We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was late at night , tired stayed at this hotel. Room...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of New Stanton Garden Inn

Save Saved
You added New Stanton Garden Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Stanton Garden Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   112 West Byers Avenue/I-70, New Stanton, PA 15672 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn New Stanton)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in New Stanton
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    17
    20
    24
    26
See reviews for
39
23
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here last July 1 and last August 8 on our way back and forth to the Brooklyn Cruise Terminal. The best thing that can be said of HOJO's is that it was right off the Pennsylvania Turnpike and convenient to a Cracker Barrel Restaurant as well as a McDonalds --- also it was pet-friendly and had a guest laundry. The A/C worked. There were two entrances to the room, one from the parking lot and one to a grassy courtyard. The high speed internet was almost nonexistent, and the pool was no longer open. If there was CP in a lobby for breakfast, nobody knew about it. It was also very noisy. During one stay other guests were setting off fireworks in the grassy courtyard behind our room.It was an aged motel that had obviously seen better days. Pay in cash as I always do. Don't risk your credit card or check card in a place like this.

Room Tip: Stay in a corner room at the end of the hallway. That way you will experience less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

would not stay here again. overpriced for what we got. breakfast was a disaster. advertised
fresh fruit only one dried up orange was available. poor selection and dis not appear to be
fresh. doors in room looked like they had been in a war zone. non smoking but smelled of
smoke. expected better of a Ho Jo as we have stayed in others few years ago.check in staff
was ok but check out staff was very rude and abrupt and seemed to grudgingly put out
breakfast items. sorry but would not stay here again and perhaps never at a Ho Jo in any
other area.don't usually complain but this time so disappointed. just came off a 20 train ride and expected better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoInn, Front Desk at New Stanton Garden Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Margaret, I'm sorry that your stay was anything other than exceptional. We would be happy to resolve this issue to your satisfaction. Please give us a call at (724) 925-6153 at your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Rooms were just ok. Breakfast was not much but coffee. I was charged an additional amount over $70 and when I called the staff to question the charge they assured me that I would not be charged and it must be just a hold; however, it has been a month and now I'm the one stuck disputing the charges with my credit card company. I'm not going back to any Howard Johnson ever again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I have read the reviews of this hotel and all I can say is I did not have any of these issues. My room was recently painted and had new drapes, VERY clean. I have always found Cayleen and Liz at the front desk VERY helpful and kind. The owner/mgr Jay is a bit of a jerk but the ladies are nice. great place to stay and brings back childhood memories at an original Howard Johnson. If you are looking for granite countertops and fancy comforters, go to the fairfield for 120 a night, if you want a clean room and nice family place stay at hojo

Room Tip: the inside hallway rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Stanton Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Stanton Garden Inn

Address: 112 West Byers Avenue/I-70, New Stanton, PA 15672 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn New Stanton)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > New Stanton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in New Stanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — New Stanton Garden Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your New Stanton Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn New Stanton Hotel New Stanton
Howard Johnson New Stanton
New Stanton Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Stanton Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.