We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food with a View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Landing Restaurant

The Landing Restaurant
22 North Main Street, New Hope, PA 18938
215-862-5711
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 68 restaurants in New Hope
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Food with a View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

So many eateries to choose from in New Hope and not familiar with the area wondering where we should eat was probably the most takling thought for the entire day. We decided on "The Landing Restaurant" because of its locale by the river. It was such a beautiful day, I didn't want to be cooped up inside eating. As we rounded the front of the restaurant there was a sign that directed us to the back and much to my delight, what a view! It would have been nice if we could have sat by one of the tables overlooking the river, but it was a longer wait for those and I was just too hungry to wait. When we were seated, after a short waiting time, I was pleased to still be able to have a wonderful view of the river. Sometimes you have to sacrafice view for food, but this restaurant the food wasn't too bad. The question is, "Would I eat there again"? the answer would be, "yes", after I checked out other river eateries in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    31
    53
    44
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ship Bottom, New Jersey
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Great Bar-Excellent Food. Great view of the Delaware River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

There is a reason they are still in business after 35 years. Great bears on tap, plus excellent selection of bottled beers. Fast service-with great food. Nice outside dinning and view of the river.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Go for the View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

As other reviewers have noted, the Landing has an unbelievable view of the Delaware River and the New Hope-Lambertville bridge. This is by far and away its best quality. The food there can be uneven at times. I would say it is usually pretty good, but not memorable in any way. This may result from its popularity with tourists as opposed to locales. Overall, if you are going for the view, you won't be disappointed. There are, however, better restaurants on both sides of the river.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Usual Fare and Service You Get Today at Places Like This”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hostess didn't call our name loud enough so we missed our first seating. When we told her she said, "Other people have heard!" as if to say it must be us. The wait staff forgot I ordered a cheese burger so there was no cheese. She also forgot my wife order a chicken caesar salad so there was no chicken. She blamed both issues on the kitchen. The fried calamari was dark brown and like rubber. What wait staff in such restaurants need to learn is they are the last quality control check before the food arrives at the customer's table. They should check that everything is as ordered and the quality is good. If not then take it back to the kitchen for repair. They should also learn that when approaching a table with customers talking to each other they should not interupt but in stead stand by until noticed and then speak. Needless to say, after two visits we will not be going back. Stay away! It's not worth it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect setting on the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I spent the weekend in new hope and on a beautiful day decide to go for a walk through town and saw the outdoor eating patio and had to stop. A friend had recommended this place, and we are happy we stopped. The view of the bridge and river is perfect on a nice fall day. My husband ordered the burger ( which is always a safe bet) and I had the pulled pork with a pumpkin ale recommended by our waiter Chris who was very attentive. Lovely place to spend an afternoon and fairly priced.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Landing Restaurant also viewed

New Hope, Bucks County
New Hope, Bucks County
 
New Hope, Bucks County
New Hope, Bucks County
 

Been to The Landing Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Landing Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.