We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mt. Airy Spa...and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Airy Casino Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Airy Casino Resort to your Saves list
Mount Airy Casino Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   312 Woodland Rd., Mount Pocono, PA 18344   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mount Pocono
Wilkes-Barre
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mt. Airy Spa...and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Mt. Airy Casino for our 10 year anniversary. I didn't know they had a day spa on property. They were able to accomidate me at the last minute. I received a facial, massage, pedicure and a hair cut. The entire facility was amazing. The receptionists looked excited to see me! I felt like a princess. The facial was to die for....I fell asleep during the massage. The pedicure was the most luxurious nail service I have ever received and my hair came out fabulous. Everyone was so nice to me. Totally recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    226
    80
    47
    56
See reviews for
72
465
32
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2008

I had to opportunity to first visit these property years ago as Mount Airy Lodge and was excited to see what the new owners had in store for this new venture in this historic site.
The hotel and rooms are quite nice. Very clean flat screen TV. No heart shaped tubs anymore but very nice updated rooms with showers. They say the chandelier in the lobby was from the old place.
We tried the buffet which was reasonable and quite good matching any I have had in Atlantic City or Vegas. The diner was quite good also. I did not see a breakfast buffet which they should have on the weekends.
The staff at the entire hotel was first rate and extremely friendly which added to the charm of the place, as for the casino it is smaller than most and had little variety in machines. Many one cent slots that want you to play the max. I did see a woman win $10,000 on the dollar slots but most were loosing as we all know the house wins. There are no tables and a few electronic poker machines you also have to pay for your alcoholic drinks. Non alcoholic drinks are free.
The spa was great. Small exercise rooms sauna but no whirlpools or pool yet. They say an indoor pool is coming soon.
We ventured into town since there is not much to do at the property this is where they lack since they call it at resort. The old place had activities such as ski and ice skating. Just gambling here. We visited the outlets a mile or two down the road. Nightlife is lackluster. Hillbilly bands a line dancing with locals and salsa were horrible for me. The crowd is not young either. Most retired people.
One suggestion for younger people in their 30's and 40's. a block an away was Shiros Japanese steakhouse and a nightclub is attached was a lot of fun but we did have to venture off the property. Overall this is not the old place. If you are looking for a romantic night away in the Poconos this is the place for you. If you are looking to gamble got to AC.

  • Liked — Clean updated rooms. Restaurants
  • Disliked — Not enough non gambling activities on the property
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyc
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2008

I had just returned from a cruise and went up to the Pocono's with DH/ he was there for business. WE checked in around 1am and all was very quiet, we had go to a different area for check in purposes. Off we went to the room, great beds, clean, flat screen t.v, and all very quiet. In the am we ordered room service, wich was very nice and hot. Off he went for business and back to bed I went. I had no issues at all, we had booked a 2 night stay and it was so nice and quiet, no housekeeping noise. That night we went for dinner in the buffet. I have travelled often, and this buffet was just okay, no Vegas for sure.
We played some slots, and had fun, but kinda boring. We went up to the room early, the next day DH was off for more business, but back early for check out. We wanted to grab a bite to eat at the Diner on property, but the line was so very long, lots of seniors. So we went a Chili's down a few miles west to eat. All in all we had a nice time, and would go back again. I hope they have more things to do in the future. A pool would be GREAT.

  • Liked — Beds and T.V
  • Disliked — Very crowded lunch options at Diner
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berwick, pa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

My husband and I have stayed twice at Mount Airy thru the free room deal. We have never had a problem. They give you a confirmation number when you book and checkout couldn't be easier. No fees at all. The last time we stayed there was for my husband's birthday and he had a choice of going to
Atlantic City or Mount Airy. The rooms are excellently decorated, very clean and modern. The walk-in tile shower is great. As far as the casino, they need more moderately priced food places. The lines get extremely long when the casino is busy and there are not enough choices. The slots are plentiful but they need to get more "Wizard of Oz" slots. They are very popular and there are only four. You cannot get one. Also the Grand Hotel Monopoly is fun but they need penny ones like in Las Vegas. Other than that it's great and we already have a room booked for the end of October.....

  • Liked — pillow top bed
  • Disliked — liked it all
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

Be advised to clarify your promotional details if you book via the telephone. In fact, I'd suggest you get everything in writing. I had an experience recently where I was given one promotional offer on the telephone only to be told I was wrong when I arrived at the hotel. The staff were not helpful, but instead rather accusatory. Instead of correcting their mistake and making good on the promotion that I was quoted, they were inflexible and reflected the mistake back to me. I am very disheartened by their lack of addressing this situation. I will never do dealings with this hotel again. A verbal quote when a reservation is made is a contract and should be honored. Mt. Airy will suffer in the long run from treating good customers with so little respect!!

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

After I checked into my room, I began receiving annoying
phone calls from an old aquaintence. This person was unaware of my travel itenerary. Was it a lucky guess on her part to call the hotel, ask for me, my room number and receive it? After the second call, I contacted the front desk and they assured me they would investigate and stop the calls. They assured me that the policy of the resort was not to forward any calls without first notifying the room. There seems to be some discrepency here, one employee says yes, while the other says no.

They didn't stop the calls.

I received three more phone calls throughout the night. I asked to speak with the hotel director, Mary Bakus. She informed me that unless I register as a non-registered guest, all calls would be put through to the room. I explained that most peole are totally unaware of this policy and the hotel should ammend their security and guests should be aware of this somehow.

I enjoy coming to this resort. It is nearby, the rooms are very comfortable, the choice of food is great, the staff are very nice and extremely accomodating. I just wished I had looked into their security policy a little closer, and I now advise you to do the same. Mt Airy has worked this problem out with me and I am very satisfied, they are sincere and I will return there.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

My wife & I read the offers to give us a high lever players card if we showed high level cards from other casinos. So we applied on line as directed. The next day we drove 120 miles to the casino & upon checking in we submitted Black cards from the Borgata, Diamond from Harrahs & VIP from the Tropicana, we than were informed that the program ended a day before but it has not been taken off the website yet. Up set I did not bother to check into the hotel but we played for several hours.
The next day I checked the web site & the offer was still on Mt. Airy's web page. I wrote the casino two times but both the letters are still unanswered. Due to their inability to accommodate high rollers look at what they are loosing.
Stay Away until they get there act together.

  • Liked — Surroundings
  • Disliked — Poor Service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Airy Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Airy Casino Resort

Address: 312 Woodland Rd., Mount Pocono, PA 18344
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Mount Pocono
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mount Pocono
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Airy Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stay in one of our lavish Pocono resort rooms, you can play all day...and all night. Unwind in wall-to-wall comfort with pillow-top beds, spacious bathrooms, room service, LCD TVs with in-room movies, hi-speed Internet and more. With rooms like these, you'll be doing anything but roughing it this hotel in the Poconos. Mount Airy Casino Resort has been awarded the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Rating. Mount Airy Casino Resort is the first casino resort in Pennsylvania to have earned this prominent award. For your indulgence, we offer two separate levels of resort luxury. Our King and Double Queen guest rooms are an experience well beyond the standard Pocono's vacation. Some of the features you'll enjoy include:•King or double queen beds•Spacious bathrooms•Walk-in showersLooking for the pinnacle of luxury and comfort? Experience euphoria with a grand King Suite. These magnificent Pocono hotel rooms feature all of the lavish amenities of our guest rooms, plus:•Cozy living room•Granite wet bar•Spacious bathroom•Granite surround porcelain tub•Double granite sinks. Some of our suites also offer a separate second bathroom and a spectacular lake view.In addition to an atmosphere of style and refinement, all of our guest rooms feature the finest linens for your comfort, including:•100% goose down comforters•Sheets woven from Egyptian cotton•Chelsea fleece blankets•Pillows crafted from softique microfiber and more. After you've taken in your luxurious surroundings, you'll want to step out and enjoy everything else Mount Airy Casino Resort has to offer. Relax at our Spa or Salon, indulge your cravings at any of our five exclusive restaurants, grab a drink at Gypsies Lounge and Nightclub, start a hot streak on our expansive casino floor, or play a round of golf. With so much to do, the only thing you have to worry about is where to start. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Mount Airy Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Airy Hotel Mount Pocono
Mount Airy Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Airy Casino Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.