We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Churchtown Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Narvon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Churchtown Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Churchtown Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
2100 Main Street, Narvon, PA 17555   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$20 off room rate
Ranked #1 of 2 Narvon B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I found this place when I was searching for pet friendly places in PA. to celebrate my husbands 30th birthday. His wish was to go some place that it will remind him of back home in Europe and it was exactly that. What helped in choosing this place was that Chris was extremely friendly when I called to inquire about any rules for the dog. We rented the Covered Bridge Cottage and it was beautiful. Very charming and the way is it furnished it makes you feel at home. My favorite part was the beautiful colored kitchen and the bathroom. I've seen some old pictures that someone posted here of the bathroom and that was a concern but it has been renovated and it looks completely new and it was very clean. It has wood floor, lot's of clean towels, great smelling soap and a gorgeous old fashion sink. The only downside to the cottage was that we didn't know that we couldn't cell phone reception there (t.mobile) until we had to make a call and couldn't. We realized we could use wifi calling but for someone that is not familiar with that option or to some older people that have older phones it might be a problem especially if there is an emergency. Also the wifi only worked if you were in the house. It would be great if they can extend the coverage area and make it secure with a password and put a house phone that can connect to the main house. If it's a concern I am sure you can speak to them and I have a feeling that they will find a way to accommodate everyone the best they can. Besides that minor issue everything was great. The surroundings were beautiful and peaceful even though it is located in a park. There is parking for park visitors right outside the door and a port a potty which was a bit uncomfortable but there were not a lot of people coming in and out so it turned out just fine. There are several grills close to the cottage and it was great weather for barbecue which we did. Not knowing that almost everything is closed on Sunday we didn't have charcoal but Chris was very nice and gave us a bag and told us were we can find places that are open. Chris was very helpful the entire weekend and she made our and our stay daschund very welcoming. She loves dogs and that was a very big plus for us. Hopefully we can go back soon and enjoy another great weekend at the cottage.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    11
    0
    5
    1
See reviews for
16
36
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Jim and Chris were great hosts. Jim had good suggestions on things to do and was helpful. The breakfasts were excellent and the location was very peaceful in the middle of farm country. It was a nice change of pace after a conference in Philly. It was a central location for getting around to the various small towns in the region.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I found this place four years ago looking for nice accommodations that would take my wife, little kids, dog and cat and indeed, the paymasters' cottage down the road in the Forge Park (owned/rented out by Jim and Chris) was right on the money. So, when I got a hankering for a laid back Amish Country experience, I naturally thought of the Churchtown Inn. Twice, actually. First solo on a return trip from Niagara Falls and then duo returning from the Canadian Maritimes.

If Hollywood were to conjure up a little one-road village filled with early 18th century buildings in Amish Country (including the oldest Episcopal Church in the U.S.A.), it would be Churchtown. The Churchtown Inn is in one of those buildings. The guest rooms are idiosynchratic and furnished in the 19th century style, as are the public rooms downstairs. I stayed in two guestrooms on the second floor and they were both comfortable with appropriate amenities, en suite bathrooms, WiFi that worked well and cable TV if you really wanted it. The watchword here is comfortable. If you are looking for flat screen TVs, Bose Sound Wave machines and ultraluxe bathrooms, you won't find them here.

But in addition to the above, what you get is a really nice self-service coffee, tea and set-up room; a gourmet breakfast served in a delightful room overlooking the garden; and the pleasant interchanges with Jim and Chris about any number of subjects, local sights, recommendations, restaurants and anything else that crosses your mind. These innkeepers will remind you of the relatives you were/are happy to visit and always seem to be happy to see you and this is a place where you want to "drop-in" for a couple of days whenever you get the chance, or when the urge to sit in wicker chairs in the front of an old Inn watching a much slower world go by overwhelms you,

We'll be back. Happy Trails.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We have stayed at the Churchtown Inn 4 times because of the friendly hosts (Jim and Chris), the beautiful rooms with nice decorative touches, the gourmet breakfasts served in a room overlooking the inn's garden, and the always available cookie and tea/coffee bar. Our favorite rooms are the Jacobs Room with its walk-up bathroom and the Kent Smith Room with the little parlor. All rooms have televisions. Breakfast always includes delicious granola, which is different from the typical hard crunchy stuff. This granola is soft. I always order bags of it to give at Christmastime. Jim and Chris are very helpful in giving suggestions on what to visit in the area and where to eat. A spectacular B&B (and we have stayed at many).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We have stayed at the Churchtown Inn several times and keep coming back because Jim and Chris are wonderful innkeepers. They are wonderful sources of information about things to do in Amish country and recommend Amish merchants selling the types of food and items we are looking for. Breakfast in wonderful-Chris prepares wonderful meals and Jim always regales us with great stories about the food preparation.

Room Tip: The website has pictures of the different rooms. If you are tall, you probably shouldn't stay on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We booked out nine rooms in the Inn, for a wedding party of 16, including the 'Murder Mystery' night. I cannot remember when I ever had so much fun, it was from the start to finish, amazing. Everyone was from Ireland, England or the USA, and all promised they would come back.
Chris & Jim made the trip so memorable, from the Amish wedding feast, to the individual breakfasts for people who were diabetic, vegetarian etc, to getting the bride and groom a surprise wedding cake with their names on it!

I wouldn't hesitate to ever recommend this B&B. The rooms were all amazing, clean, big & stocked with everything we needed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

My sister and I stayed at Churchtown Inn Farmview Cottage for the weekend with our doggies. We had a wonderful time. Jim and Chris are very friendly and accommodating. The cottage was immaculate and had a very warm, homey feel to it. I would highly recommend. We will definitely be staying again. Probably for a week next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Churchtown Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchtown Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2100 Main Street, Narvon, PA 17555
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Narvon
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Narvon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carriage House is the one room in the Inn that is suitable for a small, crated dog. The fee for his/her stay is 30.00 ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Churchtown Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.