We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointed Doesn't seem to be the same quality as years before ??” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Coakley's Restaurant & Pub

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Coakley's Restaurant & Pub
305 Bridge St, New Cumberland, PA 17070-2155
717-774-5556
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $28
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Americana and Irish Cuisine in a casual dining atmosphere or a pub environment. Wide variety menu with daily chef's specials and regular nightly offerings. Great night life/bar atmosphere, with our main bar, game room and J. Thomas O'malley, Tobacconist, smoking and cigar bar. Outdoor seating in the summer
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Disapointed Doesn't seem to be the same quality as years before ??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Took a half hour to get a draft beer. Had to eat a cup of over cooked chili without the beer. Food was so so. . Back to the beer.. Pint of Troegs was $6.50 X 2 $13.00 Waitress said it was expensive because it's imported. Hershey is 15 miles away??.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

45% Recommend
    9
    16
    9
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ruined”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

If you ever have to wonder how a place can be run to the ground this is the model of how it's done. I had been a patron of Coakleys since 1993. Food was always good nothing fancy but well prepared pub fare. Great choices in craft beers before other local restaurants caught on with a staff that was knowledgable about the product. Since the original owners sold the staff is constantly rotating(never a good sign in this business) food in last 2 yrs has gone from sub par to downright horrible. Wish someone would turn it back into the comfortable neighborhood bar/restaurant that it once was....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, Owner at Coakley's Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for your review I agree with alot of what you said. That's why we brought on Chef Jeff Utzman who has already completely revamped the restaurant. From the presentation to the preparation to the spices, he has reinvigorated the staff and given new life to the four new menus he introduced over the last week and a half.

Try us again and see what changed for yourself.

Again, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were in New Cumberland, PA on Memorial Day. Most of this little town was closed for the holiday. This restaurant was downtown, a short drive from the turnpike. We sat outside and had a bottle of white wine and a shrimp appetizer that was very good. Price for wine, by the bottle, was reasonable. I cannot tell you anything else.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Prime Rib”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you like Prime Rib you have to try this restaurant. We were there for a party with my God daughter and this Irish dancing troup came in and danced for us. It was a great experience.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Coakley's is overpriced and the food is pretty poor. It's typical bar food with zero flavor and originality. I even tried the special of Crab Capellini thinking it could be good but it was overcooked pasta with very little sauce, a small portion of crab and vegetables. Definitely not worth $18.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, Owner at Coakley's Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for your review. This response is probably overdue, but I wanted to make sure the problems you pointed out were permanently addressed. We have a new chef, Jeff Utzman, who comes to us with years of executive chef experience and knowledge. In the short time he has been here, he has created four new menus, countless new dishes and brought consistency to the kitchen. I would like to invite you to come back and try us again so you can see the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coakley's Restaurant & Pub also viewed

 

Been to Coakley's Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coakley's Restaurant & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.