We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mouth watering!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Mousikos

Taverna Mousikos
6 Kyriakou Matsi Street, Sotira 5390, Cyprus
23 82 88 33
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Sotira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Mouth watering!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This restaurant offers the best traditional food. The fresh homemade halloumi is the most delightful thing.All dishes were more than delicious. We ordered the full meze. At the end, we had the "Bourekia" desert. Yum :) The staff are friendly and the place is packed all the time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    15
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Traditional cypriot food at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This traditional taverna is always busy even in winter and is visited by many locals. The food is superb, everything is fresh and as other reviewers have stated the homemade bread and halloumi is wonderful!

Sadly Cyprus is running out of traditional tavernas and as a result many restaurants tend to serve international cuisine. If you want local food at reasonable prices in a lovely setting then this is the place to visit. In summer the restaurant gets very busy with locals and tourists alike so booking is advisable. We have been with many different friends and family and always have the meze which is fantastic, every single dish is cooked to perfection and the service is always spot on, attentive and helpful staff.

Thank you Mousikos!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meze”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We came here with our Cypriot friends as a family on a Monday evening in October. Although it was the beginning of the week, the place was still very busy and I would recommend booking in advance. It is only a short 10 - 15 minute car journey from Ayia Napa or Protaras. We found there were quite a few UK families enjoying the food that night.

Guided by our Cypriot friends we went for a mixed meat & fish meze. Everything was delightful and plentiful. The Hallumi cheese was the nicest I have ever tried and it is apparently made onsite. The roasted octopus was really tasty as was the lamb Kleftico.

Prices were not too bad either, working out around £20 - £25 per person including wine. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Would definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“night to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We went to cyprus to celebrate our golden wedding, and to go to a very greek tavern to celebrate ,on the actual day of our wedding. This taverna was recommended by the manager off our hotel. what a treat. flowers on the table, food that is truely authenic, first class service,they gave us a night to remember.If you love greek food then go. We have been going to greece for well over twenty years and this for me is one of the best .if you go to cyprus then do not miss it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The best meal I've had in Cyprus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

As a Greek Cypriot by birth I have holidayed in Cyprus most years and have enjoyed many wonderful meals here. I can honestly say that Mousikos was one of, if not the best meal I've had. From the fresh baked bread, and melt in the mouth halloumi to the wonderful array of local dishes including snails, egg fried courgettes and grilled meats, everything was wonderfully tasty and authentically Greek. I thoroughly recommend it and only feel sad that I didn't discover it earlier.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Mousikos also viewed

Paralimni, Famagusta District
Sotira, Famagusta District
 
Sotira, Famagusta District
Ayia Napa, Famagusta District
 

Been to Taverna Mousikos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Mousikos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.