We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Olde Square Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Olde Square Inn to your Saves list
The Olde Square Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   127 E Main St, Mount Joy, PA 17552   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Mount Joy B&B and Inns
Ramsey, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We chose this B&B for its close proximity to Bube's Brewery where we had dinner/theatre reservations for Saturday evening. Great choice! We stayed in the Charleston and loved its charm and comfort. Especially loved the roof-top patio and fish pond! Breakfast the next morning was delicious and our hosts were very friendly and helpful with suggestions for the area. A wonderful choice!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    14
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
81
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was my first real bed and breakfast experience and I am so happy we stayed here for it! We stayed in the Charleston and it was spacious, comfortable and cozy and the bathroom looked pretty new. Everything was clean and the rest of the house was cutely decorated! It is very welcoming to walk into. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and you could tell all of the ingredients were very fresh. The yard that the house has is nice to sit out and eat breakfast on and while we did not have time to use the pool, it looked very refreshing! Georgie and Paul are also very kind and warm people. Georgie recommended great places to check out while we were there since we were not too familiar with the area and we loved the places she recommended! We hope to be back soon for the Fall or next Spring, even if it is just for a night! I would recommend this B and B to anyone I know!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Booked last minute and the hosts made sure that we were accommodated for a late arrival with no issues. Great location just outside of the busier Lancaster area, but just close enough to everything that you want to see. I highly recommend booking this B&B instead of the larger chain hotels, you will have a great travel experience. Many great local businesses right in town, and all other attractions (including Hershey) are only a short distance. Hosts are extremely knowledgable about the area and were very gracious. Breakfast is served promptly at 8:30, so be on time, and enjoy Georgie's cooking. We also had the opportunity to meet fellow travelers, which is something that just doesn't happen at the chain hotels. Highly recommended !

Room Tip: Nevada Sky is on the street side, may want to choose a room on the opposite side if you would like s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockeysville, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Celebrated our wedding anniversary weekend at the inn.The room was very comfortable. Georgie and Paul were gracious hosts. They were helpful in providing information on places to eat & helping us with suggestions for local places to visit. The food was excellent. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The Summerfield room was very nice & quiet. The bed was extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The house is pretty, our room (the Charleston) has pretty antiques and a comfy bed! The attached bathroom is spacious. There is an upstairs balcony with pond and sitting area. Breakfast was not only beautiful to the eye but yummy to the tummy! French toast with fresh peaches that the owners had canned them selves. The owner has been more than helpful, we arrived after coming from another small town and large hotel where my husband had an accident with a door that landed us in urgent care for stitches. Thus making us miss a play that we had tickets to, a sold out performance. She was on the phone and made arrangements for us to see the performance before our bags were unpacked! This is why B&B are nice to stay in, you get a little family away from home! Oh and she was able to answer questions about local area attractions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was our first and only stay at a B & B. This property was not family friendly and we stayed in a converted garage apartment. We were not allowed inside the main house and could only stay on the porch for meals. There was no cable or internet available. Breakfast was served daily with limited portions and no second helpings were available. Linens were supposed to be changed every other day, but we had to ask the innkeeper for clean ones. Also, we were not given enough towels for each person. There were no brochures or guides available to look at as they were confined to the main house. The area of Mt Joy had nothing joyful in it and had poor quality restaurants. I would not recommend this B & B for any families.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldeSquareInn, Owner at The Olde Square Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
I was going to give a comment for each of the negatives this woman gave.
But then again I thought "if you don't give respect, appreciate what was done to accomodate you, communicate, tell the truth or the whole story, there is no sense in addressing the issues.
Our guest books, reviews on Trip Advisor along with Bed and Breakfast.com tells the true story.
We may not make the "mark" every time but we and our staff give it 110% each and every time for our guests.
Some folks you absolutely can't please and they dont' give all the facts or tell the truth.
Fortunately there is an outstanding reputation with our valued, appreciative and wonderful guests who come through our doors.
Others who stayed the same week have just written and submitted reviews to various places giving high praise for their stay.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had an extended stay and we loved everything about the Old Square Inn. The ambiance was charming and the room (ground floor) provided a tremendous amount of space and privacy. Breakfast was served on the grounds and both mornings the portions and quality were excellent. The pancakes with fresh strawberries were especially yummy! Mt. Joy is a quiet small town and the B & B is centrally located on Main Street. It is an easy 15 minute drive to Lancaster and the heart of Amish country.

Georgie and Paul are lovely hosts. We would stay again and again!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Olde Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Square Inn

Address: 127 E Main St, Mount Joy, PA 17552
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Mount Joy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Joy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Olde Square Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olde Square Inn is been restored in this last year bringing out its beautiful architecture inside and outside of the inn. There is a beautiful pool, gardens, patio, veranda, and much more. Bringing together a touch of the west and a bit of the beach. Antiques from years gone by and embracing the present styles of today . A gracious B&B fifteen minutes to Hershey and Lancaster. Beautiful rooms with private baths, comfortable queen beds, Wi-Fi, flat screen and air conditioning along with fireplaces for the winter months. Our Carriage House (handicap accessible) is an elegant romantic getaway or the perfect spot for a small family. You have your own private patio and seating area at the Carriage House. Accommodation's, full breakfast, swimming pool, all without the high resort prices, located in the quaint town of Mount Joy. Great Restaurants and spa within walking distance or a short drive. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Olde Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Olde Square Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.