We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paper thin walls!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of HollyHedge Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Hope
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
HollyHedge Estate
Save
You added HollyHedge Estate to your Saves list
6987 Upper York Rd, New Hope, PA 18938   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 New Hope B&B and Inns
pa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“paper thin walls!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We went there this past weekend for a wedding- 9/14/12 Everythinng was great! They did a wonderful job with the cocktail hour, reception was terrific and then the newly weds paid for an after party. The party was held where the cocktail hour was earlier that night. Exactly at 1am the staff closed the bar and asked the guest to immediantly leave that area. NO problem but this place is located in the woods, in the middle of no where. The exterior lights were turned off at 1am as well and you could not see a thing at all. My biggest complaint however were the rooms. It was like you were paying top dollar to stay at grandma's house. The rooms were dated! Not only were the rooms dated but you can hear word for word what guest in adjacent rooms were saying. Its like the walls are made of paper. So if you are going to spend alone time with your sinificate other, WATCH WHAT YOU SAY OR DO! Others will hear everything. The next morning around 8:30ish the building lost water. I guess its well water and the pump could not keep up with the demand of all the guest. Luckly we had bottled water to brush our teeth. Breakfast was good and the staff was not rude in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunmore, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

My family and I have been staying at HollyHedge for years and last November my husband and I got married there. The staff was great to work with. The food was amazing. We still get compliments on it. We had our ceremony in the old barn and it looked beautiful! Hary Mary's, a local florist, did our flowers and they were absolutely amazing! The staff is great and the rooms are too. Other people are posting about it being dirty or having bugs in the rooms. Its a rustic atmosphere! We booked up all the rooms in the inn for the wedding and everyone was more than happy with the accomodations. They decorated the honeymoon suite with rose petals and flowers and had a fire going in the gorgeous wood burning fireplace for us. The suite offers a steam shower and a huge jacuzzi. The wedding planners are great to work with andThey even offered us an after wedding party in the old barn, which was nice because we weren't really finished celebrating. I would 100% recommend this place for a wedding or just a weekend trip away.

Room Tip: The rooms with wood buring fire places are great to get if going with other couples. They have a sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011 via mobile

This place is a beautiful bed and breakfast however it is crawling in "stink bugs". I attended a wedding that was wonderful. Good food and service but was appalled when the waitress served our meal with a bug on her shoulder. It was even worse when there was one on my pillow later that night. The innkeeper told us "it's that time if year." Absolutely unacceptable. Also the cable in did not work. Why have a tv?

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

This bed and breakfast won our favor the moment we set eyes on the grounds. Located just a few miles from downtown New Hope, the Hollyhedge is the perfect setting for a weekend away with friends, or a romantic getaway. The owner was very welcoming and helpful, offering coffee and tea upon our arrival. We were pleased with the common rooms and felt our room was quite comfortable, despite the fact that the furniture and carpeting appeared a bit worn. When we returned from dinner, we were pleasantly surprised to find delicious little brownies waiting for us. The inn was extraordinarily quiet at night, and the view of the stars in the night sky was amazing. We awoke to the sounds of the birds chirping and stepped out into the field behind our room to take in the morning's beauty. The shower was a bit hot and cold- I'm not quite sure of the problem, but as it is summer, it was no big deal. Breakfast was above average. We were offered several choices at breakfast in addition to the fresh berries, homemade breads and muffins that awaited us in the sunny breakfast room. After breakfast we enjoyed a little sit down on the side porch (which is a seating option at breakfast), which is home to the fresh herbs and veggies that were in many of the breakfast dishes. Before our departure, we took a stroll around the pond and pictures in the gazebo. All in all, it was a lovely weekend in this sweet b&b.

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 7 are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

JC, the innkeeper was fantastic, and the break was incredible! I am very much looking forward to having my Nov. 2011 wedding there this year! The rooms are great and everyone was so accommodating!

Room Tip: Room 11 is the best, we stayed in rooms 9&10
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, Virginia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

I had the most unpleasant experience the first night that I stayed at Hollyhedge Estates. Dirty towels had been left in the bathroom from the person before me, the bathroom wasn't clean, the water was rusty and the shower head wasn't presentable, and there was fungus on the caulking. The entire room needed to be completely scrubbed. I was moved to a better room the next day. It was much better but attention to detail was lacking. There was chipped paint and peeling wallpaper. The food was very good. The setting is beautiful,but I would not stay there again

Room Tip: check the room completly before you accept
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

The staff was super friendly and helpful! The French toast for breakfast was delicious. When we learned we had the entire house to ourselves we were concerned but learned this type of B&B is more of a weekend wedding place. It felt like an escape since there were no other guest at the Inn. We had a fireplace in our room, the room was clean and big, the bed could use a feather top - the mattress was a bit hard- water pressure in shower weak but I didn't care. The property is beautiful the goats are fun to feed. Would recommend to anyone that can travel on weekdays and enjoy a peaceful stay. We plan to go back with other couples next time. The location was great we went into town everyday it took 5-8 mins, New hope has lots of great restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HollyHedge Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HollyHedge Estate

Address: 6987 Upper York Rd, New Hope, PA 18938
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > New Hope
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in New Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at HollyHedge Estate offers 15 luxury rooms located in a restored 18th Century farm. The stone buildings have been updated to match rustic charm, with modern comfort. Guests are welcome to enjoy 20+ acres of gardens, waterscapes, and native forests. HollyHedge has also been a leader in sustainable development by growing produce on property, using solar energy, and reducing waste through recycling, composting, and repurposing efforts. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HollyHedge Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.