We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STELLAR” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Motel

Colonial Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North East
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colonial Motel
Save
You added Colonial Motel to your Saves list
11329 E Lake Rd, Route 5, North East, PA 16428   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 North East B&B and Inns
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
“STELLAR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We called Saturday 2/15/13 to rent a room for that evening. The owner himself handled our reservation. Even though we did not arrive until almost 10:30 pm, the people in the office were very pleasant and accommodating!! Our room was ready with the heat at a perfect level as it was extremely cold that night. We stayed in room 3 and cannot begin to describe how much we enjoyed our stay! The room was spotless, had everything one would need complete with extremely comfortable beds and a warm shower in the morning! We had mentioned our plans to the owner upon reserving the room. When we saw him in the morning he asked how we had enjoyed the Erie Otter game the night before and had shared feedback from guests on the Ice Castle in NY, which was our destination for the day! Personal touches like that are being lost in today's busy/impersonal world, so it was a pleasant surprise to encounter such hospitality! We are looking forward to a return stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

It is hard to rate motels when you stay in so many of them, and there are so many of them that are average. But every once in a while you hit one that stands out. Either it looks like a place for a Queen or King to stay in, or the service is far beyond the average, or you get a price you were excited with. Well, this one was none of these, but in a way it was all of them. First, it was independently owned so we checked in with the owner. Now that is refreshing these days. Next, he noted the closest restaurant, and made sure we knew it would be closing in about an hour, in case we wanted to get something to eat. Had he not warned us, we probably would have gone down too late and missed the meal. Since we had gotten off the interstate and gone into this quiet burg we would probably have had to wait till morning. The room was just great with everything we needed, and the feeling of home was thrown in at no additional cost. Price was very reasonable and we have marked them down for another stay the next time we are up in the northwestern part of Pennsylvania.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

On Saturday 10/12/13 my family and I were visiting our daughter who just had a baby in Erie. We were not thinking that getting a room would be a problem. And ran into no available rooms in the immediate area. Upon calling this motel the owner had just what we needed and he held the room for us until we made the trek 30 minutes away. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean. We will definitely stay there again when we go and visit.

Room Tip: They actually have a cabin-like room with separate bedrooms and 1 1/2 baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Spent three nights in Room 5 and totally enjoyed the accommodations. The owner/operators of the property were excellent in providing any needed support and are very knowledgeable about the NorthEast wine country. Highly recommended for the clean conditions and ability to take advantage of preparing your meals as if you were at home. Very close to some of Erie's best wineries and world class steelhead fish streams too! I had also spent a week at the Glass House Inn and the Colonial Motel is every bid as nice a property. I plan on returning to this property in the future.

Room Tip: "The suites are worth the extra cost"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Four of us were riding our bicycles across Pennsylvania and I picked the Colonial Motel off of the internet because it was right on our route on Rt. 5. We arrived hot and weary from along day in the heat and were properly given our room keys and was happy to have great air conditioning great us upon opening our door. The price was right and the rooms were large, very clean with 2 double beds and full kitchen. I had a problem getting the remote for the TV to work and the woman from the office spent at least 15 minutes trying to get it to work even though i told her it wasn't a big deal. She was even going to call the owner who was at a family function and I adamantly said it wasn't necessary. The next morning the owner stopped by and offered me cash back for the remote issue and I was floored by his generosity. I naturally refused and said we loved the motel and would definitely stop by next time we rolled down Route 5 on our bikes. We met some fisherman who were staying at the motel and they also enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

No problems at all, called to make the reservations about a month ago, check in and check out was simple. Clean, quiet and easy to find. This was just a stop over on our way to western New York, we would use this motel again. Close to local restaurants and the lake.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castalia, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here when we were just passing through and we had a great stay. The location is nice, near the lake, and it seems to sit off by itself along the road. It's quiet, scrupulously clean and the proprietors are very accommodating. It was late and they made a call to the Freeport Restaurant for us so that we could get something to eat before the restaurant closed. (By the way, those folks are very accommodating a well.) The bed was very comfortable, the shower nice with nice soaps. I left my watch there and the proprietors made every effort to contact me about it. In the end, they boxed up my watch and mailed it to me! We appreciated our stay and we hope to have occasion to stay there again. A lot of value for the reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonial Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Motel

Address: 11329 E Lake Rd, Route 5, North East, PA 16428
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > North East
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in North East
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned and operated motel. We pride ourselves on being very friendly and clean. We are within walking distance to Freeport Beach and Freeport Restaurant. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.