We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh - Munhall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh - Munhall to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh - Munhall
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   658 East Waterfront Drive, Munhall, PA 15120   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Munhall
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This hotel has a professional and friendly staff. Their breakfast was nothing special and the eggs were powdered and watery however we did not stay here because we wanted breakfast. The hotel is new and spotless. The rooms were very clean without a microwave or refrigerator in all rooms. You have to request that I guess. The rooms are quite small with a King bed or two full size beds. This is not a room for more then 2 people. We were a party of 4. Two adults and two grand kids. We were very cramped. There was fresh fruit in the Lobby and the Oranges were sweet and delicious. In the evening they put out a spread of a snack or even a small dinner. We had complementary Chic-fil-A and it was a welcome surprise. Rooms here are a little expensive but probably the area is to blame. You may wonder why we gave it an excellent rating....The service and especially the friendly staff makes this a place to spend the night. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but some do have a microwave and refrigerator. Probably best to ask if you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brock H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh - Munhall, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks you for your kind words about the staff. I wish we could make the rooms a little bigger, but unfortunately it is too late at this point. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Thanks
Brock Hunt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    18
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
24
18
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Hotel is new, rooms are a bit smaller than expected but perfect. We stayed two different nights, one room had double beds and the other had a king. Bathroom was really modern...and appreciated the tons of hot water! Met Brock, the GM and was extremely surprised by the Managers reception with all the food! Would recommend this Holiday Inn to friends and family for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brock H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh - Munhall, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure meeting you as well. Glad you were one of the first to enjoy our Tuesday Night Manager's Reception. Tell the family we all said Hello. Come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

After my husband and I researched how we could bicycle the Greater Allegheny Passage to Cumberland, Maryland to connect with the C&O Towpath to Georgetown in Washington, DC, we came upon this Holiday Inn Express in Munhall/Pittsburgh, PA which is about 200 feet from an access point to the Greater Allegheny Passage. My husband spoke with the manager, Brock, who said it would be no problem to leave our car in their parking lot during the week we were cycling the trails to DC. Once we reached Washington DC, we stayed for two days and then simply rented a van from Enterprise for our return trip to to Munhall/Pittsburgh, PA with our bicycles. We were ever so happy to see our car in the parking lot when we returned to the Munhall, PA Holiday Inn Express. We simply transferred our bicycles and panniers to our car and I followed my husband to the Enterprise office a short distance away to return the van. We could not have planned a better trip more efficiently. The entire staff of the Holiday Inn Express reflect the great attitude of their manager, Brock. The accommodations and breakfast were the best of the 7 lodgings we had during the week of our adventure. Steve and Diana, Greenwood, Indiana

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brock H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh - Munhall, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you so much for the GREAT review. We enjoyed having you here at our hotel. Glad you had such a great trip. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel to visit the city and take in a ballgame. We were there for a Friday and Saturday night. We were taking our time getting out of our room on Sat morning. Around 11 am Saturday morning they slipped a note under the door that stated our room would not be cleaned due to our do not disturb sign being on the door.. I immediately called the front desk to ask why and I was told if I was not out of the room by 1:30 they don't clean the room! Really? First off 11:00 is not 1:30 why are you delivering ti 2-1/2 hrs prior to that time? Secondly why were we not informed at check-in? Thirdly I though i was their guest? They dictate what time I have to be out of my room? Additionally on the paper it stated they only clean rooms every third day you can get your own towels, etc at the front desk on their non cleaning days. The breakfast on Sat morning was terrible on Sat morning the biscuits were hockey pucks hard as a rock cinnamon rolls.....ditto! On the bright side...the staff was extremely friendly and gracious but we will not be staying here again nor recommending it to our friends who visit for Steeler games.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brock H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh - Munhall, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
I am so sorry you feel this way. It was a slower day at the hotel and housekeeping was to be finished by 1:30 on that particular day. In regards to the "Do Not Disturb Letter" we do clean stay-overs everyday unless requested. The particular statement you are referring to is if a guest has a DND on their door for over 3 days we do a courtesy check in the room for safety of the guest. I have spoken to the breakfast hostess in regards to the temperature that the biscuits are being held. We are a new property and are working to be the best. Your feedback is our tool for improvement. Please contact me at the hotel directly and I will ensure you a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. The location of the hotel is really nice. You can go across the street and take a scenic walk along the river. There is everything you need within walking distance of the hotel and even a theater about 1/2 mile away. The hotel is very nice, clean, and quiet. The room we were in was a bit narrower than the standard hotel room but still okay. The breakfast area was nice and choice of food was very good. I especially liked the freshly baked cinnamon rolls. They also had a computer for customers to use. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brock H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh - Munhall, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thanks for your kind words. I hope come back and see us and tell your friends about the property. We enjoyed having you here.

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We were recently in Pittsburgh for a concert at the Carnigie Music Hall Library. We chose this hotel due to its location and price. It was much less expensive then all the other hotels in the Waterfront area. The place seemed all very new, the place was spotless. The staff was great, the free breakfast was perfect each morning, the rooms were clean, looked nice and were very comfortable. In the evenings we walked up to the bars (15min walk), spent a few hours and walked back, the area was nice and we felt very safe walking around the Waterfront area. For the price its a steal.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brock H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh - Munhall, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I also hope you enjoyed your concert. The Carnegie Music Hall is a great venue! We hope to see you soon thanks again for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We recently stayed in the Holiday Inn Express with family for a bereavement in the family. The staff were very friendly all through the stay (but Pittsburgh is known for its friendliness), breakfast was wonderful with the women working in the kitchen very chatty. I was also pleasantly surprised with the whole Waterfront area which has changed dramatically from my school days. A return trip to the Holiday Inn is for definite on the cards for my next visit home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brock H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh - Munhall, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are glad we could be there for you and your family. Come back and see us!

Thanks Again!
Brock Hunt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh - Munhall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh - Munhall

Address: 658 East Waterfront Drive, Munhall, PA 15120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Munhall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Munhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh - Munhall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Waterfront, the newest gem in the crown of Pittsburgh’s exclusive showcase shopping district, the Waterfront. With a plethora of shops and restaurants for your choosing and a multiplex movie theater, you can shop, eat and relax in the Waterfront area where you can arrive without luggage and leave over-packed.For our business guests, many of our major companies are located just a few miles away and the business district in downtown Pittsburgh is just 7 miles from our hotel. While in downtown Pittsburgh, make sure to visit Heinz Field, PNC Park, the Consol Energy Center, the Rivers Casino, Andy Warhol Museum and, of course, Primanti Brothers for our famous Pittsburgh Sandwiches. Yum!For our leisure guests, make sure to visit Kennywood Park, just 3 miles up the street, and eat at The Potato Patch, but not before riding the Thunderbolt, the Racer, and the Jack Rabbit, 3 original wooden roller coasters. Then go down the street to Sand Castle Water Park to relax on the lazy river and cool off in our hot summer months.We are proud of our newest hotel. Our well-trained staff will go above and beyond to make sure your stay with us is a pleasant and memorable one. We take pride in serving our guest and anticipating their wishes, even before they arrive at the hotel. Our hotel has been created for you, our guest, to give you an ambiance of luxury at a nominal rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh - Munhall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh - Munhall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.