We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrive as Guests, Leave as Friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wishing Well Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Hope
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Wishing Well Guesthouse
Save
You added The Wishing Well Guesthouse to your Saves list
144 Old York Road, New Hope, PA 18938   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 New Hope B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Arrive as Guests, Leave as Friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Last weekend my wife and I stayed at the Wishing Well with our two year old daughter and had an absolutely lovely time. The inn itself is something like 160 years old and has character in spades, with a cozy fireplace in the common room just off the kitchen and a "secret" guest room behind a bookcase in which you can stay. Being a tiny bit further from downtown New Hope than some other establishments (a mere ten minute walk) is no disservice to the Wishing Well, as the walk is idyllic and parallels the very tracks on which the scenic New Hope & Ivyland Railroad runs. Be sure to grab your coffee, venture down the wooden stairs and walk the path to Ingham Creek in the morning for a bit of nature before you start your day. Breakfast is simple but elegant, blueberry pancakes, bacon, toast, bagels, cereal, fruit, in short, something for everyone. You can eat in your room or in the common area, but I suggest grabbing a table near the kitchen where the congenial atmosphere will have you chatting with other guests and your hosts in no time. Speaking of hosts, Dan and Daniel are friendly, knowledgeable and great with kids - be sure to take advantage of their expertise. They truly want you to arrive as guests but leave as friends. I know we'll be seeing them again later this month!

Room Tip: Ask for the Blue Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    12
    3
    3
    11
See reviews for
12
47
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is our second stay at the Wishing Well Guesthouse! A beautiful old house on a beautiful piece of property. My partner and I make this a yearly weekend get-a-way. Special thanks to Dan B. (owner) and Dan M. (Innkeeper) for the warm and friendly atmosphere that they provide at the house. Everything is neat and clean, breakfast is delicious! Can't wait to get back there!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I have recently stayed a weekend at the beautiful Wishing Well and had the most peaceful and relaxing time. The house is beautiful and very clean and felt like a home away from home. The Cathedral room was lovely and very comfortable. The yard was one of my many favorites, it was nice to wake up in the morning and be able to sit outside and just enjoy the beautiful surroundings. The staff at the wishing well were amazing and so pleasant and polite, not to mention, the food they prepared was delicious! The walk into town was fairly quick and easy to navigate. We even took the very short 2 minute walk to the Raven for dinner and were able to enjoy the great music and atmosphere at the piano bar. I had such a great time and will definately return again soon!! Thank you Dan and James for such a wonderful time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Chelsea room was great! Very comfortable bed, nice cool A/C, quiet and perfectly priced. If you are planning a weekend escape, this is a great place to stay. We were able to walk to the Raven for dinner, drinks, and a fabulous impromptu Broadway sing-a-long. Breakfast was a real treat, especially to enjoy outside. We were most impressed when our host brought our Happy Hour wine down to us on the gazebo in the back yard! We weren't expecting such a personal touch. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: The Chelsea room was excellent - perfect for one or two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My 9 year old daughter and I visited the Wishing Well for a "mom daughter" weekend recently. We had a fabulous time! The Cathedral Room had plenty of space and a comfortable bed and pillows. My daughter couldn't have been more thrilled when she woke up in the morning and saw that a menu item on the blackboard in the breakfast room was named after her! Not only did she love having "Emily's Banana Chocolate Chip muffins" named after her, but they were delicious as well. We walked down the outside path to the stream and found lots of great photo opps. The walk into town was a little long to make in the heat and humidity but would be easy and no problem in slightly cooler weather. The only thing that wasn't 100% perfect was that they forgot to make up our room one night. I'm sure I could have asked but we were out of the room all day and when we came back it was late in the evening and wasn't necessary at that point. I highly recommend the wishing well - nice place, friendly staff and a good experience for my daughter at her first B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishersville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Wishing Well and had a wonderful time. Yes the house is old, but the rooms are fine and Dan and James make the stay enjoyable. We especially liked the fact that breakfast is at your own pace and the selections are healthy. The location is close to "downtown" New Hope, so you can walk there in about 10 minutes. Get some exercise and save on parking fees!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Wishing Well Guesthouse with our two dachshunds. The Wishing Well Guesthouse is a charming structure with unique architecture and beautiful grounds. We stayed in the Chelsea Room, which is the pet friendly room. We had easy access in and out with the dogs and more than enough room inside. We were able to take our dogs outside on the grounds and they had a blast! We can't say enough nice things about the Innkeepers Dan and James. They are kind, terrific hosts and so nice to talk to. They were very patient with our dogs, too. The breakfasts they made were outstanding. They always looked after us to make sure we were okay. While staying in New Hope, there is a lot to do. We went to the New Hope shops and restaurants, Peddler's Village, Lambertville, a train ride and a ferry ride. Most places were pet friendly...Including restaurants! We hope to spend my husband's birthday at the Wishing Well Guesthouse. We had an absolutely wonderful time!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a pet, ask for the Chelsea Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wishing Well Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wishing Well Guesthouse

Address: 144 Old York Road, New Hope, PA 18938
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > New Hope
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in New Hope
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wishing Well Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.