We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good choice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Friends Bar & Grille

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Friends Bar & Grille
2825 S Eagle Rd, Newtown, PA 18940-1546
215-504-7005
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 74 Restaurants in Newtown
Cuisines: American, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The more casual side starts at Friends...Looking for somewhere to go with the team after a game or practice? Or maybe just somewhere to have a drink and watch ALL of your Phavorite Philly teams? Join Us for HAPPY HOUR with 9 HD TV's, over 30 beers in the bottle & 20 on tap (including the latest craft specialties). Add to that an extensive menu with THE BEST FOOD IN TOWN...Friends has everything you want.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always a good choice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I have been to friends several times and it is always a great place to grab dinner and a drink. The food is very good and the staff is always friendly. They have all the standard bar food choices, but what makes this place special is the Italian food on the menu. Their vodka rigatoni is one of the best around. Friends also has a nice variety of interesting beers on tap. I would definitely recommend trying it out. Just be aware it can get pretty crowded for dinner, especially on the weekends.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    16
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We had a wide variety of food, from seafood to cheesesteak to hamburgers, and it was all soooo good! The service was okay, the manager was awesome, and the food was amazing! Best Philly cheesesteak I've had in a LONG time!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I was really surprised to find that I really enjoyed this place. They have delicious salads and the staff is very friendly. They always make sure that you are comfortable and have everything that you need. I would recommend this place to everybody.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevose, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First time disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Four adults, three children, we were there late Saturday afternoon, not crowded for the first 45 minutes..
I order a turkey ruben, thin slices of turkey breast were grilled, which made them hard, tasteless and browned placed on over toasted rye bread. The hamburger was dry and overcooked. The special of day pizza of peppers, mozzarella, basil and sauce was good. Our waitress did a great job.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Horrible experience never again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

My wife and I just moved to Newtown to be closer to her family. We decided to try your restaurant. My brother in law called to reserve a table as we had 9 guest. The manager called him back to confirm. Upon arriving the hostess had his name the number in our party and time on the sheet in front of her at her podium. As we waited for over 35 minutes, we asked if she knew how much longer the wait would be as we were told it would be 20 minutes when we walked in. The hostess then told us she had no reservation for us. You could see she clearly crossed the name off her paper. After discussion and asking for a manager, the hostess offered to seat us next door at dolce carini and said we could still get the friend's Monday night special. So we are seated next door and waitress comes over to take our order. She informs us that they can not do what the hostess stated. She went to ask the manager and he said it was ok for is to get the special from friend's. Then the waitress informed us that the manager would not honor the special but would modify it. So after the almost hour at this point with 2 little kids in toe we decided to go with the modified special. We ordered 9 specials. 40 minutes later after watching other guess get seated after us receive their order of the special we asked how much longer our order would be. The manager was rude and disrespectful saying they were busy and said this is your order here. He handed the tray to a server and she promptly took the plates to another table. When we asked again the manager said I don't know where your order is, if it is done or if they even started cooking it. Then walked away. We left with a disgusted feeling toward Friend's bar and grille. Not the type of service or impression an eatery wants to give especially in this economy. I believe your staff and especially the manager need better training on how to give customer service. As you have lost 10 customer in us and we are letting our friend's and family know of our experience. Also I am taking the time to tell you about this awful service and customer service skills, how many guest leave and never come back and you don't know why?

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friends Bar & Grille also viewed

Newtown, Bucks County
Newtown, Bucks County
 
Newtown, Bucks County
 

Been to Friends Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friends Bar & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.