We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only One Complaint - Take the Trash Out Daily” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Philadelphia/Plymouth Meeting

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house Philadelphia/Plymouth Meeting to your Saves list
HYATT house Philadelphia/Plymouth Meeting
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501 East Germantown Pike, Norristown, PA 19401 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites-Plymouth Meeting)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Norristown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Only One Complaint - Take the Trash Out Daily”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed in one of their two rooms suites with the family. Each room had a king bed, with a living room in between the two. The price was amazing for the room we got. The daily breakfast was fresh and hot. The $10 gift certificate to the hotel shop was a really nice touch. I like it when hotels do little things like that.

Our only complaint was that trash was not removed from the room daily. Those tiny hotel trash cans are really small, and fill up quickly with a family of four, one of which is still in diapers. Ultimately the house keeper was the one who had to deal with it after we checked out I guess.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor. We heard every sound the room above us made. Nothing from the elevator or nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    63
    11
    5
    8
See reviews for
70
27
12
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed overnight on March 29th, 2013, stayed in one of their incredibly large and comfortable King rooms. Unfortunately an unidentified noise kept me awake most of the night. I reported it to the front desk in the morning, more for their information since I was checking-out that morning. Less than 15 minutes later I received a phone call from Mr. Nicholas Demitry, Assistant General Manager, asking me about my sleepless night and offering to comp the room for my troubles. I honestly was not expecting this since it was only one night but I must recognize the professionalism and excellent customer service shown by this young man.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle Brook, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Hyatt House Plymouth Meeting is well set back from Germantown Pike in an Corporate Park with more open space than buildings. Once inside, you have the feeling that it is a very well cared for hotel, pleasant but short of modernity or of luxury. Front desk was more than accomodating to
myself and my wife, who is hadicapped and walks with a crutch. Having reserved our room thru a credit card reward site, I could not specify a handicapped room. The desk clerk told me that they had handicapped rooms with showers as opposed to tubs on the first floor. But having read my fellow tripadvisor's reviews carefully, I declined these rooms. He had handicapped rooms on other floors but with combo tubs/showers. I asked if they had grab bars in these bathrooms and he asked me to give him a few minutes to go and check. He did, and after ascertaining that we were Ok with a long walk from the elevator as these rooms were all at the end of hallways, he upgraded us to a 2 bedroom suite with a grab bared bathroom. Indeed, one bathroom in this suite had grab bars by the toilet and in the combo shower/tub and the toilet was high. This treatment reflects a high level of caring and courtesy that is not always extended by front desk clerks. The suite was roomy, with attractive furniture and carpeting thanks to the Hyatt renovation(this was a Summerfelds Suites previously) but still a bit bland. Walls were painted stucco including the bathrooms, appliances in the mini kitchen had porcelin surfaces rather than stainless steel, which other Hyatt Houses that formerly were part of the Sierra Hotel chain have. The decor highlight were the bathroom floors which had real white tile speckled with black diamonds(a retro look). Indoor hallways to rooms were nicely lit, and carpeting was lively. There is a laundry room, and a gym, with an attractive seasonal outdoor pool Free breakfast is served in a nicely laid out octangled room with plenty of windowsl We were there on a weekend so we missed the evening snack, also served there on weekdays. As others have stated breakfast had fresh fruit and an omelet bar and was well tended. There were lots of children the morning we ate there
A word about the Hyatt Grand King Bed. It is a pillow top with a good foundation. My wife and I are not fans. Most people will like sinking into it pillowy cushions. My wife says they feel lumpy to her and I have trouble turning over in it. The very firm beds Hyatt used for a few years after they modernized their Hyatt Regency hotels were, to me, far better. The Queen bed in our 2cnd bedroom, while not as substantial as our King, actually proved a better sleep.

If you like a bit more luxury surrounding you, the Hyatt House in King of Prussia, just down the road, was a Sierra Hotel with slightly more upscale trimmings.

.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed one night while in the PHL area. Location is removed from the hustle of the city but is only a 20-30 minute drive to downtown. Great reception on arrival, provided room keys, directions to room and asked if we had any questions. Room was immaculate with 2 TV's, fully supplied kitchen area, comfortable bed and extremely clean bath area. Paid $89.00 (AAA Rate) for night. Light dinner available Mon thru Thu, buffet breakfast was good with made to order eggs/omelets available. (This was just added and there is no sign indicating this service.) There is an outdoor pool @ the property open only during the summer months.
Only negative found - If you use the sitting area for sleeping, window does not have 'black out' curtains. Lights come through the installed blinds.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay. Clean and comfortable. Stayed in the one bedroom with pull out couch. I traveled alone so the kong size bed was efficient for me. Got a great rate on hotel.com paid $88.00 a night. This place had you covered, if you forgot your cell phone charger you could borrow the universal charger. Location was great a block away all the restaurant and grocery stores were conveniantly located. You could utelize the kitchen and cook a good meal. Free breakfast was good, not much of a variety. I was able to buy a couple of beers when I returned late, there's a small store on premisis. Only down fall is no indoor pool, other than that this place is thumbs up.. ;)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I went with a group of friends were on a road trip and decided we needed a place to stay for the night. Our first hotel reservations got screwed up. I checked trip advisor on my friends I pad and this place was recommended. We took a chance booked 3 rooms. There were connecting rooms and 1 across the hall. The rooms were huge, 2 double beds and a sofa bed, free WiFi(a plus) huge flat screen TV. There was enough outlets to charge our phones & I Pads. Bed was comfy to sleep in, and pillows were good(most hotel pillows for me are horrible)
We did have the free breakfast, one down side because there was not hot water for tea only coffee( i had a had to wait until mgr came to bring it) and the selection of breakfast was okay not great. I didn't like if you wanted a small amount they only had huge plates on a high shelf you can't reach. My suggestion have small plates for children or for those of us who don't eat a lot for breakfast.
I want to thank the manager for helping us get into our room after all 3 of our keys didn't function, maid's master key- didn't work. So Mgr was called re programmed the door, still couldn't get in.
We went through the other room and left the night lock on the door locked(that's how we roll), mgr got a tool and we got out luggage. then left. Hey stuff happens. We were more amused than upset.
Overall it was a nice stay for the price. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Check in was smooth and concise. Room was a suite setup with separate bedroom, bathroom, kitchen and family room. Nice desk to catch up on work. Free wifi made it easy to connect. The included dinner was great only beaten by an extensive breakfast.

Drawback to my room was room was very warm, wound up opening window in February, but I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house Philadelphia/Plymouth Meeting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Philadelphia/Plymouth Meeting

Address: 501 East Germantown Pike, Norristown, PA 19401 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites-Plymouth Meeting)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Norristown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Norristown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Philadelphia/Plymouth Meeting 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your HYATT house Philadelphia/Plymouth Meeting reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites-Plymouth Meeting Hotel Norristown
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Norristown
Summerfield Suites Norristown
Hyatt Plymouth Meeting
Hyatt Norristown
Norristown Hyatt
Norristown Summerfield Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Philadelphia/Plymouth Meeting, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.