We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Musser's Historic Country Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Providence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Musser's Historic Country Suites
Save
You added Musser's Historic Country Suites to your Saves list
56 Main Street, Post Office Box 26, New Providence, PA 17560 (Formerly Musser's Organic Bed & Breakfast)   |  
Hotel amenities
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Mussers' B&B is the perfect place to stay. We stayed for five nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The apartment we had was spacious, comfy and clean. Every morning we had an amazing breakfast. Barbara the owner cooked something different every day. It was a great place to stay to explore Lancaster county. The Amish buggys going past were a delight to see. I would definitely stay here again. Can't rate it high enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mars, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

What a wonderful, just-off-the-beaten-path location for Family to rendezvous from Western PA, NYC and Ireland at mid-week during Easter break.
Found by searching the 'net for B&Bs in the area, we sought something a bit different and the historic nature of this building, the eclectic menu possiblities, and the price were certainly attractive but what really cinched it for us was the correspondence we had with Barbara before we arrived and her suggestions as to what we might enjoy in the area, made all the better once we'd arrived and settled in when she pulled out a map to help us consider what was possible in the 2 days we had to us.
A lovely table welcomed the 8 of us in the morning and the variety and quality of the delicious foods - waffles with yogurt and fruit, a lovely spiced sausage, the PB french toast, and real syrup - were just the way to begin our days out and about which included drives in our van on some of the back roads north and south of routes 30 and 340 to look at the scenery and some of the covered bridges.
We landed during two stunning days of blue sky and breeze, enjoyed an enclosed buggy ride, the Quilt Museum (absolutely amazing the creativity people have), and a look around Zook's Fabric Store. But where we found our resupply of clothes pins was next door at the big hardware store; these were the friction-type pins, not the spring-loaded ones and we can't find them at home anymore. Many options for quilts throughout the area but Barbara directed us toward what she considered the better ones and we respect her experience as a quilter.
We were 4 adults and 4 teenagers and perhaps the best times were had were in the evenings after we'd returned and played card games we'd brought (like PIT and Spot It) which we could all enjoy because we collected in one of the kitchens which gave us lots of room (gathering room table already set for breakfast) to shout, laugh loud, enjoy some tea, and listen to those horses trot past. We had so much fun, no electronics for us, refreshing sleep, nice setting, and those lovely breakfasts. Yeh, some great craic!
We will return with our bikes next time to enjoy the rolling hills to the north and the more challenging climbs around New Prov. Barbara said they hope to have secure storage for bikes soon.
A word about the fitness center: First eve we all went for a stroll out the road to the left, past the farm, and as far as the rails-to-trail before dark descended. We had a chat with a mule, listened to the roar of birds gathering in the trees, inhaled that sweet barnyard aroma out there, and delighted in the beauty of that day's clouds and sunset. Now that is how one gets exercise, of the body, mind and soul.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Musser's Bed and Breakfast has got to be one of the best B & Bs that we have ever stayed at. The town where it is located is picturesque; the rooms are spacious and comfortable with private entrances; and both suites include a kitchen and living area to make one feel right at home. But the best part of the stay has got to be Barb Musser herself who is a wonderful and thoughtful hostess. She makes the most amazing breakfasts (ask for the waffles!) and takes care of her guests with such grace and good cheer, we instantly felt we had made a special friend. We would go out of our way to stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichols, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Musser's is one of the greatest places to take your family, our family age ranged from 11 to 60. We could be in the heart of Amish Country in the matter of minutes and could hear and see the horses and buggies out the front windows of our suite. Oh, and I need to mention you "WILL NOT" leave Barb's breakfast table HUNGRY!!!!! Barb's breakfast feast was a delight, from her homemade granola to her fluffy waffles. I can't leave out the local organic dairies and meats. My youngest love the bacon!!!! We could not find a uncomfortable bed at all, once we had laid down for the night we would have to set an alarm so we wouldn't miss breakfast!!!!! We felt as "WELCOMED" as if we were family!!!! There is a BIG backyard for the kids to run and play, and they have a bunny and a family dog. We did not want to leave!!!! We will return!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashville
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My mother, sisters, daughter and I stayed for a girls weekend away at the Mussers Organic B&B. A big draw for us was being offered a breakfast menu that caters to those with food allergies, as my family has several. Barb was very accomodating, and communicated with us in advance, so that she would be prepared in making our dishes. Her breakfast table is set beautifully, and all her dishes are fresh & organic. She had brought us more food than we could eat! It was lovely to linger over coffee each morning and share conversation. Barb is very committed to keeping everything at her inn as organic as possible, fnot only with her food, but also with the body soaps, etc in the bathroom, to the cleaning products she uses in the inn. Again, if you have soap or scent sensitivites, you don't have to worry about that here!

This historic home is comfortable and full of charm. It is located on a quiet street, where you can hear the Amish horse & buggys driving by. We loved the library-TV room where we sat
in the evening to watch our chick flicks, have our evening tea & popcorn. The kitchen is full
service, and if we would have been inclined to cook, would have had all the right utensils to
prepare & eat our meals.

We felt very fortunate to find this lovely home and hostess, and will return next year for our getaway; and, my daughter and sister are considering a family vacation there with their children this summer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwenksville, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Mussers B&B is the perfect place for our ladies retreat. This is my 4th time returning. Our host Barb always welcomes with a smile and helped us move our things inside on a cold snowy night.
The beds are warm and comfortable. And the kitchen is well equipped for making our meals. I just love the rustic, eclectic decor. There are so many creative touches all around. The breakfasts are phenomenal, and it looks as good as it tastes.
You will be totally satisfied with a stay at Mussers!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I was with a group of women for a weekend retreat. Our hostess, Barb met us outside on a cold snowy night and knew us by name immediately. The B&B is decorated beautifully with antiques, quilts, and Lancaster's flavor. Amazing breakfast. Being at Musser's was a real treat.

Room Tip: Choose one near a window if you like hearing the soothing clip clop of horses going by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Musser's Historic Country Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Musser's Historic Country Suites

Address: 56 Main Street, Post Office Box 26, New Providence, PA 17560 (Formerly Musser's Organic Bed & Breakfast)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > New Providence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in New Providence
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watch Amish buggies clip-clop by your front windows. Look out the west windows at peaceful views of the barn, gardens and Amish-farmed fields. Read one of the library’s books. Fix meals in your private kitchen with local fresh produce and meats. Fall asleep in a lofted king-sized bed & listen to the sound of rain on the tin roof. Sit in the backyard and hear the birds sing, watch butterflies and hummingbirds in flight, enjoy the flowers and gardens. Venture out to visit the “down-home” goodness of pastoral Lancaster County and beyond.Join the Musser family at their restored home (the village’s former General Store & Post Office) where they’ve spent nearly three decades together. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musser's Historic Country Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.