We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience, awesome home, delicious breakfast, very nice innkeepers.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Hearth Bed and Breakfast

Country Hearth Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Holland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Hearth Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Country Hearth Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
285 West Main Street, New Holland, PA 17557   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 New Holland B&B and Inns
Paramus, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience, awesome home, delicious breakfast, very nice innkeepers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We have been to many B&B's and The Country Hearth B&B is at the top of our list. The house and rooms are very clean, beautifully furnished and decorated.

We stayed in the "Cherub" room....it has a working fireplace and we were given a duralog to burn each night.

Dave and Bonnie are excellent hosts. The breakfasts were delicious. We plan on staying there again and maybe even check out their other B&B in Ocean City, NJ.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We came here because we love the other B&B that the owners run (Bayberry Inn in Ocean City, NJ). We were not disappointed by Country Hearth. The whole house is beautifully and tastefully decorated. Our room was absolutely beautiful, with a gas fireplace, a two-person jacuzzi, and two reading chairs. We never wanted to leave. When we did drag ourselves away, we enjoyed delicious breakfasts in front of a roaring wood fire with the other guests. When we wanted hot chocolate one afternoon, Bonnie was quick to supply multiple flavor options. We enjoyed choosing where to dine out by reading through the owners' extensive collection of local restaurant menus. As much as we enjoyed our stay, we have also enjoyed getting to know Bonnie and David and their family over the course of the last 5 years. We continue to go to their Ocean City B&B in the summer, and hope to return to Country Hearth next winter.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royersford, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

The innkeepers are very friendly and hospitable. Their attention to details makes all the difference. I have stayed in both the Broken Star and Serenity Rooms. Beautiful! Breakfast is absolutely delicious. This area is perfect for a romantic and/or quiet get-away!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

We stayed at the Country Hearth B&B over Halloween weekend. My boyfriend had never stayed at one before, and I had only ever stayed at one other (which is also in Lancaster County). We arrived in the late afternoon and were greeted by Dave (& Pearl!)

The home itself is just gorgeous! They had parking right on the property, which is nice. We stayed in the Serenity Room, which had a queen-sized bed (only complaint is that the mattress is squeaky, I was worried our movement would be loud to others), a fireplace, a 2-person jacuzzi (which we unfortunately never had a chance to use), and a nice-sized bathroom. As always, the little touches make a difference - so little things like the Caramel Apple handsoap, the sodas & waters available, and the brochures and pamplets about the area stood out to me.

The next morning, we had breakfast, but since we were downstairs early, Dave told us stories about the home, which was very interesting. We then met Bonnie who is also a delight. Breakfast was amazing! Baked apples stuffed with granola and raisins, pumpkin roll, breakfast pizza and lots of juice, coffee, tea and cider to drink. Really delicious.

The location is also great - we went to the Strasburg ghost walk (about 20 mins away), Shady Maple (about 10 mins away), Kitchen Kettle Village (about 10 mins away), and Bird in Hand Farmer's Market/Abe's Buggy Rides (about 20 mins away) while there.

This place is great, don't pass it up!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

My husband and I spent a romantic weekend at the Country Hearth Bed & Breakfast recently and we cannot say enough wonderful things about this B&B. Everything was perfect and we would not change a thing! The owners, Bonnie and David as well as their delightful little dog Pearl were wonderful! Bonnie makes the most amazing breakfast every morning and David was certainly a most gracious host.

The room we stayed in was Broken Star and talk about a spacious room! It was much larger than we expected and decorated to perfection. It also had a jacuzzi tub that we loved relaxing in after a long day of sight-seeing. This room is in the front of the house so on Sunday morning we were lucky enough to hear the clip-clop of the horse and buggies as they went by.

The next time we are in the Lancaster area we will definitely stay here. Everything was perfect and we would not change a thing! David and Bonnie are the best B&B owners we have ever met! They love what they do and it is obvious in every aspect at the Country Hearth Bed & Breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Our first time as B&B guests anywhere, always skeptical, our stay at Country Hearth was not only extremely relaxing and comfortable, but, thanks to David & Bonnie, has forever changed [for the best reasons] our outlook of B&B's. Their home is very tastefully decorated as well as maintained to perfection, preserving the historical value as one would tend to expect of a home of this time period and personality.
Wonderful experience for us. Will definitely revisit Bonnie and David when we're in the area in the future and highly recommend others do as well....you will be happy you did.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Valley, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

My husband & I wanted to get away for our 20th wedding anniversary so we looked for some B&B's in Lancaster. We came across the Country Hearth B&B while searching the internet and we were NOT disappointed! David and Bonnie are very gracious hosts and we thoroughly enjoyed the knowledge David has of the history of the Amish in the area. The room was clean and very comfortable as well as the dining area and living room. Excellent breakfast! Will definitely try to get back again, and, hopefully, stay longer next time!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Hearth Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Hearth Bed and Breakfast

Address: 285 West Main Street, New Holland, PA 17557
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > New Holland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in New Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our home built in 1793 combines the original architecture of the house with modern amenities. Each room has a fireplace and three rooms have Jacuzzi tubs for two. The original architecture includes random width floors and wide windowsills. A full breakfast is served every morning at 8:30 am and includes coffee, teas, juices, fruit, a chef's choice hot entrée, and baked goods. There are also 24 hour snacks and beverages. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Hearth Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.