We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst! Dirty! Disgusting! Disgraceful!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   148 Sheraton Drive, I-83 & PA Turnpike Exit 242, New Cumberland, PA 17070   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in New Cumberland
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The worst! Dirty! Disgusting! Disgraceful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

We brought the family to Hershey Park. We stay in hotels about 10-15 days a year and never experienced anything like the filth that we encountered at the holiday inn. Absolutely disgusted with the hotel. The chair had huge stains and chunks of food (I hope it was only food), the white bed comforter had a large brown stain that was fresh and clearly was not washed, the tub was filthy, the toilet had fecal matter on the handle and one of the seat hinges was broken, the screws on door security lock were stripped and very loose. The staff was nice and did remove the chair from our room. However, they took the only swapped the chair with the room next to ours. I have taken photos and plan on contacting the corporate office.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    42
    25
    38
    37
See reviews for
64
25
6
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
baltimore, md
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

We stayed for three nights to take in Hershey Park and were delighted with our stay. We had reservations for another hotel (Rodeway Inn) and ended up refusing the room and driving across the road to the Holiday Inn at the last moment to ask for a room. We had two small dogs and were thrilled to find out that we could keep them with us and were given a very resonable rate of $89 per night. The beds were so comfy and our room overlooked the pool with a nice balcony. Room was very nicely decorated with a desk as well as a small table and chairs. We had plenty of room and everything was very clean. Bathroom was a little small but clean and had nice towels. Kids loved the pool and lobby was comfortable place to relax and read paper. The front desk and maintenance staff were very friendly and helpful and we would love to stay here again. Well worth the price and close to Hershey Park. Bob Evans is walking distance and a good way to start to day before heading to the park. Hotel did not charge us anything additional for having a pet, and promptly refunded the small pet deposit at check out after looking over room and finding no damage. Highly reccomend especially if you are traveling with pets.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We held our Board meeting here. We found that the staff was pleasant and helpful. The food was great! This hotel met all of ours needs. We are returning for future meetings.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Leavenworth, Kansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

I was very concerned with this hotel after reading some of the reviews, so I asked to see a room before we checked in, and was pleasantly suprised. The front desk clerk and manager were very polite and helpful. I travel extensively with and without my family of four. I prefer a large one or two bedroom suite when possible, but this hotel is at least on par with any other Holiday Inn I have stayed at. My girls really enjoyed the novelty of having a room that faced the indoor pool. The negative reviews seem questionable and out of character with what we saw. The room, though small, was clean and updated. I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

My husband and I visited several venues to locate the perfect spot for our wedding reception. From day one, our wedding Coordinator Vanessa Straub was upbeat, fun to work with, and extremely professional. The hotel offered a lovely evening in which we were able to try out the foods that were offered to ensure that what we chose for our special day was exactly to our taste. When the wedding day finally came, I have to say that our experience with the Harrisburg Holiday Inn & Conference Center in New Cumberland, PA far exceeded even our best expectations. The venue was decorated in a lovely manner, staff were pleasant and always on hand to assist, and the guests commented that it was the "nicest wedding they'd ever attended" and that it "seeemed like everything was planned in consideration of the guests". I felt like a princess from the minute we arrived and my husband and I danced our first dance as husband and wife. The food was excellent and our guests made frequent mention of how delicious it was. Despite warm temperatures that day, Ms. Straub interceded whenever any quick thinking was needed to assist our guests and my Mother ( who is not easily impressed) commented to me later in the day how much Ms. Straub impressed even her. Many of our guests were able to book rooms in a block at very reasonable prices and the family enjoyed a lovely breakfast the next morning in the Elephant and Castle Pub. One special touch that really warmed my Mom's heart was when she saw that the flowers we had paid quite a bit of money for but were unable to take with us that she had indicated to staff could be taken home or used in whatever manner they saw fit, coud be seen placed throughout the hotel the next morning. She said they still looked beautiful and she was so happy that they had not gone to waste. When the day finally ended for my husband and I all I could think was that I wished I had the ability to throw a party like that for family and friends more frequently because of how special the hotel staff had made us feel and how much we truly enjoyed our wedding reception at the hotel. Thank you to everyone that worked so hard! My husband Ed and I will never forget that day! Nancy B

  • Liked — Beautiful set up; very relaxed, clean, with helpful staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

My husband and I purchased the Dinner, Comedy Show, and Hotel stay package. The comedy show was funny. Our meals at Doc Holliday's were great. The hotel on the other hand was disappointing. Our coffee pot was dirty. The hotel was freezing and smelly. We were called in our room at 10pm and were asked to give up our fridge in the room that we didn't even have. Five minutes later we received a loud knock on our door asking again for the fridge that we didn't even have. Not to mention, the bar staff were rude to my husband. We will come back to see the comedy show but will not stay in this hotel again!

  • Liked — The Comedy Show and resteraunt
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSHarrisburg, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 31, 2010
Thank you for your response but I believe that this is not the hotel that you stayed at. There is a property directly across the street from us called the Harrisburg West Conference Center. This property has the Doc Hollidays and also the Comedy Club.

Should you return to the area, we woudl welcome the opportunity to have your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

We had our wedding reception at this hotel. All in all, very nice, however the customer service sucks. We had personalized items that we brought in for our reception, like all couples do.
We were told at the end of the night *by someone who works there* that they were set aside and we'd have to pick them up later. We do not know the name of the waitress who told us this, therefore they will do nothing.
We spent a lot of money, and brought in a lot of money, but it doesn't mean anything to them.
Also, since when I dropped them off I didn't specifically say, "don't throw these away" it's my fault! Do you have to tell people not to throw away personalized glasses?? Apparently.

It's our fault and we are the ones apparently lying about it.

Ridiculous.

Don't go there.
I recommend the Carlisle Pike Holiday Inn for all your event needs!!!!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 148 Sheraton Drive, I-83 & PA Turnpike Exit 242, New Cumberland, PA 17070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > New Cumberland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in New Cumberland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes south of Harrisburg in a suburb of New Cumberland. Has easy access off of 2 major highways, Interstate 83 and Interstate 76, the Pennsylvania Turnpike. Attractions that are a short drive away from the hotel include Hershey Park, Pennsylvania State Capitol, Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex, the Amish (Lancaster County), Harley Davidson Plant, and historical Gettysburg. Enjoy local sports with the following clubs: Harrisburg Senators, AAA baseball, and Hershey Bears minor league ice hockey team for the Colorado Avalanche. Indoor heated pool nestled in a tropical courtyard are just 2 of the amenities that are offered. Guests of the Harrisburg Clarion Hotel & Conference Center can enjoy fresh, locally-sourced ingredients and from-scratch cuisine at the hotel’s on-site restaurant and bar, The Garlic Poet. You will find over 21,000 square feet of flexible conference and catering facilities which provide the ideal setting for many special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Harrisburg Hotel New Cumberland
Holiday Inn New Cumberland
New Cumberland Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.