We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay near Hershey Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   130 Limekiln Rd., New Cumberland, PA 17070   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in New Cumberland
Belmont
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay near Hershey Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotels at Hershey Park are very expensive. This hotel is about 30 mins from the park and is right off the highway. It was clean and quiet. Our group had 4 rooms and they were all clean- no mold or other issues that other reviewers mentioned. The staff was great, especially Heather, who checked us in. The breakfast was good with both hot and cold selections. Pool is outside and was a little cold in the evening since the sun was not shinning on it anymore. Overall it was a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    14
    14
    11
    15
See reviews for
29
13
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fallentimber, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I had to stay at the Comfort Inn for business from the middle of May 2013 to the middle of Aug. 2013. At the time they were going through extensive renovations, that said they made my stay more than comfortable and made sure that if had any issues that they were dealt with PROMPTLY. Read some of the reviews posted here and of the negative ones all I can say is if they would have approached the staff they would have taken care off them.
If I am ever in the Harrisburg area again I will look up the Comfort Inn at New Cumberland for my accommodations

F.Heverly FCI.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copiague, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had a reservation at the Harrisburg West Inn - could not find the place - no sign on the road. Pulled in to the Comfort Inn where the GPS was telling us to go for the Harrisburg West Inn - drove up a dark driveway past Comfort Inn, past a Rodeway (which looked pretty scary), and then saw a sign for steak house, but no West Inn - circled around the building, could not find the entrance or anyone there. I had two teenagers with me, and they were scared to death to stay at this place which looked dark and creepy, and I didn't want to stay there either.

We drove back down to the Comfort Inn at the bottom of the hill and asked where this West Inn was - Emily (the Comfort Inn front desk employee) directed us back to the scary dark building where there was no one in the lobby. I asked her what the price of a room was at the Comfort Inn, and she told me the price, which I couldn't afford. It was very late (after 1:00 a.m.), and she asked what I was willing to spend. I gave her an amount - she asked me to wait a few minutes - came back out and said they could meet the price I was willing to pay.

She was a LIFESAVER! The hotel was clean, comfortable and very quiet. There are renovations going on - but we stayed in a part of the hotel that seems like it's finished. Only problem was, the vending machines were not working, but there was an all night gas station with a food mart across the street. We were visiting Hershey Park, and even though we hadn't intended to stay in PA for two nights, this hotel was so nice and accommodating (even gave us a late check out at 1 p.m. for no extra cost), we stayed for 2 nights. They have a complimentary breakfast, free Wifi - great air conditioning and comfortable beds.

Again, I have to compliment Emily on her kindness and for taking such great care of myself, my daughter and her friend. Next time I go to Hershey, this is where I will stay. It's only about a 15 minute drive to the park, and a LOT cheaper than staying somewhere in Hershey, PA. Thanks, Emily!

Room Tip: Great place to stay if you're visiting Hershey Park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine D, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your most recent stay with us. It is not often that we hear the kind words of a guest stay. Thank you on your kind words and apprication of our staff. We hope that you enjoyed your time at Hershey, PA and look forward to seeing you when you are in the area again.

Kind regards,
Christine Dunn
Comfort Inn- New Cumberland, PA
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My family stayed at the Comfort Inn in New Cumberland PA on 8/2/13-8/4/13 to attend the State Games of America, It was an absolute disaster. When we arrived the elevator was broken forcing us to carry luggage, coolers etc. up the stairs. The stairways were filthy. There was so much dust on the stairs, walls and doors that we had to hold our breath to avoid breathing in the dust. The hallways and lobby area were dirty. There were cigarette burns and holes on the bedspreads and blankets and live wires hanging from the walls. I immediately began looking for another hotel in the area but everything was booked. I brought in extra blankets from my car to avoid lying directly on the bedding provided by the hotel. If my children were not with me I would have slept in my car. We left the hotel early in the AM for our children’s track meet and did not return until around 4pm only to find the rooms exactly how we left it. Unclean and no fresh towels. When we asked for clean towels we were told the washer machine was broken. Our room was finally cleaned around 5pm and the bedspreads with the cigarette burns were put back onto the beds. The managers were rude and offered no resolution. I have stayed at other Comfort Inn’s many times with no problems. This hotel is not worthy of the Comfort Inn name. If you are considering this hotel, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine D, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a response on your most recent stay. We regret that we did not provide the type of accommodations you expect as a traveler – my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and your "team".

We take your constructive feedback seriously, and will continue to focus on providing comfortable and clean accommodations to all our future guests. Failing to meet guest’s expectations is not part of our culture, and is unacceptable by our standards as we strive for 100% guest satisfaction.

My goal is to improve where possible for all future guests - your assistance in notable areas have addressed with our team members and is greatly appreciated.

YES, our hotel is under major renovations to make our hotel a more enjoyable place for all guest(s).

We wish you all the best in your future travels, and hope you continue to find accommodations that better meet your needs.

Kind regards,
Christine Dunn
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Booked this room based upon prior experience with Choice Hotels. The hotel is undergoing major renovation and our room was a disaster. There was black mold all over the bathtub. It had been there awhile and obviously no one had removed it. The room was dirty and the chair was filthy. The walls were sticky and the carpet was dirty. The pictures on the wall had been moved and didn't match the beds. The only reason we stayed the night was that we checked in so late and had already settled in.
There are many nicer hotels in this area. It looks good on the outside but not on the inside.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine D, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We strive for 100% guest satisfaction and in your case we have not done so. I have shared your feed back with our team members and hope that we can make future guest stay better. Yes, we are in the process of a major renovation so that all our guest are happy with new, moderate and clean rooms. We hope that in the future you would give us another try.

Kind regards,
Christine Dunn
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden cou
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My daughter and I stayed there on July 6th when all else near Hershey were booked due to 1 Direction concert. Staff polite and nice and awaiting our late (midnight) check-in. Our room was clean and it was late so we went to bed. In the morning I began looking around. TV didn't work and wasn't even plugged in OR wired for cable yet. Frig didn't work and again not plugged in, but still didn't work when I did that. Noticed then that live wires were coiled and sticking out of wall! Began searching for the smoke detector - I found something (still covered with the painting cover) that may have been it but doesn't matter - it was covered!!! Sprinkler head broken too so how would it have put the fire out that the smoke detector couldn't detect?! I was floored that I just spent the night there with my child and compromised our safety! Marched down to the front desk with my phone pictures to discuss. She was very apologetic and assured me that maintenance would be up there immediately to install the smoke detector. that was just unacceptable. I guess they assembled my room moments before my arrival. I inspected breakfast and figured food mart across street might be a better bet and checked out-sad choices. Maybe when renovations are complete it will be nice, but won't stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine D, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a responce in regards to your most recent stay with us. We strive for 100% guest satisfaction and in your case we were not sucessful. We have addressed the issues that you had brought to our attention that are a concern and I do appoligize for the inconvience that we may have caused you. YES, we are under renonvations to ensure our guest a pleasent place to stay and regret that we were not able to exceed your expecations.

I hope that when you vist the Hershey, PA area agian that you would give us another chance.

Kind regards,
Christine Dunn
Manager
Comfort Inn- New Cumberland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Manager was not very friendly, pool was green, they charged us extra for kids even though guest directory said kids were free. Breakfast was ok, and only lasted until 9:30, and it could be extended to at least 10. They do not give you any extra time, everything is pulled and closed at 9:29, even if you are in the middle of pouring some coffee or cereal. It was semi-clean, but a little dumpy too. Lobby was under construction and it just wasn't very welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine D, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear valued guest,

I apologize for not exceeding your guest needs. Every day we strive for 100% guest satisfaction, and in your case we have not done so. I have shared your comments with our staff, so that we may implement a more customer service friendly atmosphere. We did experience a green colored pool during your stay and have rectified the situation. We hope that you would give us another chance should you be in this area again.

Kind regards,
Christine
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Cumberland
Free Parking, B...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 13 in New Cumberland
4.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS New Cumberland Inn & Suites
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisburg West/ New Cumberland
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisbur...
#1 of 13 in New Cumberland
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Days Inn New Cumberland/Harrisburg South
Restaurant, Mid...
Show More
5.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 130 Limekiln Rd., New Cumberland, PA 17070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > New Cumberland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in New Cumberland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is under construction. We are currently at 95% finished. We look forward to you staying with us and seeing our new look! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Cumberland Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.