We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In major need of rehab” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   148 Sheraton Drive, I-83 & PA Turnpike Exit 242, New Cumberland, PA 17070   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in New Cumberland
Nicholasville, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“In major need of rehab”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked a room through priceline for Saturday, July 27, 2013. There was no trouble checking in and the staff was friendly and polite. We were told our room was missing its number. No big deal. The hallways and elevator were all clean but definitely worn out, which is not a problem in and of itself. Hotels that are heavily used wear out. It happens.But it does need to be fixed up or it is going to pass to seedy from tired really soon.
Our door key did not work, but a very nice member of the housekeeping staff let us in and when we left an hour later, the key worked. However, it worked inconsistently and took several tries to use it each time.
The room was very dated and had lots of cosmetic issues such as stained wallpaper, rust on bathroom fixtures, etc. However, it was clean. I looked around the toilet, sink, corners, etc. and none of them had build-up. The floor was freshly vaccumed.
All good so far. But then...
1. We booked a room that had a king-sized bed & fold out sofa. I called at 9 pm to inform the front desk we had no sheets for the sofa. I was told they had to be brought to us. I waited 30 minutes and called back and was told there were no sheets available. I don't know what caused this situation, but that is unacceptable. I wasn't expecting the Ritz for the price I paid, but I would like to have at least enough sheets for the number of beds in my room. They promised to work on the situation, but sheets never arrived. My 3 kids and I all slept in the bed. Not much sleep for me!
2. Being a fanatic about bed bugs, I always check my room. This one was clean, but the mattress had a date from 1999. Seriously? I would think that a hotel mattress would be replaced more frequently than every 15 years.
3. The breakfast was terrible. Again, I didn't expect much, but this didn't even meet my low expectations. There was one poor soul working on refilling the VERY busy breakfast buffet. When I informed the desk staff that they might need to call a manager and have him/her check on the kitchen, the young woman just looked at me blankly (while still flipping through a wallet photo album) and said, "I'm sure they have enough people." No. No they did not. There was no way that one person could keep up with the amount of people using the buffet. Also, they hot food was plain awful. Microwaved pre-cooked items. I would suggest that it might be better to skip the idea of a hot breakfast and just go with cereal, fruit, muffins, yogurt. Easier to refill and the food cost of people just trashing the inedible hot stuff is avoided.

These are mostly management/ownership issues - the rooms need to be gutted and redone & they need to make sure there are plenty of sheets on hand and decent food (or just don't offer breakfast). With the exeption of the one front desk clerk I spoke with about breakfast, everyone was attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    45
    28
    40
    39
See reviews for
70
28
6
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mattawamkeag, Maine
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is now a Clarion but when I stayed it was still Holiday Inn and was under renovations to the court yard and pool area but overall was decent. Several of our company staff stayed here while working at the nearby power plant and got a decent discount for working at the plant. The restaurant was also nice food was very good and atmosphere was nice but it could get crowded in a hurry during week nights. Have not been back in the area since change over to Clarion but would stay there again due to the location and decent rooms. It was noisy during reno's and room was not the typical room I find at Holiday Inn and its other chains needs serious updating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We hope you will stay with us again, now that we are a Clarion. We are steadly working on improvements to provide a better experience for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My Mother attends a Quilting event each year in Hershey Park. She prefers to stay off the Hershey property due to cost so when I was able to find this hotel for her (good rate/good reviews) she was very excited. The room its self was ok, staff told us we were in an updated room however the bathroom was def. not updated and even had black mold growing in the shower curtain.
One night when my Mother arrived back to the hotel she entered the hotel through the lobby to go to her room as her room had an entrance from the lobby as well as one from an outside entrance. When she opened her door she found the other door to the hall wide open. Hotel staff was very good about coming to check out her room ect however they did admit that the hotel cleaning staff must have not shut her door when they did their morning clean. This means her door was open all day exposing all over her belongings ect all day to whomever felt it was a good idea to take a look. Very disappointed...never again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks for taking your valuable time to submit your review here. We are so sorry for the issue you had with the housekeeping staff leaving your room open. I will once again share that with our housekeeping manager to insure that doesn't happen to anyone else.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed last night. I think upgrades have been made. Carpet looked new. Beds were soft and comfy. Pool area is beautiful, and very well maintained. Staff friendly and helpful. Room had Keirig coffee/tea machine. Room was clean as was entire hotel. Had a burger at Garlic poet, cooked the perfect medium that I ordered. I didnt like the fries but burger was excellent, $8. Ish bucks. Bed linens were soft and felt great after a long drive. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We are so happy that you have taken the time to share the great experience you had at our hotel. We are glad everything was to your liking, and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The only reason anyone should visit this property is for a meal at The Garlic Poet. This restaurant has outstanding food and service. The Clarion, however, is in a sad state. The building is old and is showing obvious signs of neglect. The only parts of this hotel that don't wreak of cigarette smoke are the lobby, the restaurant and the indoor pool. The staff is friendly, helpful and hard-working, however all their efforts can not compensate for the dilapidated state of the hotel. Avoid.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, ask for a room that has been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Sorry that we failed to meet your expectations, but we are glad that you found our staff to be helpful and hard working. We are working on improvements to the hotel and hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Hotel has been here for a while and I have stayed here several times for business over the last few years. It used to be a Holiday Inn. I thought the room was comfortable.

Lobby furniture could use replacement. I was working with two other people sitting on the couches and it was very uncomfortable. There was no other central place to meet and work.

Breakfast used to be good at the Holiday Inn. They now have a buffet breakfast and it was terrible. The food was hard and cold.

I would stay here again but I will go to the diner across the street for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We are glad that you found the room comfortable. Sorry that you didn't ask about a place to meet, we may have been able to set you up in our of our lounges, if available. Our hotel just had a meeting last week regarding breakfast and we hope you will see the positives that came out of it on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

this hotel is very outdated nothing in rooms even match. toilet barely flushes heat and air very poor working condition. the sliding doors from pool to courtyard area do not open. pillows very uncomfortable, better bring your own . curtains old and dirty. carpet moldy. i can go on and on you see the picture tv stand is old dresser with front door removed

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We apologize for failing to meet your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about them as we continue to strive and make improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 148 Sheraton Drive, I-83 & PA Turnpike Exit 242, New Cumberland, PA 17070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > New Cumberland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in New Cumberland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes south of Harrisburg in a suburb of New Cumberland. Has easy access off of 2 major highways, Interstate 83 and Interstate 76, the Pennsylvania Turnpike. Attractions that are a short drive away from the hotel include Hershey Park, Pennsylvania State Capitol, Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex, the Amish (Lancaster County), Harley Davidson Plant, and historical Gettysburg. Enjoy local sports with the following clubs: Harrisburg Senators, AAA baseball, and Hershey Bears minor league ice hockey team for the Colorado Avalanche. Indoor heated pool nestled in a tropical courtyard are just 2 of the amenities that are offered. Guests of the Harrisburg Clarion Hotel & Conference Center can enjoy fresh, locally-sourced ingredients and from-scratch cuisine at the hotel’s on-site restaurant and bar, The Garlic Poet. You will find over 21,000 square feet of flexible conference and catering facilities which provide the ideal setting for many special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Harrisburg Hotel New Cumberland
Holiday Inn New Cumberland
New Cumberland Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.