We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To expensive for getting nothing.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia's Beach Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Springfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Virginia's Beach Campground
Save
You added Virginia's Beach Campground to your Saves list
352 Holliday Road, North Springfield, PA 16430   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“To expensive for getting nothing.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a place to tent camp. It was for two nights there were three tents. Mine, one for my brother and wife and one for their 17 yo son. Two nights cost us $99.00. For this we got a reasonable camp site. That's it! The pictures of the beach must have been taken 20 years ago. We questioned then about the beach and the answer was. You know the beach comes and goes. I am not sure what that means except that on Lake Erie beach erode and go....the bathrooms were old and no privacy for dressing after a shower. You need to keep pressing the water valve button for more water about every 15 seconds. For the money the place was worthless. There is nothing to do in the area so you either drive to conneaut lake park in Ohio, about 10 mile or drive to presque isle State Park in Eire,Pa. About 20 miles.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Virginia's Beach Campground, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank You for reviewing Virginia’s Beach. We are sorry that you were not aware of our rates before your arrival; we try to describe them as completely as possible on our website. We also describe our beach on the website. Our free hot showers have limiting valves to prevent waste so that we do not have to charge like some other campgrounds. Unfortunately you were not aware that we are located in the country, but most of our campers come to Virginia’s Beach for a peaceful and relaxing, rural camping experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
16
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Simple. Look at the website and picture the opposite of everything you see. There is no "beach". It's more of a rock and dead fish-filled area. If you are a tent camper, this is not the place to go. Bathrooms need a good cleaning. Parking garage-style gate at entrance kind of threw us off. Never saw one of these at a campground. Virginia's Beach was a disappointment. Spent most of our weekend outside the campsite at Presque Isle, so it wasn't all bad!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Virginia's Beach Campground, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank You for reviewing Virginia’s Beach. On our website we describe our beach and mention that it can be rocky at times, storms can sometimes bring dead fish. We apologize if the bathhouse needed cleaned when you visited, we try to keep up, but with the volume of users on July 4th weekend it can be difficult. The security gate is to ensure that only registered campers have access to the property which helps us to provide a safe and secure camping experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Springfield hotels

Waynesburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We just returned from Virginia's Beach Campground and we will never go back. The camp sites are in a open field with no privacy from anyone else. If you go for a walk you feel as though you are invading their camp site. The mosquitos were AWEFUL! Swarms of them everywhere. The beach, on their website looks so fun and sandy...but in actuality is full of huge rocks, dead fish and other debris. There is very little room to enjoy the beach and be sure to wear shoes or have a tetanus / hep B combo shot up to date. We drove 1/2 hr to Presque Isle in Erie to go the beach because our girls wanted to play in the sand. There were large drainage pipes coming out of the hillside and dripping aweful looking water out on the beach. You have to pay $10.00 deposit for a swipe card that lets you in and out of the grounds but we couldn't get our money back because we left before the office opened. CASH GRAB. the playground is horribly outdated, dirty and falling apart. The fishing pond looks like a slew...I wouldn't get to close or eat anything that comes out of it. Overall, we will never return to this campground. We were soooo very disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Virginia's Beach Campground, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
While we appreciate that you reviewed Virginia’s Beach, we are disappointed that you did not have enjoyable visit. It is our goal that all of our campers have a happy, safe and relaxing visit. We apologize if Virginia’s Beach is not what you expected. As we show on our website, we are a basic campground with a unique lake atmosphere. We are proud that of the hundreds of guests we have each year; almost all have an enjoyable stay. Our RV campsites are in a lakefront field as shown on our map and to ensure a view of the lake, are adjacent. All of our RV sites are 30 ft. wide. As shown on the map, there is plenty of room around the sites to walk. The swarming insects that you saw were midges, which usually show up in June for about a week, although they can be annoying, they are an important food for the fish and bird population, and they don’t bite. As described on our website, our beach is usually sandy in the summer but sometimes storms remove sand, and the beach is rocky, the sand can also return the same way. When you were here a storm may have washed dead fish and some debris. We pick up un- natural debris, and occasionally a dead fish, regularly. On our website we recommend beach shoes in case it is rocky. The pipes on the beach are from our land drains that keep our field with the RV sites from saturating during a heavy rain there are 4 pipes total on our 1100 feet of Lake Frontage. Our playground is pretty basic but the kids seem to enjoy it. As far as the fishing pond goes, it is for catch and release fishing. Please check your bank account records because we usually send an EFT if people forget to turn in their cards during office hours, if you did not receive one, contact us and we will be happy to send one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in the 'rustic' camping area. It's a field. Full of winged buzzy bugs. Next to a pasture. Just beyond this pasture, are train tracks. Trains every 20 minutes. All. Night. Long.
They could spend some time/money cleaning up the beach. I recognize this is Lake Erie, but have some pride people! It is disgusting as mentioned in other reviews. Surprisingly, no one mentioned the destroyed concrete barriers that are eyesores or the other debris/trash that lined the shores. So many dead, eyeless fish. Do you know the questions this generates from a 4 yr old?
The beach is one thing, but the grounds themselves were cluttered with junk (i.e. building scrap, piping, etc). It's either a junkyard or a campground, make up your mind.
Lucky for me, I had good company and now we have something to laugh about when we 'remember the time when...'

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Virginia's Beach Campground, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your review of Virginia’s Beach. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. We feel it is necessary to respond to your comments. You stayed in our secluded camping area, to get to this part of the property you must pass our maintenance area, we must apologize if it was not very neat at the time, we sometimes have maintenance projects in progress and equipment and materials are out. The railroad tracks that you refer are about a mile away and because the pasture that you refer to doesn’t have trees there is not much sound buffer. If you were not happy with the area you camped we could have moved you to another site with a lake view and less train sound. Of course the trains coming every 20 minutes is an exaggeration, actually people who prefer a more secluded and natural camping experience enjoy and request the secluded sites, and we now have a portable restroom at that location. There are pictures of the beach on Trip Advisor that are posted by campers, and a description on our website. Actually we have a lot of pride in the campground and the fact that most people enjoy staying with us. We welcome pre camping visits to see what Virginia’s Beach is like, and if anyone arrives and is disappointed we provide a complete refund and directions to other campgrounds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The reviews for this campground are all over the place depending on what the reviewer chooses to focus on, usually revolving around what they think of the "beach".

Getting to Virginia's Beach Campground will take you through some scenic and rural parts of Pennsylvania. The gravel road completes the isolation and, if you are fortunate, you will have a campsite with a commanding view of Lake Erie. It is a short walk to the shoreline, but if you are looking for a place to set out your beach chair, this is probably not what you are looking for. OTOH, if you set out your chairs around your fire ring and get comfortable while you watch the sunset, you are going to have a nice evening.

The grounds were pretty with a small catch/release pond for your kids to fish. The store was a bit spartan.

Overall, the view of the lake and sunset alone was worth the price of admission.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Virginia's Beach Campground, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for reviewing Virginia's Beach. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay! Our sunsets are rated #2 in the world behind Hawaii. Please allow us to show you to a spot for your beach chairs, if our beach is rocky, you can take a short walk down the shore to find a sandy area. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

If you want to camp on Lake Erie and want to interact with the lake, not the best. The brochures and website make it look SO much. Nicer than it is. Beaches are filled with debris. Tons and tons of dead rotted fish that smell terribly cover the shores here. No sandy beach like pics. All rocky debris. Mud pit if it rains. Not allowed to put a mat outside camper door so mud everywhere. No clotheslines so can't dry clothes. No laundry facilities and ONE buggy dirty bathroom in whole camp! The people who own and manage really don't want to be bothered with you. Take your money at check in and forget hospitality. Very very strict rules. (Not necessarily bad)
The good part is the sound of water at night, the view over the bluff and it is quiet. Fishing, well way too buggy. Not a campsite for planned activities. Have to drive at least 30 minutes to get anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Virginia's Beach Campground, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of Virginia’s Beach. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. You must have not seen the description of our beach on the website, we try to inform campers so that they know what to expect. Lake Erie is a natural lake and sometimes during a storm dead fish may wash up and sand may be removed or deposited. We do ask that you don’t leave grass mats down for your entire stay; they will kill the grass if not picked up occasionally. There is no rule against clothes lines. You probably stayed in our lake view camping area so you might not have realized that our bath house is located at the top of the hill in the tent camping area, we have 3 women’s showers, 3 men’s showers, 3 women’s toilets, and 3 men’s toilets, in addition to the outhouse that you are probably referring to. Actually we care very much that all of our guests have an enjoyable, relaxing, and safe camping experience. We apologize for any misunderstanding or lack of communication during your visit, and invite you to give us another chance. If you call before your visit, we will let you know what the beach is like at the time, although we can’t guarantee it won’t change.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Enjoyed this quiet campground in rural PA on the shores of Lake Erie. If you are looking for a ton of amenities and activities, this is not the place for you. But it is quiet and friendly with large,flat grassy RV sites and beautiful sunsets. My older boys enjoyed the beach and its rocks, but if you have very small ones it is not an ideal swimming beach. The campground is out in the country, so we enjoyed bike riding on the roads to the local farm stand and to the candy store nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Virginia's Beach Campground, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for reviewing Virginia's Beach. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay! We always are happy to have families visit and enjoy the beach. Thank you for posting the great pictures. We look forward to your next visit !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Virginia's Beach Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia's Beach Campground

Address: 352 Holliday Road, North Springfield, PA 16430
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > North Springfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in North Springfield
Number of rooms: 37

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginia's Beach Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.