We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative to a chain hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joseph Ambler Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Joseph Ambler Inn to your Saves list
Joseph Ambler Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   1005 Horsham Road, North Wales, PA 19454   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 North Wales B&B and Inns
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great alternative to a chain hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I chose this place since it's a B&B that's relatively close to Holicong, PA where we we took my boyfriend's 8 yo niece on a hot air balloon ride. It was about the same price as a Marriott or Ramada Inn but we always prefer a B&B for that "homey" quality. This inn had less of that feel since it was off of a big highway and larger than a typical B&B. When we arrived, there was a wedding taking place so parking was limited. Front desk was friendly but the complimentary hot coffee/tea and cookies were disappointing (krups cups and stale cookies). The room was very nice/clean (was told that it was newly renovated) and I liked that there were 2 double beds as an option (few B&Bs have that). Wifi worked great and beds were comfortable...we slept well! The bonus was the very helpful staff. We like to have hot water available at night for tea and when I asked them for some, I was given a huge thermos of it! :) Our hot air balloon ride was very early in the morning and I was afraid we won't make it back for the hot country breakfast. Breakfast is from 7:30am-9am on weekends which is sort of ridiculous. I think they should extend it to 10am. When we arrived a little after 9am, they still allowed us to eat but we felt very rushed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    37
    18
    14
    6
See reviews for
47
102
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Silicon Valley, CA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Very nice place to stay in the Horsham area. I was traveling on business, and my corporate rate was only $1 more than the Hampton Inn, and far nicer. Had a king suite with Jacuzzi tub, aromatherapy and light therapy heater built into wall in bathroom. Good hot breakfast, very friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Norriton, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

What can I say... everything was exceptional! From our first meeting with Wendi to the wedding day we were in excellent hands at the Joseph Ambler Inn. Our guests raved about every aspect of the venue. We had a filet mignon and crab cake sit down dinner and the food was wonderful. It arrived at our table hot, juicy and delicious. The portions were generous and no one went away hungry. The staff was extremely polite and worked the room in a quick and timely manner. They accommodated our wine requests and made sure the water glasses were always filled. The rest rooms were immaculate ( a pet peeve of mine ) and the pavilion (where the ceremony and later the cocktail hour) was always clear of empty bottles and glasses. The groom's family also hosted the 'rehearsal dinner' in the Farmhouse and that was a great experience as well. They also hosted a 'tasting' several months before the wedding and that allowed us to narrow down our choices without worrying about make selections blindly.

As a side note, we have had dinner there several times since booking the wedding there and have never had a bad experience.

Room Tip: The Bride and Groom loved their suite in the Farmhouse! The Bride raved about the beautiful bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay. Great food, quiet, historic. Loved the decor. The staff was great. Even the guard cat was friendly. My wife and I love places like this. We were hoping there might be some peranormal activity considering the age of some of the buildings , but no luck in that area. We would love to return some time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Joseph Ambler Inn is a beautiful place and a great place for an overnight getaway. They do a fine job with the ambiance, and the scrumptious buffet breakfast. The newly remodeled rooms are beautifully decorated and the beds were very cozy. My wife and I enjoyed a light afternoon meal at the J-Pub. Dinner was absolutely delicious. Keenan and the staff are all very accommodating and everyone is warm and welcoming. We had the most wonderful Bed & Breakfast experience at this gorgeous inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Attentive , friendly and accommodating staff, great food, beautiful and quaint rooms. We were so pleased with our business retreat held here. The ambiance led to a successful meeting of the minds. The breakout rooms behind the main office and in the side buildings are perfect, filled with natural light and comfortable. The grounds are gorgeous, with plenty of quiet places for reflection and conversation.

Room Tip: For that special romantic getaway, #115 is over the top !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Gorgeous, beautiful surroundings for a country outdoor wedding. Inside, the waitstaff was very attentive and brought out trays of delicious appetizers. Specialty and regular drinks were great. Food for dinner was absolutely delicious. We had filet mignon and crab cakes and salmon. The total ambience and atmosphere were exceptional.
This will be a great memory for all who attended. Loved it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Joseph Ambler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joseph Ambler Inn

Address: 1005 Horsham Road, North Wales, PA 19454
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > North Wales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Wales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Joseph Ambler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Joseph Ambler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joseph Ambler Hotel North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joseph Ambler Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.