We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outside door didn't even close” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn North East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Red Carpet Inn North East to your Saves list
Red Carpet Inn North East
12264 East Main Street, North East, PA 16428   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in North East
Lake Forest, Illinois
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“outside door didn't even close”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

really dirty, really nasty, rusty, filthy, peeling paint and wallpaper--2 long, dark hairs on the "clean" pillowcase...crumbs all over the carpet...i know you get what you pay for...BUT, wow. the outside door didn't have a deadbolt, but appeared to lock ok with just the doorknob...so, i put the chain on...and discovered in the morning that the door didn't actually "catch"...you could just shove it open (even though it was thoroughly closed and "locked"--i tried it several times before i left)...lucky i lived through the night in room 34. avoid this place!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    3
    3
    13
See reviews for
4
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

You get what you pay for. If you need a shower when you check in, you'll need one when you leave. Smelled in the Lobby and everywhere else. Dead bugs in every light fixture. Stains on the carpets all over. Hasn't been painted in years. Go east or west on the 90 and go to a real hotel. The freon in the ac blew right into our room, This place should be closed down.

Room Tip: go to another hotel/motel, pay the price for clean, relaxing, nites stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed one night while experiencing the Lake Erie wine trail, and found the motel to be adequate. We checked carefully for the bedbugs mentioned in previous reviews and found none. The room and bathroom was clean and not at all bad for an older place. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a reasonably priced place to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010 via mobile

We stopped here on our way to buffalo too tired to continue. Other hotels in the area were very pricey and we just needed a bed to crash in. When we got our room I immediately checked the beds, without fail they were both infested with bed bugs. Not one or two.... Infested. We turned right around and asked for our money back. I was only in this filthy place for 30 second and I feel like my skin is crawling. DO NOT STAY HERE WHATEVER YOU DO!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

DO NOT STAY HERE! I pulled off the highway at 10 p.m. with three exhausted children and found this Red Carpet Inn right off the exit. We asked to see a room and it was pleasant enough, with firm mattresses and not the dirt/problems other reviewers have written about. But as we lay in bed, I began to feel a tickling sensation and lo and behold, both beds were crawling with little black bugs (beetles?) AND flattish red bugs (bed bugs). Needless to say, I managed to roust the poor kids and we left immediately, with a refund. But one of the kids is now covered with itchy bumps and I have to worry about whether any of the bugs traveled home with us.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WNY
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

The room smelled like mold/mildew. There was blood on the ceiling, walls and chair. The matteresses were filled with blood and pee stains. The sheets were dirting and had hair, regular and pubic. The comforter has pee stains as well as the pillows were stained. The shower had mold between the tiles. Half the outlet were broke. The carpets were dirty and sticky. There was dirt on the walls, light switches and outlets. There was only a couple TV stations. The only thing that was good was the air conditioner. I have never been so grossed out by staying in a cheaper hotel for work.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brome Lake, Qc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

I was never so disgusted, ending up staying anyway because of the weather, but had the creepiest feeling all night. They have never learned that a vacuum can clean the dust along the walls, nor that if you get down on your knees, you can wash the floor along the walls and wash the lower walls at the sme time. Had a disgusting odor also. The chairs were clean where you sit, but the rest was covered with dust. Needs a change of management & housecleaners for sure.

The breakfast wan't worth calling a breakfast and I couldn't eat it anyway after seeing the room. Definitely will never return to another Red Carpet anywhere. Too afraid to get caught again. I say it wasn't worth 20$ never mind the 54.95$ we paid.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the filth
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Carpet Inn North East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn North East

Address: 12264 East Main Street, North East, PA 16428
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > North East
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in North East
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Red Carpet Inn North East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Inn North East Hotel North East

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Carpet Inn North East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.