We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am still trying to figure out why everyone makes a fuss over this place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Acre Farm B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Joy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rocky Acre Farm B&B
Save
You added Rocky Acre Farm B&B to your Saves list
1020 Pinkerton Rd., Mount Joy, PA 17552   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Mount Joy B&B and Inns
Glen Rock, NJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“I am still trying to figure out why everyone makes a fuss over this place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Our family of four, including 2 young children, visited in September. We arrived at around 8pm since all the roads getting to the farm were closed from hurricane flooding (it would have been nice to have been told of the closings when we called at 3pm). I had called at 3 to say that we would arrive after dark. I was told that someone would be there, or at least a note would be left. Well, neither of those things happened. We had to go into the main farmhouse, search for someone, and wound up being told by someone (not the innkeeper), how to get to the 'Guesthouse' which is a separate building which is down the street and up a hill from the farm. We had to drive back twice because we were not sure we found it. Well, that was because it is not a guesthouse at all: your quarters are the rooms above a 2-car garage in a 1980's McMansion. Not the best way to start out.
The guesthouse has been furnished in mix-n-match 1985 furniture and decor. Spacious but odd layout. The ample beds are comfortable, but I smelled cigarette smoke in the rooms the entire stay (there has probably been cigarette smoking in those rooms for 20 years, I guess).

The Inn keepers did not make any announcements before or after breakfast as to what was offered (barn tours? any information at all?), but they were sure to include a long and Jesus-y grace before the meal. The food is plentiful and delicious, served family style at communal tables. After breakfast we assumed we would be told where we could go or what we could do on the farm, but that never happened. Some previous guests seem to know what was up, so they informed us that there would be a ‘train ride’ soon. It was all quite weird.

The farm sits up on a hill, so the only place to play for the kids is on steeply sloped and blacktopped driveway (we have more greenery on which to play in our NJ backyard). The bicycles and scooters available were mostly old and broken or not riding correctly. An older gentleman did take the kids out on a train made of old steel drums. But that was it. We heard from other guests that the hurricane blew away the chicken coop, so there was no visiting there (which we were looking forward to and a main reason for our stay). There are tons of cats, but the room the kittens were in was a filthy backroom (much of the farm is dirty or rundown). Most of the other buildings on the property seemed to be in disrepair. It almost looks like buildings are abandoned. Add to all of this the fact that the hosts were not all that friendly, and I am still wondering why people rave so much about Rocky Acre! I understand there are many return guests who have been coming for years. But when we return to PA Dutch area, we will not be staying here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockyacre, Manager at Rocky Acre Farm B&B, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
"What is all the fuss about Rocky Acre?" We appreciate your question and the opportunity to respond. We are not trying to be more than what we are. We are a dairy farm offering an experience to try milking the cows, feeding the calves, and gathering eggs….and just for fun, we throw in a pony ride, train ride and hay ride. We have a casual atmosphere where guests can relax, meet new people and allow their children to play, cuddle with the kittens and make new friends. We have a beautiful green meadow with kayaks, fire pit and a tire swing which you can enjoy. We have many guests who have met here and come back each year together. Eight of the nine families staying here your same weekend reserved for the next year. However, your comments are very important to us and we have already made changes for improvements. We apologize for not having a note on the door when we are not immediately available. We normally go over our activities at check-in, but we also provide a guide book in your room for Rocky Acre. Breakfast is another great time to ask questions about the farm or your plans for the day. The chicken house has been replaced which was destroyed by the flood and we have updated our Guesthouse accommodations. The Guesthouse offers spacious accommodations with a full kitchen and living room area, nestled in the quiet woods. All of our rooms are non-smoking and pet free. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and would appreciate the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    10
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
67
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mount sinai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We arrived as a family in August which is their busy season. We were newcomers to the farm after having read good things about it. Like previous posts, there was no one to greet us and we arrived at 3pm in the afternoon. There was a sticky on the front door telling us where our room was. There was a book in the room that told us where attractions were but no one to tell us how to get around the farm or where things were located. There were some friendly guests who were on their 5-6th stay who were very welcoming and helped us. We didn't see anyone on staff until breakfast the next morning. There are also no keys/locks on doors which was a little disconcerting to us, but we did move past that. I think what really was the most disappointing thing was that on the last day I spoke with Holly who is the owner's daughter and inquired about another stay and was told that she didn't have reservation book, but that I should look on website after Labor Day and see what was available. Meanwhile, I know another family booked their room before they left the farm and booked the room another family member of mine had been staying in. They 100% favor certain guests and even after spending 5 nights and booking two rooms, I definately did not feel like a welcome guest. After that I had no plans on ever staying again, yet I checked the website after Labor Day and of course there was no availability at all for the time I had stayed in August 2011 for August 2012 so the fact that I had initially been told that you could book before you leave definately does not hold true. Very, very disappointing and bad business. All of these repeat customers will eventually "age" out of going to a farm and the "newbies" like myself will not be returning and that is when the poor business choices will come back to hurt them.

Room Tip: rooms are small. some have tv..but not advertised
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

What a wonderful family vacation. Eileen and Galen and the staff are all warm and welcoming. The accommodations are comfortable and inviting. We have been going for years and will continue to make Rocky Acre our family vacation. There are plenty of activities for the children and parents can either participate or relax with a cup of coffee. If you need ideas of what to do while in the area, they always have wonderful suggestions.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, CT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Rocky Acre Farm is one of the best places we ever visited. We spend 6 days/5 nights at the farm. Our children love all the farm activities especially feeding bottles to the bull calves and collecting eggs from the hen house. The breakfast is out of this world! Come with a big appetite. We love the family style breakfast dining and meeting families from other places. After breakfast, the children enjoyed pony rides, a train ride and our entire family enjoyed a hay ride. The farm is centrally located to Hersey and the Amish activities. We stayed in the Fireplace Room and then moved to the Century Room. Both rooms have been recently renovated. Our children were very sad to leave and can not wait to return next year.

Room Tip: Book Early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Upon arriving at this beautiful, historic farmhouse, I quickly felt the serenity of the area and the graciousness of the hosts. It was our first time, and the Benners have a flexible check-in policy which makes arrival convenient for everyone, including latecomers. When we got there, we entered the front door on the porch, said who we were and the room we reserved. The Benners 14 yr old granddaughter Laura immediately took us up to our room, explained the activities and locations of the amenities on the farm, and said if we had any questions, don't hesitate to ask. I couldn't believe this young lady was 14-she was so sweet, professional, knowledgeable and mature-completely suited for the hospitality business!

When Laura showed us our room, the Founder's Suite, it exceeded our expectations-it was very clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. Our children (ages 13 and 10) bounded out the door to explore and were not dissappointed. They loved exploring the scenic farm on a golf cart, and when we stumbled upon the creek, we all went kayaking. Next, we went to the barn to see the cows-a few pregnant-and unfortunately, we didn't see any calves being born-but maybe next time!! There were kittens lounging and playing everywhere, and the kids quickly picked their favorites-or maybe the kittens picked them? Whatever the case, they bonded and stayed together for the two day visit. I was concerned that our teenage daughter wouldn't be happy there, but she loved it! Parents of teenagers-you know exactly what I mean on this one! Both kids loved the golfcart , enjoyed the stream with boats to use, riding bikes, and the animals of course. We (the adults) enjoyed the peace and quiet, and the joy of seeing our kids truly enjoy the wonder of nature.

Mr. Benner had the patience of a saint with the children. He joked and had fun with them, but it was very hot and after pony rides and a hayride thru 2 counties (outstanding!), he also took the kids for an ATV excursion. I couldn't believe his stamina and patience-incredible! Mrs. Benner and her kitchen assistants cooked up a breakfast that can only be described as "out of this world outstandingly delicious"! For breakfast, come hungry, be preapred to eat lots of awesome, fresh, homemade food and then skip lunch!

The surrounding area has lots of things to do and see, and when you're done, you can come back to serenity of the farm. Everyone in the family loved it, and we can't wait to return!!! The Benners have created a very unique, family friendly getwaway that exceeds expectations-plain and simple!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We went here because a friend recommended the place, when we arrived nobody was there to help us, just a post it by the door which was shown by another guest, our room did not have a/c on our first night, when we complained about it the hostess said ' it got cold that night anyway'. They do have bikes but the driveway is steep, you have to cross the street to go to the chicken coop and to see the calves. Eileen was not friendly at all, when we checked out and said goodbye, she just said thank you as well but continued to look on her newspaper.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Positives - Wonderful breakfast and nice room. There were lots of activities for kids. Negatives - Very close to a busy road, with a steep driveway right into the road, making it dangerous for little ones on tricycles. Room was small. Not greeted by anyone on staff, which was a bit off-putting.

Room Tip: Book WAY in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocky Acre Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Acre Farm B&B

Address: 1020 Pinkerton Rd., Mount Joy, PA 17552
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Mount Joy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Joy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bring your family to experience the dairy farm. Milk the cows, feed the calves, gather eggs, pony ride, tractor rides and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rocky Acre Farm Hotel Mount Joy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Acre Farm B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.