We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a Holiday Inn before changing to Clarion” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   148 Sheraton Drive, I-83 & PA Turnpike Exit 242, New Cumberland, PA 17070   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in New Cumberland
Mattawamkeag, Maine
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“It was a Holiday Inn before changing to Clarion”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is now a Clarion but when I stayed it was still Holiday Inn and was under renovations to the court yard and pool area but overall was decent. Several of our company staff stayed here while working at the nearby power plant and got a decent discount for working at the plant. The restaurant was also nice food was very good and atmosphere was nice but it could get crowded in a hurry during week nights. Have not been back in the area since change over to Clarion but would stay there again due to the location and decent rooms. It was noisy during reno's and room was not the typical room I find at Holiday Inn and its other chains needs serious updating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We hope you will stay with us again, now that we are a Clarion. We are steadly working on improvements to provide a better experience for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    49
    28
    41
    39
See reviews for
73
29
7
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My Mother attends a Quilting event each year in Hershey Park. She prefers to stay off the Hershey property due to cost so when I was able to find this hotel for her (good rate/good reviews) she was very excited. The room its self was ok, staff told us we were in an updated room however the bathroom was def. not updated and even had black mold growing in the shower curtain.
One night when my Mother arrived back to the hotel she entered the hotel through the lobby to go to her room as her room had an entrance from the lobby as well as one from an outside entrance. When she opened her door she found the other door to the hall wide open. Hotel staff was very good about coming to check out her room ect however they did admit that the hotel cleaning staff must have not shut her door when they did their morning clean. This means her door was open all day exposing all over her belongings ect all day to whomever felt it was a good idea to take a look. Very disappointed...never again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks for taking your valuable time to submit your review here. We are so sorry for the issue you had with the housekeeping staff leaving your room open. I will once again share that with our housekeeping manager to insure that doesn't happen to anyone else.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed last night. I think upgrades have been made. Carpet looked new. Beds were soft and comfy. Pool area is beautiful, and very well maintained. Staff friendly and helpful. Room had Keirig coffee/tea machine. Room was clean as was entire hotel. Had a burger at Garlic poet, cooked the perfect medium that I ordered. I didnt like the fries but burger was excellent, $8. Ish bucks. Bed linens were soft and felt great after a long drive. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We are so happy that you have taken the time to share the great experience you had at our hotel. We are glad everything was to your liking, and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The only reason anyone should visit this property is for a meal at The Garlic Poet. This restaurant has outstanding food and service. The Clarion, however, is in a sad state. The building is old and is showing obvious signs of neglect. The only parts of this hotel that don't wreak of cigarette smoke are the lobby, the restaurant and the indoor pool. The staff is friendly, helpful and hard-working, however all their efforts can not compensate for the dilapidated state of the hotel. Avoid.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, ask for a room that has been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Sorry that we failed to meet your expectations, but we are glad that you found our staff to be helpful and hard working. We are working on improvements to the hotel and hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Hotel has been here for a while and I have stayed here several times for business over the last few years. It used to be a Holiday Inn. I thought the room was comfortable.

Lobby furniture could use replacement. I was working with two other people sitting on the couches and it was very uncomfortable. There was no other central place to meet and work.

Breakfast used to be good at the Holiday Inn. They now have a buffet breakfast and it was terrible. The food was hard and cold.

I would stay here again but I will go to the diner across the street for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We are glad that you found the room comfortable. Sorry that you didn't ask about a place to meet, we may have been able to set you up in our of our lounges, if available. Our hotel just had a meeting last week regarding breakfast and we hope you will see the positives that came out of it on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

this hotel is very outdated nothing in rooms even match. toilet barely flushes heat and air very poor working condition. the sliding doors from pool to courtyard area do not open. pillows very uncomfortable, better bring your own . curtains old and dirty. carpet moldy. i can go on and on you see the picture tv stand is old dresser with front door removed

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We apologize for failing to meet your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about them as we continue to strive and make improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunt Valley, Maryland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed there for a baseball tournament. Room was on second floor with a balcony overlooking indoor pool. Big mistake not asking for a room change. They are suppose to clear out pool by 9:30 pm, yeah good luck with that...very very loud... The air conditioning is horrible. Your rooms are suppose to have individual controls but I was complaining to housekeeping that my room is so hot, had thermostat set to 60, she said dont bother turning down my temp contoller in room , it doesn't matter what you put temp at, they are all connected..stay on first floor, was much cooler than second floor even in hallways... Was suppose to have microwave and refrigerator in room, didn't. Breakfast was good, eggs, French toast, pastries, bread, yogurt, tater tots.... Front desk were very friendly along with housekeeping..just don't stay in rooms overlooking pool!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
I wish to apologize for the noise issue and the air conditioning problem during your stay. Wish you had asked for a room change, as we would have been happy to accommodate you, so we could provide you with a better experience. Thank you for your kind words regarding the friendliness of our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 148 Sheraton Drive, I-83 & PA Turnpike Exit 242, New Cumberland, PA 17070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > New Cumberland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in New Cumberland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes south of Harrisburg in a suburb of New Cumberland. Has easy access off of 2 major highways, Interstate 83 and Interstate 76, the Pennsylvania Turnpike. Attractions that are a short drive away from the hotel include Hershey Park, Pennsylvania State Capitol, Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex, the Amish (Lancaster County), Harley Davidson Plant, and historical Gettysburg. Enjoy local sports with the following clubs: Harrisburg Senators, AAA baseball, and Hershey Bears minor league ice hockey team for the Colorado Avalanche. Indoor heated pool nestled in a tropical courtyard are just 2 of the amenities that are offered. Guests of the Harrisburg Clarion Hotel & Conference Center can enjoy fresh, locally-sourced ingredients and from-scratch cuisine at the hotel’s on-site restaurant and bar, The Garlic Poet. You will find over 21,000 square feet of flexible conference and catering facilities which provide the ideal setting for many special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Harrisburg Hotel New Cumberland
Holiday Inn New Cumberland
New Cumberland Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.