We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Visit” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Airy Casino

Mount Airy Casino
44 Woodland Rd., Mount Pocono, PA 18244
1-877-MT-AIRY1
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing Visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The casino was boring, with nothing going on during a weekend night. Food and bar selection was minimal. There was only one spot to sit down with a drink. Gaming floor was crowded and slot selection was limited.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Violet C, Guest Services at Mount Airy Casino, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to post your review. Comments such as your provide us the opportunity to improve our services. We will certainly communicate your opinions with the appropriate departments for review and considerations. We hope to welcome you again as a guest in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    108
    91
    28
    28
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hawley, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“If you are an avid gambler this is not the place for you”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I do not gamble much. This casino is small , but their buffet is excellent. We prefer going to Mohegan sun at Pocono downs in Wilkes Barre PA instead for betting on horse races and also their casino is much bigger and they have a great mall around the perimeter. The rooms at mount airy are gorgeous though that is why I had to give it an average rating. If you are visiting the Poconos and want a great room with really comfortable beds, this is the place for you. Their buffet is extremely reasonable and has a great selection of really delicious food. In the morning you can go to Betty's diner and have your usually eggs and potatoes. The service is mediocre, seems the the staff doesn't really take much pride in their jobs. But overall okay.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Violet C, Guest Services at Mount Airy Casino, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinions from you most recent visit to Mt. Airy Casino & Resort. We welcome your compliments regarding our décor and accommodations. Our aim is to provide a sophisticated, comfortable and enjoyable environment for our patrons. Hopefully you will revisit soon to take advantage of our much anticipated pool addition, scheduled for Summer 2013. Thank you for sharing your review, we value your patronage and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Orange, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“First Time There”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was my first time going to this casino in PA. I was invited on a bus ride. It took us less then 2 hours to get there we left from New Jersey. Great this is closer then Atlantic City I'm thinking I can drive this. The casino was big enough to comfortly fit the bus loads of passengers and other patrons that were coming and going every few hours.Never seemed crowed and you could always find a machine. They have a smoking section by some machines which is a plus for those smokers. I was with a smoker myself and she was happy. The casino has 5 options for dining. We chose to eat at Bettys Diner. Great give-a-ways when you reach your point qualifications. Going again in April. Cant wait

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtAiryCasino, Guest Relations Manager at Mount Airy Casino, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Stacywright88,

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Thank you,

Allison

Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenonah, NJ
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Buffet a BIG disappointment!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We visited the buffet in 2007! Raved and raved about how delicious the food was to everyone for weeks! Re-visited again this year and was extremely disappointed! I don't know what happened, but it was bad. I looked forward mostly to the shrimp and crab legs. The shrimp were smaller and mushy and they now serve the crab legs COLD!! WTH!!! Not good! I tried other food and nothing rocked my world! Even the waitress new why we left a plate of crab legs! She said "You're not eating them because they're cold huh"! We said yea! What's up with that? She said they decided to serve them cold now. I was thoroughly disappointed. The price of the buffet is grossly over-priced. I didn't mind paying that price when the food was worth it but it wasn't. I would NOT recommend this buffet and will probably NEVER return.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Violet C, Guest Services at Mount Airy Casino, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for providing your review of The Buffet @ Mt. Airy Casino & Resort. We appreciate you taking the time to provide you valuable feedback, as it allows us the opportunity to develop our services. We will certainly communicate your comments to our management for future improvements and consideration. On behalf of Mt. Airy we would like to apologies for your disappointing dining experience. Please know your feedback will help us to improve our services. We hope you will return to give us the opportunity to provide the service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesconset, New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Pretty Casino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is a pretty casino and they have a hotel attached. They have many entertaining events scheduled. Their firework displays are magnificent.
You sit out on the grass and watch them fired off over the lake. The casino tends to be smoky which I do not enjoy. Their buffet is wonderful.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Violet C, Guest Services at Mount Airy Casino, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback from your trip to Mt. Airy Casino & Resort. The compliment for our fireworks display is appreciated as we love to put on a great show for our guest. Because of commendations such as yours, we will again present another spectacular firework display for the July 4th holiday. We value your feedback and invite, you to return to enjoy the show.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Airy Casino also viewed

Mount Pocono, Pocono Mountains Region
Dingmans Ferry, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Bushkill, Pocono Mountains Region
Henryville, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Mount Airy Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Airy Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.