We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not believe the bad reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Airy Casino Resort

Save Saved
You added Mount Airy Casino Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mount Airy Casino Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   312 Woodland Rd., Mount Pocono, PA 18344   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Hot Dates Hot Rates
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Mount Pocono
Trenton, NJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Do not believe the bad reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I have stayed here numerous times and I have always been treated well and had a great stay. I cannot believe the bad reviews. I think the people must be expecting to be treated like royalty or something. I have checked in as early as 1 PM and as late as 6 PM. The front desk has always greeted me pleasantly. I have yet to meet any rude staff members. They must be off when I am there. This is still one of my favorite getaways.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtAiryCasino, Guest Relations Manager at Mount Airy Casino Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thank you for contacting Mount Airy Casino Resort.

We are happy to hear that your experience was positive. It is rare when our experience is positive that we take the time to share. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We will certainly share your comments regarding our staff.

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to have you as our guest. It is our pleasure to serve you.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    307
    186
    65
    40
    50
See reviews for
59
394
25
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011 via mobile

I've been to many casinos and on to of that many hotels. This is by far the worst I have ever experienced. When I checked in everything was okay..the staff was okay. When I got to my room it was far less than ordinary. It was small, the bathroom was just about the same size. The view was terrible, just windows from the other side, I could hardly see any grass even. When I went to the casino I played quite a bit, with nothing to show for it because I didn't win a dime. This casino sucks I would NEVER come back and NEVER recommend to anyone. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

My hubby and I have just checked in. The front desk staff twice acted like they didn't see us, and it took them 30 full seconds before acknowledging us. Check in is not until 4, and they are making us wait every last minute until 4. The valet guy, Rob, has been outstandingly chipper and seems to be the stand out staff member here. The place reeks of smoke. Very beautiful decor, but if you've been to other casinos, you won't be over impressed. This not a 'resort', it's a casino w a small golf course, and a 'spa'. Nothing else. Basically, a casino w rooms to sleep in if you're tired or drunk. The room is very nice, but even the air freshened cannot get rid of the smoke the place has. While waiting for our room, we had only two options for our 'lite' lunch - the $25 each buffet, or the 'diner' with a line waiting outside of it. The diner was ok, a diner. We are not happy we chose to stay here- we hardly gamble and $299 a night usually means more amenities for us, like an outdoor pool w service, or earlier check in, more food options, a bar that is in the front and not amongst beeping slot machines. Not worth the $300+ unless you're, uh, stranded here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hardyston, nj
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

I made reservations on line back in February 2011 for our trip in May. I booked the 2 room King Suite (Non-smoking) because it was only $100 more than the regular room. When we got to our room much to our surprise it was a regual King room. I immediately went down stairs to the front desk to speak with the manger.She was very rude! I told her that I reserved online the King Suite not the King room and her reply to me was that the room I received is a suite and that there was nothing she could do accept offer my her last King Suite (2) room but it won't be ready for about another hour or so and it is a smoking room and there is an upcharge of $100. I believe that my original reservation was changed due to the fact that the hotel was sold out and they could sell me the same room I reserved at a higher price! Isn't this illegal!! We ended our weekend coming home with a nice chunk of their money in our pockets, never to be put back into their casino! I know this review sounds petty because we ultimately won some cash, but it still does not make it right what they did and how they treat their customers! They should be grateful that in todays economy that their are still some people out their that are willing to give them some hard earned money!

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtAiryCasino, Guest Relations Manager at Mount Airy Casino Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write to us and share your experience from your recent stay at our hotel. There is no one better to judge our performance than you, our guest.


I apologize for any confusion regarding your reservation and bill. Your reservation was made by you through our website self reservation system. Once the selection was made and you confirmed the reservation and your confirmation was emailed to the address provided confirming the rate for a standard deluxe room. After signing the registration card confirming your booking request you were checked into the deluxe room. Upon your contact to our Front Desk, the manager did offer a suite upgrade at standard upgrade rate. I apologize for any confusion you incurred regarding our self booking system. If preferred our agents are available via phone at 1-877-862-4791 to assist rather then our self book online option. Additionally we do suggest and request at check in that you review all information on the registration card prior to signing. If you are uncertain or have questions regarding the booking process or reservations you make we would be happy to answer any questions or assist.

We apologize for the difficulties and look forward to welcoming you back should you choose to visit us in the future.

Mount Airy Casino Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Checked in at 6:00 and checked out at 7:30 same night. The hotel is set up for drunk people who can't drive home. View out of our small room was overlooking the air conditioning units of the casino. Room smelled. Staff is rude, and completely unaccomodating. DO NOT STAY HERE WITH CHiLDREN. All restaurants are on casino floor, and you have to be escorted by security to access the restaurants, which is about a 100-150 yard walk. Not only that, they switch security guards every 35 yards with a two minute wait standing waiting for the next security guard so you feel like a convict heading to jail. We attempted the jailhouse walk with our daughter around 6:30, only to find out that we could not be seated until 10:00pm. Unfortunately they told us there is a curfew for children to be in the room by 10pm. So our only option was to eat in our room. We paid $293 to stay in small room with no mini-bar with a view of the casino roof. We decided to check out, without refund thanks to the discourteous staff AND manager. I traveled 80% of the time for my job all over the US for 5 years, and this was the worst, most unaccomodating hotel experience I've ever had.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtAiryCasino, Guest Relations Manager at Mount Airy Casino Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write to us and share your experience from your recent stay at our hotel. There is no one better to judge our performance than you, our guest.

We have put a lot of thought and effort to create an environment of comfort and sophistication for our guests therefore we are seriously concerned when we fall short of your expectations. On behalf of the Mount Airy Casino Resorts Management Team please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced.

The state minimum for gambling is 21 years of age. Therefore as a casino resort we cater to 21 years of age and older. Children are welcome to visit the property, however due to Pennsylvania Gaming Control regulations and restrictions, it is required that the individual under 21 years of age be with a parent or guardian and security escort. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Mt. Airy Casino & Resort. We apologize that our fine dining did not have availability to accommodate you prior to 10 pm. On a weekend our fine dining facilities fill up quickly, thus why the staff advised of our other dining options; The Buffet, The Noodle Bar, Betty's Diner, Reggie’s Express and room service. Any other the other facilities were available.

I apologize for any confusion regarding your reservation and bill. The third party service you made the reservation through is aware of our age restrictions and all facilities on property. Due to their contract and terms, refunds and all contact is handled strictly through the third party booking system. The service also requires that you contact and speak with them for all aspects of your reservation. I would strongly suggest booking directly with a property or speaking to the property for general information when using third party booking agents or website. We have spoken with this booking service to ensure detailed property information is provided to future guests.

We apologize for the difficulties and look forward to welcoming you back should you choose to visit us in the future.

Mount Airy Casino Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

We had a standard room, really first rate. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud .The bathroom had a big walk in shower and seperate toilet room. Quality soaps.

The buffet had a Senior Special that evening, everything was very good. The pizzza is exceptional. I usually skip it but I saw it come right out of the brick oven and it tasted as good as it looked. It is as good as I had in Italy. Do not miss the carrot cake, exceptional.
USA paper was available in the hall and we had huge omelette's at Betty's Cafe the next morning.
Everyone from the moment we arrived to leaving was very friendly and made us feel very welcome.
I cannot wait till we return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtAiryCasino, Guest Relations Manager at Mount Airy Casino Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
We are happy to hear that your experience was positive and we thank you for taking the time to share it with us. We will certainly share your positive comments with our staff.

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to have you as our guest. It is our pleasure to serve you.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Moun Airy Casino Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Although Mount Airy has been open for at least 3 or more years, if I didn't know better, and the front desk told me the hotel just opened and I was the first to stay in the room, I would believe it! The rooms are white glove clean and beautiful. The bathrooms could be showcased in a designer magazine. You couldn't ask for any more in a hotel room, and the Sunday through Thursday rates are quite reasonable.

Of course Mount Airy's focus is on the casino. However, if they would only add a nice spa style indoor pool, this would be a perfect year round resort. I heard rumors about a pool addition, but so far no indication that it is proceeding.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtAiryCasino, Guest Relations Manager at Mount Airy Casino Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
We are happy to hear that your experience was positive and we thank you for taking the time to share it with us. As a the only four diamond casino resort in Pennsylvania, we strive to ensure our ammenities and property meets your expectations. Pool construction is slated for 2012 and will be located by our fitness center. We will certainly share your positive comments with our staff.

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to have you as our guest. It is our pleasure to serve you.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Moun Airy Casino Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mount Airy Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Airy Casino Resort

Also Known As:
Mount Airy Hotel Mount Pocono
Mount Airy Resort
Mount Airy Hotel
Address: 312 Woodland Rd., Mount Pocono, PA 18344
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Mount Pocono
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Mount Pocono
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Airy Casino Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stay in one of our lavish Pocono resort rooms, you can play all day...and all night. Unwind in wall-to-wall comfort with pillow-top beds, spacious bathrooms, room service, LCD TVs with in-room movies, hi-speed Internet and more. With rooms like these, you'll be doing anything but roughing it this hotel in the Poconos. Mount Airy Casino Resort has been awarded the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Rating. Mount Airy Casino Resort is the first casino resort in Pennsylvania to have earned this prominent award. For your indulgence, we offer two separate levels of resort luxury. Our King and Double Queen guest rooms are an experience well beyond the standard Pocono's vacation. Some of the features you'll enjoy include:•King or double queen beds•Spacious bathrooms•Walk-in showersLooking for the pinnacle of luxury and comfort? Experience euphoria with a grand King Suite. These magnificent Pocono hotel rooms feature all of the lavish amenities of our guest rooms, plus:•Cozy living room•Granite wet bar•Spacious bathroom•Granite surround porcelain tub•Double granite sinks. Some of our suites also offer a separate second bathroom and a spectacular lake view.In addition to an atmosphere of style and refinement, all of our guest rooms feature the finest linens for your comfort, including:•100% goose down comforters•Sheets woven from Egyptian cotton•Chelsea fleece blankets•Pillows crafted from softique microfiber and more. After you've taken in your luxurious surroundings, you'll want to step out and enjoy everything else Mount Airy Casino Resort has to offer. Relax at our Spa or Salon, indulge your cravings at any of our five exclusive restaurants, grab a drink at Gypsies Lounge and Nightclub, start a hot streak on our expansive casino floor, or play a round of golf. With so much to do, the only thing you have to worry about is where to start. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mount Airy Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Airy Casino Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.