We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonestown Country Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sonestown Country Inn
70 Main St, Muncy Valley, PA 17758
(570) 482-3000
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Monmouth Beach, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Try the fried green beans!! And all the dishes were good, food came out fast and hot and hostess Stevie was really nice and friendly!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice place out of the way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I saw the sign for the inn on 220 and I was looking for a restaurant, and so I stopped.
It is a lovely setting, dark panel wood, pictures of days gone by.
They had a full menu to select from and I chose the ribs.
They were prepared to my taste and went down easily.
Although I did not get a chance to try other selections on the menu I was very satisfied with my meal and the ice cream for dessert.
This is an excellent alternative to what I have experienced in other est. in the immediate area.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plains, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were touring Sulivan County for a day trip and had planned on dining before returning back to Plains, PA. What a great experience. The staff was friendly, attentive and informative. Stevie our server was a big part of our evening. She helped with making choices from the menu and explaining the size of the portions. A table side visit from the Chef also was comforting. He took the time to introduce and inform us of his background. I selected the fried oysters with the kicked up remoulade. My wife enjoyed the Mako grilled to perfection. We left the Inn satisfied with all aspects including the under $50 tab. A great place, great staff, great food and an addition to places to return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

In the middle of nowhere pretty good food. Devastated by Flooding last year, but recovered well.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“A Cut Above Its Competitors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Come for the food; stay for the atmosphere. Someone here is a great cook and has a great sense of humor. This unpretentious place has well prepared meals, served by friendly staff. There is always some (rural Pennsylvania) haut cuisine on the menu as well as their standby dishes. Try the Reuben; it's one of the best around. Be sure and check out the rest rooms!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonestown Country Inn also viewed

Been to Sonestown Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonestown Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.