We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elmwood Park Zoo

Elmwood Park Zoo
1661 Harding Boulevard, Norristown, PA 19401
610.277.3825
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Mineral, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We visited in July.
All the animals were out and active.
My kids most enjoyed the flamingos and the Tamarins.
The playground area was fun for all ages.
The zip line looked fun but we didn't try it.
My only complaint is that it took forever to get our food.
Overall a good time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    71
    22
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful small town zoo for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I went with my daughter-in-law a week or two after she went to the Philadelphia Zoo with her husband. She very much enjoyed both, for different reasons. Philadelphia can be overwhelming. The Norristown (Elmwood Park) Zoo is on a much smaller scare and very suitable for young kids.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Totally Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I happened across the website to this zoo by searching for zoos in PA. The website looked fantastic and I wanted to go see the zoo. I happened to be vacationing in Rehobeth Beach and decided to make the trip to see the animals. Boy were me and my sister dissapointed. We are from the Northern Virginia area so we are very well familiar with the zoo in D.C.

This zoo is located in a neighborhood. There is hardly enough land to have a zoo here. I understand that the zoo needs to charge in order to have funds to run programs and help feed and care for the animals. However, for that price, its a joke. The zoo is tiny and many of the animals barely have enough room to move inside their cages. I am quite upset considering all the great things I saw on their website,,

I feel that it was a wasted trip. I should have stayed in Rehobeth and went to the beach instead

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fun for the family without the big city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I've been taking my kids to the Elmwood Park Zoo for years. It's a smaller zoo, but has the core group of animals one might expect. It's a nice stop for an afternoon with the family. Besides, it beats going into the city and the parking is free! This year we finally bought the premium family package which is for 2 adults, 2 kids and 2 guest for $125.

The zoo is clean and the staff is always friendly and helpful. It has changed quite a bit over the years with the addition of new pavilions, vendors, and a new tree ropes course which is near completion. There are also some new animals, including the giraffes and birds of paradise.

Feeding the birds was a cool experience as they landed on your hands and arms and eat the apples you're given. You can also feed the giraffes, but we haven't done that yet.

If you want a fun, interactive day for the family, want to see some animals up close and don't want the long trip into the city this is the place. I would recommend this for anyone who wants to take their time, relax and enjoy the sites and sounds of a zoo.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Little town, little zoo.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I used to live in Norristown. It was a blast! Go swimming in the quarry, get a Boylan's to drink and head off to the zoo.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elmwood Park Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Elmwood Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elmwood Park Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.