We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be called George's Diner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of George's Restaurant & Pizza

George's Restaurant & Pizza
14 W Main St, Mountville, PA 17554-1632
(717) 285-2555
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Mountville
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Harrisburg, PA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Should be called George's Diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

As you will note in my previous reviews for George's Restaurant, my wife and I drive in from Harrisburg once a year to go to the haunted attraction called "Field Of Screams" Each trip provides us with the opportunity to dine at George's.

In my title I stated it should be called "George's Diner" and I say that in a positive way. I LOVE diners, ample servings, very reasonable prices and good service and that's what you get at George's, the place is very down to earth, that includes the employees and the fellow customers. If your looking for someplace fancy this is not your place, please move on to some other restaurant vs. eating here and giving the place a bad review because you had higher aspirations for your dining experience. Two other things, they now have Wi-Fi {ask for the password} and they have a liquor license. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    18
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Okay, I really wanted to have Italian food. I asked the front desk personnel for a recommendation as to who would best satisfy. We were given this vendor (loads of their menus were readily available at the front desk). I hail from northern NJ and I wanted Italian like I would find in my home area. After searching the menu closely, I was not really impressed and I was not feeling too adventurous. I finally decided with a medium cheese pizza and 12 wings (coupon insert) for $13.50 and a regular tossed salad (lettuce, tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers). My daughter enjoyed the salad (cool because she is picky) and the chicken was very tasty!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cheap, big portions and great variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We ate there late on a Saturday night thanks to a recommendation from some locals. The meal was really inexpensive for a tourist area and the portions were huge. The kids menu included cheese quesadillas. The stromboli is incredible. The soups and chili were homemade and the greek salad was excellent. The atmosphere is a clean, casual diner and the staff is friendly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Petros was extremely nice (I believe his family owns the diner). Pizza was very good (plain & sausage). My daughter described it as "fluffy." We are from NY and are Italian -- so while it wasn't NY quality, so to speak, it was still very good. We'd go back.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Tired travellers find a good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We had just arrived in the area and were directed to George's since we were late getting in. The meals were great, portions were huge (our daughters couldn't eat much of their pasta after filling up on salad and lovely warm rolls - there was enough left over for the 5 of us to feast on next day for lunch!).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's Restaurant & Pizza also viewed

Mountville, Lancaster County
Mountville, Lancaster County
 
Mountville, Lancaster County
Mountville, Lancaster County
 

Been to George's Restaurant & Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George's Restaurant & Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.