manager left voice mail wanting closure on this matter.
Called and explained where towels were. No apology of any kind. Wife was very upset.
She called the next day, he wanted to know why she was calling. She explained what
happened with the towels. He could have cared less. This was very rude of him. We
will never stay or recommend this place again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Joseph Ambler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joseph Ambler Inn

Address: 1005 Horsham Road, North Wales, PA 19454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > North Wales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Wales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Joseph Ambler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Joseph Ambler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joseph Ambler Hotel North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joseph Ambler Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.