We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pennsbury Manor

Pennsbury Manor
400 Pennsbury Memorial Rd, Morrisville, PA
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Morrisville, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very interesting tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Guide was very informative- tour keep your interest. Great historical place to visit in Bucks Couny!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Important piece of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Though I didn't realize that the home was a reconstruction, it is well presented and explained. Location is as great now as when Penn built there. Museum is excellent and teaches/reminds us of very important bits of Pennsylvania/American history.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“William Penn, the New World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Pennsbury Manor must be one of those “you can’t get there from here” places. While there are signs along River Road that direct you to the manor, they are sporadic, sometimes defaced and usually not at a major turn where it needs to be. Bearing to the left, a slight turn to the right, following our Google map, we were so close yet so lost. Pennsbury Manor is on something of a peninsula, but a peninsula studded with ugly semi-industrial plants that seem to contradict the pristine riverbank setting and the historical mindset where I was dwelling. The drive to the manor required some counter intuitive turns that the poor signage does not facilitate. Actually, it was only when I stopped at a car repair shop that I discovered the correct route from an agreeable mechanic. After a good bit of circling and correcting we arrived at the entrance. Even when you finally arrive, the main sign at the front drive is somewhat tilted in a most undignified angle. The approach is also marred by something of a trailer park graveyard. Considering the importance of the site, I would hope that someday someone might contribute to improvements.
As with many historic sites, your first encounter is at the visitor’s center: a modern construction of offices, reception center, video room and requisite gift shop. Most striking, however, was the friendly and even embracing warmth of the staff. Since one of our company has difficulty walking, they brought around a golf cart to escort us to the manor. Now, I first have to say that I was hit by a major disappointment. It seems that the manor is not the original building. The original fell into ruin somewhat early in its existence. The building we tour today was a reconstruction of the 1920’s. Although, the guide assures us that Penn’s written description of the mansion was so detailed that it allowed for a near perfect copy. And speaking of the guide, his name is Tom, rarely have I encountered a so enthusiastic and well informed volunteer tour guide. Clearly he was a man impassioned by the history of William Penn and the manor house. The house itself is quite remarkable. The setting on the banks of the Delaware takes you into a dream world of tall green trees and flowing waters. The interior of the house on a somewhat modest footprint is open and spacious. The high ceilings, broad floor planks and open squares of parallel rooms recalls Penn’s rational approach to community space as seen in his geometric town plan for Philadelphia. Perhaps the more interesting building is the kitchen complex. Here again the space is arranged in a very rational fashion. What befuddles the modern mind, however, is the utmost complexity of the requirements of daily life at the end of the 17th century. Everything in the home from clothing to food was the end result of days and hours of intense manual preparation. The less than admirable aspect of this life was that no small part of the production and maintenance was only possible because of indentured servants and slaves. Yes, William Penn, the devoted Quaker and enlightened mind of the colonies, who created the charter of religious freedom and established an elected legislature, was master to indentured servants and to slaves. But that was a different world whose values and understanding are beyond our capacity to judge.
When we came to the end of the house tour, our guide brought back the golf cart. With continued enthusiasm Tom drove us about on a tour of the grounds. The manor is home to two oxen, several peacocks and a horse rescued from the slaughterhouse. Tom, it turns out, also help out with the animals. The gardens of Pennsbury seem a bit neglected. It would be wonderful to see them in full greenery.
Even though it is a reconstruction Pennsbury Manor takes its visitor into a new world America that we rarely consider. This is America in the time of Charles the Second, an America where the native population still lived along the banks of the Delaware. Pennsbury Manor is Pennsylvania and Philadelphia at the time of their creation almost one hundred years before a Ben Franklin or George Washington walked its streets. It is truly difficult to grasp the reality of this homestead. Pennsbury Manor in 1685 was a regal home and functioning plantation in a remote and unknown colony populated by a daring few who risked all they had for religious and personal convictions.
Make the drive to Pennsbury Manor. Combine it with a trip to New Hope. Admission for adults is $7, for seniors and for AAA members, $6. The tour has some fun, hands-on elements for children.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great place for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Recreated 17th century estate of the first govenor of Pennsylvania William Penn. Costumed docent, animals, expansve grounds. Great for home schoolers, school trips, family picknics. Something you may want to do over. Film, museum and gift shop. Although Penn was a Quaker he owned slaves. He had two wives and 14 children. He never lived there for more than two years per wife. Lessons for many research projects.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, PA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Pleasant Landscape and Nice (Re-Created) Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Even though the house is not original, it's still a lovely place to visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pennsbury Manor also viewed

Doylestown, Bucks County
Doylestown, Bucks County
 

Been to Pennsbury Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pennsbury Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.