We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Porches was Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porches on the Towpath

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Hope
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Porches on the Towpath
Save
You added Porches on the Towpath to your Saves list
20 Fisher's Alley, New Hope, PA 18938   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 New Hope B&B and Inns
Montville, NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Porches was Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2006

This B & B was truly a wonderful suprise! Pictures on the website gave only a hint of the true beauty and charm you will find here. Walking around the grounds gives you the feeling that you are in a seemingly timeless place - such a great experience. Room #10 was amazing - cozy and bright with the skylight and the bed tucked into an alcove on one side. You won't be disapointed with the decor, comfort, or service at this location - I will definately be coming back soon!!!

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    74
    18
    12
    9
See reviews for
31
215
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York. Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2006

To stay at Porches on the Towpath is to follow Alice down the well. The accomodations are eclectic, tasteful and elegant. The Innkeeper is a delight and the proprietorship could not be more engaging. The grounds are magnificant and overseen by two charismatic cats as well as an inquisitive and people-friendly feral squirrel. What a treat!

  • Liked — ambiance
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — get acquainted with the staff
  • Stayed August 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2006

We found Porches on the internet and when we got there saw that the photos on the web don't do hardly any justice. It was better than we hoped. The proprietor was great and told us everywhere in New Hope to go. The rooms are immaculately decorated. The secret garden is lovely. The guest house is private and gorgeous. and breakfast on the porch in the morning is great. There are a million interesting books and magazines to look through. and the whole place is tucked in the corner overlooking the canal. We will definitely be back!

  • Liked — private but in the heart of town
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, ny
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2006

We just spent the weekend at Porches and it was honestly the best experience we ever had at a b&b. John and Crissy (and the whole staff) were wonderful. They made us feel right at home immediately. They gave us great suggestions on what to do around town and always had ideas we never thought about that fit us just right. We stayed in Room #1 with the private porch and it was heaven. The room itself was perfect size, with CENTRAL AIR (Yay!), and books and magazines to peruse. They served us breakfast on our porch - all we did was roll out of bed and onto the porch and the most delicious breakfast you could ask for just magically appeared! We joked about it being the pixies (or the French Toast Fairy). We are DEFINITELY going to go again and stay at Porches. I really cannot say enough about how wonderful it was. It was out of a dream. Thank you for everything!

  • Liked — The wonderful people that run the b&b.
  • Disliked — There honestly wasn't anything to "least like".
  • Tips/Secrets — Leave time for yourselves to sit on the porch and have some wine. It was really worth it.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverford, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

Equisite inn in an oasis! exactly one minute walk to shops and restaurants.
Lovely hosts.
Delicious breakfast.
Very friendly cats outside that want to be petted.
Elegant , well-planned , comfortable , quite ,private, luxurious rooms, detailed to perfection.
We will return, without a doubt!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2006

We just returned from a three day stay in New Hope. I found Porches B & B, through Tripadvisor. John was the best! He gave us great advice on where to go and what to see. He let me look into the available rooms, and I was able to enjoy more than one of his "magazine perfect, yet cozy" creations. This is a very beautiful property, at the end of an alley, you would never know it existed. In walking distance of all in New Hope, and Lambertville. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a peaceful, relaxing time away. I will definitely go back for more.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2006

We had three great days at Porches during this week's brutal heatwave. We stayed in rooms 2 and 3 and were wonderfully comfortable. The beds are great and the rooms are cool even on the hotest days. Last night there was a big thunderstorm; we had left our car windows cracked because of the heat. While we were in town eating, John spread a shower curtain over our car so the interior did not get wet. Needless to say John is a splendid host, and Porches is a haven of rest.

  • Liked — comfortable and friendly, beautiful surroundings
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — go there
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porches on the Towpath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porches on the Towpath

Address: 20 Fisher's Alley, New Hope, PA 18938
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > New Hope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in New Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious country house located directly on the Delaware Canal in the heart of New Hope.  Ten beautifully furnished guest rooms, all with private baths.  Two story, wrap around porch overlooking the Delaware Canal and perennial gardens.  A full country breakfast is served daily.  Central air, private off street parking.  Walk to shops, galleries and restaurants.  Mid week discounts available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porches On The Towpath Hotel New Hope

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porches on the Towpath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.