We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karla's Restaurant

Karla's Restaurant
5 W Mechanic St, New Hope, PA 18938-2266
+1 215-862-2612
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 74 Restaurants in New Hope
Price range: $0 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Great food fun eclectic atmosphere, best martini ever. Really enjoyed sitting in the outdoorsy room with all the windows! Risotto was excellent.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    52
    21
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“In the heart of New Hope”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Homey place right in the heart of town. Good bar, loud on weekends but in a separate room from the restaurant so no noise pollution. Great place for lunch or dinner, varied menu, everything well prepared, great salads for lunch. Not so great wine list but adequate.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lots of Room for improvement...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Food was pretty good... Once we found things on the menu that were available. Tried to order a mojito, but was told there was no fresh lime in house to make it happen. Price was reasonable, had good hard cider available, some beers on the menu weren't available. Meatloaf was kind of crispy... Music was strange... Between raining men, Barbara Streisand, and Christmas music the first week of November... Place was drafty- both times I ate there I say in very different parts of resturant, still dealt with cold breeze. Could hear all conversations in kitchen- about everything from who is gay to political nonsense...food took a LONG time...

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddon Heights, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were walking around New Hope during a very crowded fall weekend and couldn't decide where to eat - we wanted a drink with our meal but most places were packed. We walked past Karla's and saw there was an outside table and ran right in. The atmosphere is unique: lots of unmatched tables & chairs but the whole thing feels shabby chic and very comfy. Try the brie appetizer - it was to do for. My husband and I didn't even speak to each other while we were eating it because it was so good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Karla's was recommended by some friends and WOW what a hit. Karla's is know for their martini's. Unfortunately, being the driver, I can not comment on the martini's. They defiantly looked awesome. However, I can tell you that the flat iron steak burrito was tremendous. It was gigantic and everything about it was amazing. I typically do not struggle with "clearing" my plate but this dish gave me a run for my money. Great atmosphere, friendly staff, don't pass on Karla's.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karla's Restaurant also viewed

New Hope, Bucks County
New Hope, Bucks County
 
New Hope, Bucks County
New Hope, Bucks County
 

Been to Karla's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karla's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.