We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate value in a diner restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of John's Diner

John's Diner
146 Sheraton Dr, New Cumberland, PA 17070-2440
717-774-5004
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“First rate value in a diner restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Tasty food, excellent prices, and a pleasant typical diner atmosphere. None of us had room for desert, so I can't comment on that part of the menu.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    41
    30
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Really good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Came here at 1:30am, surprised to find it nearly packed! Waitresses seemed overwhelmed with the busyness but still delivered awesome service! Didn't take long for the food to come out. Had the roast beef triple decker club, t'was delicious! Very reasonable prices (plus we got 10% off for staying at the Best Western down the street!)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A cut above most roadside food options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This place was a find on a road trip when we stopped off near Harrisburg for gas at lunch time. Spacious, bright, clean, and a mind-boggling variety of menu choices -- and not all the same-old, same-old. I ordered a tuna salad sandwich with bacon on one of their "pretzel rolls." The tuna was grilled for the salad and it wasn't full of mayo or filler. The pretzel roll was a great touch. My husband enjoyed his club sandwich. We went back for dinner on our return trip a couple of days later. The salad bar and soup option was fresh and very good and also very well-priced. Friendly staff too. I wish this diner were in our neighborhood.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Salad and soup bar was good. Husband had a bowl of chilli and it was not so great. Son had a hamburger and it was kinda burnt. Rather have gone somewhere else to eat.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“GREAT Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Soup and salad bar rocks. Daily specials are all homemade, diner is very clean, waitstaff friendly! Great Value

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's Diner also viewed

 

Been to John's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.