We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   148 Sheraton Drive, I-83 & PA Turnpike Exit 242, New Cumberland, PA 17070   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in New Cumberland
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place for a getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were a little late in arriving, but the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The room was neat and clean, and the cleaning staff were very accommodating when we asked for extra towels. The breakfast was very nice with lots of assortment, including multiple hot options. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
It was great having you with us for the weekend. Looking forward to you coming back soon. I am so happy you found our staff to be so accomodating in meeting your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    51
    28
    42
    39
See reviews for
73
29
8
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Chester
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Hotel may have changed franchise names, but they seem to be doing even better than before. Top-notch front desk, nice quiet room. Plenty of electrical outlets. Excellent wireless system that was easy to connect and really fast. Hot shower with plenty of pressure. Comfortable bed.

OK, the room is a little aged, and little signs of wear are evident. But they had a Keurig coffee machine in the room, so that's a great balance (see photo). I'll return any time I'm back in the area.

Room Tip: Be mindful of nearby interstate when choosing room location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We appreciate your kind words about our hotel. Glad you found so many things you liked about your stay here. Hope you will chose us again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lock Haven, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We arrived at this hotel around 8PM. As soon as we arrived the staff was fantastic. Very helpful with explaining exactly where our room was located and answered any questions we had. We loved the breakfast. Had at least 5 hot items as well as the usual breads, coffee, and cereals. My boys were extremely excited about the pool. It was very clean. I love that it was fenced off for safety. We were located on the first floor so we did not have far to to go to the pool or breakfast. There was a restaurant located right in the hotel which will be nice if we stay longer. There is also many other restaurants located within walking distance. We only stayed one night but will definitely come back to stay for longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
I really appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. So glad that we filled the bill to meet your lodging needs. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Just was here on 11/1 to 11/3 and was pleasantly surprised. This is our first time we took dog on road trip and first time at this type of hotel. It was clean and everyone was courteous. It does need some updating but for the price we paid we expected that. My only complaint was it said entrance B was locked at all times. It was never locked when we came through at all different hours.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
We do appreciate you taking the time to review us on trip advisor. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Just wanted to let you know, we have ordered the necessary parts to repair entrance B and it should be back in service very soon. We look forward to you visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just celebrated our High School reunion at The Clarion Hotel in New Cumberland. They did a fabulous job. Sarah Combs was our contact person and with her assistance we had a wonderful dinner buffet including prime rib, scrimp scampi and seafood newburg. The food was delicious and the price included soup, salad, fruit, an assortment of desserts as well as hot tea, coffee and iced tea. A cash bar and beer was on tap. There was a dance floor with room and time for a DJ. Would definitely consider going there again. The staff was professional, capable, pleasant and easy to work with. Thank you all for a job well done.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for raving about your experience here at the Clarion. It was our pleasure to host your reunion and provide you with such a memorable experience. We are quite proud of our banquet team and we are glad you found them so helpful in meeting your needs. We hope to see you back here for your next reunion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I attended the medical banquet there Monday and Tuesday .. The Hospitality was phenomenal. . As I was entering facility I was greeted by front desk staff. The food was outstanding . I was very blown away on how clean the restrooms were through out the day for the amount of people that were there. 2 different times throughout the 2 days when going to the bathrooms .. the janitor was about to walk into the ladies room to clean it but when saw me heading in .. He stepped back and said " Go ahead mam" He was very well mannered and he did and Amazing job keeping the bathrooms clean.. So my overall experience was great.. I really hope they decide to have more events at the Clarion because it was such a warm and welcoming environment.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
it is so nice to hear what a positive experience you had during your time with us. I am glad you found our staff to be so friendly and accommodating. As for the food, everyone says how great it is...glad you thought so too. We look forward to having your group back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I wondered about staying at this hotel because of the large number of negative comments. The price was reasonable-my rating of very good was based on the price. I did not run into problems similar to those in other reviews. If a visitor has accessability problems, he or she should check elsewhere. I asked about an accessable room and was met with silence on the phone. The floors in the lobby area are very slick. Also the bathroom floor was very slick. It was not easy to get from the handicapped spaces into the hotel-several steps up and down.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you so much for giving us a try. We are so glad you are pleased. I apologize for the issues you experienced with the floors. I will pass along your review to housekeeping for them to see what can be done to alleviate any problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 148 Sheraton Drive, I-83 & PA Turnpike Exit 242, New Cumberland, PA 17070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > New Cumberland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in New Cumberland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes south of Harrisburg in a suburb of New Cumberland. Has easy access off of 2 major highways, Interstate 83 and Interstate 76, the Pennsylvania Turnpike. Attractions that are a short drive away from the hotel include Hershey Park, Pennsylvania State Capitol, Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex, the Amish (Lancaster County), Harley Davidson Plant, and historical Gettysburg. Enjoy local sports with the following clubs: Harrisburg Senators, AAA baseball, and Hershey Bears minor league ice hockey team for the Colorado Avalanche. Indoor heated pool nestled in a tropical courtyard are just 2 of the amenities that are offered. Guests of the Harrisburg Clarion Hotel & Conference Center can enjoy fresh, locally-sourced ingredients and from-scratch cuisine at the hotel’s on-site restaurant and bar, The Garlic Poet. You will find over 21,000 square feet of flexible conference and catering facilities which provide the ideal setting for many special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Harrisburg Hotel New Cumberland
Holiday Inn New Cumberland
New Cumberland Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.