We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad it was only for one nite” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   148 Sheraton Drive, I-83 & PA Turnpike Exit 242, New Cumberland, PA 17070   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in New Cumberland
York, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Glad it was only for one nite”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Room was musty smelling. The tub was dirty, had to stand on towel to take a shower. There is only one elevator for the entire facility at the front of the hotel, to access the rooms in the back you have to walk the entire perimeter or take the steps, this not easy if you have difficulty walking.
I had requested a first floor room because of this and was put 2nd floor in the back.
Personnel was harried and not very helpful. This place needs a lot of work, there was no place in house for lunch. These are just the highlights or maybe the lowlights of my visit.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel, or try to get a room away from the pool it is very noisy in that area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
I apologize that we failed to meet your request for a first floor room. I am sorry that you were inconvenienced. Thank you for writing the review to let us know so that we can do a better job in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    51
    28
    42
    39
See reviews for
73
29
8
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Enjoyed Carlisle Corvette show before checking in Saturday evening. Numerous show goers at hotel. Prepaid rate was very cheap, check-in very polite and accurate. Reserved two rooms; one was beside the indoor pool which was noisy the first night with more kids and being Saturday plus management did not "close" pool at 9:30 pm. Also, the room was nonsmoking but smelled of smoke after attempting to clean it. Both rooms were otherwise clean and supplied well. Breakfast Sunday morning because of crowd was held in the large conference room with several round tables; the rest of the stay it was in the atrium area. Eggs, bacon, French toast, oatmeal, cereal, yogurt, etc available.

Room Tip: For quieter rooms request away from the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed most of the amenities we offer during you stay. Our apologies for the issue with the smoke smell. I have passed this on to our engineering and housekeeping departments for them to look into it and fix it. Hope you will choose us the next time you are in the area for a car show.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I had reservations to stay over the Labor Day holiday. When we arrived, there was a food bag on the table with someone's lunch and the key to our room on the table. The bathroom was filthy - someone else's soap was left in the shower and the floor was awful! The "free" breakfast was a joke. There was not enough food for anyone. The line for food was super long, not enough seating, trash over flowing, milk was warm with bugs. We left a day early and the manager did not care why. We should have been comped. We stayed at the Comfort Inn and they have all our business from now on in. Pay a little more and have a clean, nice stay with staff that cares!!!!!!

Room Tip: Have your staff clean the room and remove their lunch trash. Use cleaners on the bathtub and make s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the issues you experienced during your stay. I apologize that we failed to meet your expectations. The issues with your breakfast experience was an isolated incident and we sent two desk clerks back to help the breakfast attendant the best they could. I have passed on your housekeeping issues to the appropriate department heads so that corrective action can be taken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grottoes, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is reasonably priced per night for this area. Upon checkout, our bill was actually slightly lower than the estimated quote when booking online. Wow, that was a surprise!

Check-in/out was extremely fast and the staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a touch- screen computer in lobby that gives local tourist information with an option to print out. The front desk also gave great information as well.

Nice, large indoor pool was a lot of fun for the kids. There are strictly enforced openings/closing to allow guest rooms near the pool to have a quiet night's rest.

Breakfast: Served in indoor, treed courtyard with ample seating (at least 20 seats plus). The buffet selection was the same daily, but maintained hot/fresh by professionally attired servers. The selection was: scrambled eggs, hash browns, French toast, assorted breads/pastries, sausage, bacon, yogurt, fresh fruit, 4 different cereals, oatmeal packets, hot coffee with real creamer or tea packets, and two selections of juice. Only one morning was there a large amount of people, but the two on staff worked extra hard to keep up with the demand and remained patient despite some guest's behavior over waiting in line.

Room: Two large queen beds with four fluffy pillows. Two extra chairs were in room, but not used. Large nightstand with alarm clock. Large HD TV. A refrigerator and microwave. A Keruig coffee maker with Wolfgang Puck and other K-cups!!! Bathroom was typical for any budget hotel, but ample towels supplied as well as soaps, shampoo, lotion daily. It also had a blow dryer and a night light (nice touch) for the kids.

Our room was on the outdoor, contained courtyard so it was nice gathering place. It also had two doors for going to the pool/breakfast. A large function was held one night, but the music was turned extremely low by 9:30 to allow the guests a good night's rest. Very thoughtful!

AC worked fine. We kept the fan on constant for white sound and it adequately cooled the room. Room darkening blinds made it so dark in room that we actually overslept.

Seemed to be a safe area as nothing seemed questionable. There is a Pizza Hut, Bob Evans, and another diner in front of the hotel for options. The hotel had a pub-type restaurant onsite, but we didn't eat there.

If ever in there area again, we would definitely consider this hotel. Keep up the great work!!

Room Tip: As the pool is in an inside courtyard, I think I would avoid these rooms as it would seem that the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. I am glad you enjoy so many aspects of your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Well....I tried not to have too many expectations....but this hotel needs work... no refrigerators in the room... the breakfast buffet ran out of food and seating....the attendant was running herself ragged trying to replenish stuff. The linens in our room were dirty and we asked for them to be cleaned... they just put the same linen back on the bed. And once we had them strip the bed down, we could see urine stains on the bed.. will never stay here again... And thr Garlic Poet restauran had nice ambiay, but the food was awful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We appreciate you taking your time to review the Clarion. Please accept my apologies for our failure to meet your expectations. I have shared your review with all departments so that these issues will be addressed. Please feel free to contact me directly so that I can determine what room number you were in and have those particular issues fixed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our first impression of this hotel was the lovely decor throughout the entire hotel. Our room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. The front desk personnel were courteous and very professional. The hotel restaurant, The Garlic Poet was an amazing culinary delight. Truly a five star dining experience and very affordable. i would recommend this restaurant even if you were not a guest. Looking forward to breakfast before we continue our travels.

Room Tip: Rooms bordering the courtyard are also by the pool which is open till 10 pm. If you are looking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel. I am so happy that you found our staff so friendly and helpful. Everybody says how much they love the Garlic Poet and we are so proud to have the number one trip advisor restaurant in our area. I hope you will choose the Clarion again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My two teenage children and I recently stayed 4 nights at this hotel. We found it very clean, the staff courteous and helpful, breakfast buffet choices plentiful, the pool delightful, and the location extremely convenient. The only issue I had - which really wasn't the staff's fault - was the noise. We had a room with one door opening into the hallway and another opening to the outside courtyard. Apparently the courtyard is quite the attraction for people who want to stay up all night. We were awakened twice at 2 AM - once by children running up and down the courtyard screaming, and then two nights later by two females having a loud conversation outside our window. In the first instance, I alerted the night manager and he personally visited the parents' room and asked them to quiet down. I spoke with the front desk manager the next morning, who was sympathetic and polite and assured me that any further problems would be dealt with promptly. I didn't alert them to the second instance, just popped in some ear plugs. Overall, our stay was enjoyable and if I visit the area again, I will definitely stay here - just not in a room bordering the courtyard.

Room Tip: Don't get a room bordering the courtyard if you are a light sleeper or like to turn in before 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy that you were pleased with so many of our amenities. Please accept my apology for the noise issues that you experienced and I am glad to know that the staff on duty did what they could to address it. I look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 148 Sheraton Drive, I-83 & PA Turnpike Exit 242, New Cumberland, PA 17070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > New Cumberland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in New Cumberland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes south of Harrisburg in a suburb of New Cumberland. Has easy access off of 2 major highways, Interstate 83 and Interstate 76, the Pennsylvania Turnpike. Attractions that are a short drive away from the hotel include Hershey Park, Pennsylvania State Capitol, Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex, the Amish (Lancaster County), Harley Davidson Plant, and historical Gettysburg. Enjoy local sports with the following clubs: Harrisburg Senators, AAA baseball, and Hershey Bears minor league ice hockey team for the Colorado Avalanche. Indoor heated pool nestled in a tropical courtyard are just 2 of the amenities that are offered. Guests of the Harrisburg Clarion Hotel & Conference Center can enjoy fresh, locally-sourced ingredients and from-scratch cuisine at the hotel’s on-site restaurant and bar, The Garlic Poet. You will find over 21,000 square feet of flexible conference and catering facilities which provide the ideal setting for many special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Harrisburg Hotel New Cumberland
Holiday Inn New Cumberland
New Cumberland Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.