We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are ardent fans and can't wait to return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North River Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages
Save
You added The Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages to your Saves list
48678 Cabot Trail, North River Bridge, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“We are ardent fans and can't wait to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

Hospitality is excellent! Everything is top notch. Best food on the Island! We jones for the mushroom soup. Keith sure knows his scotches. The Graggenmore he suggested was delightful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    17
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
13
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

My (adult) daughter and I spent three nights in one of the cottages at Chanterelle. The cottage was clean, well supplied, and comfortable, with a very good woodland/inlet view (not a classic Cabot Trail water view). Wireless internet did not work in our cottage, though it was advertised as available; we had to go to the Inn living room to get a wireless connection.

Unfortunately, the weather was rainy all three days we were there. Be aware that Chanterelle is not particularly close to the town of Baddeck, though that is the closest town; it's not remote by Cape Breton standards, but it is miles from anything you might want to do in the rain. In addition, the Cabot Trail was under construction and travel was very slow.

We did not have breakfast at the Inn, but we had one dinner there. It was a lovely meal and the food was delicious. It's expensive, but so is everything on Cape Breton; the cost of living is high.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Where to begin, everything about the Chanterelle was first class, from the food, to the rooms and especially the staff. As we toured Cape Breton some of the food we had was mediocre at best but the Chanterelle really raised the bar and was an excellent end to a truly relaxing vacation. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, the scenery was perfect and the cuisine fresh and varied. I highly recommend a visit and if you only intend to stay one night, plan on staying at least 2 or 3. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

We stayed at the Chanterelle as the base for the Cape Breton part of our Nova Scotia tour and it stood out from all the other inns and hotels we used. It is situated well above, and away from, the road, with expansive views. Our room was very comfortable with individual antique furniture and decorations, their stories given in a booklet left in the room. TV wasn't missed.
A 'green' theme runs through the establishment, from the structure of the building to the non-use of chemicals and fragrances, recycling, and the sourcing of organic local foods. All the three dinners and breakfasts we had were outstanding, prepared with thought and care by the owner, Earlene, with the last dinner, two of the largest lobsters we had ever seen, provided early so that we could go to a local ceilidh. And she was able to give us their provenance!
Overall, very relaxing, very friendly, we didn't want to go. The Chanterelle is well up on our wish-list of places to return to.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Digby, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

I stayed here with a business colleague as part of a guided tour around Nova Scotia on the first weekend of June and wished I had been able to spend more time here.
On our unannounced arrival we were offered one of the lovely cottages to stay in, the cottages were simple, with well thought out extras such as locally made soap and a little history of the owner and property. Dispite the weather closing in around us the view was lovely and both the cottage and Inn were warm and welcoming. Despite us not having booked we asked Earlene if food was being served and she said that she could put something together for us even, although it would not be the usual 4 course meal she would like to do.
If this is what she can do at short notice I simply cant wait to get the full culinary experience! The salad to start was fresh, beautifully dressed and very tastey. The bread was homemade and tasted great too. Next came a bowl of homemade Gnocchi with a tomato and basil sauce. The sauce tasted zingy and fresh with the lovely perfume of fresh basil. Apparently the Gnocchi was an experiment, and it was great so I can only assume that the tried and tested Chanterelle dishes are amazing!
Finally we had a chocolate potato cake and the bread and butter pudding, both of which were lovely and completed a very lovely dinner.
The following morning after a good nights sleep, we were served a breakfast of fresh fruit, toast, granola, baked eggs and sausages and lovely coffee.
I really can not praise the Chanterelle, Earlene and the lovely Maitre'D (Guy the thoroughly handsome pointer/retriever) enough. I really fell in love with the place and cant wait to return with my family and share the experience.
Everything from the herb garden and solar panels to the comfy beds and great food was lovely and a credit to Earlene.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

The Chanterelle Country Inn is located directly on the Cabot Trail, with easy access to everything along the Trail. We stayed in Cabin #2 and it is the cutest little cabin we have ever seen! The cabin is perched up high on the edge of a hill, and the view from the front deck was nothing short of phenomenal! We were taken aback by how gorgeous this area is! The cabin was very clean and had everything one would ever need. The bed was comfortable, and the handmade soaps were a very nice touch. We found the owners and staff to be exceptionally friendly and helpful. Since it was our first time visiting the area, they provided us with some great travel advice on things to see and do. They are also very respectful of the environment, and supporters of the "Slow Food" movement which was nice to see too!

A very quiet, relaxing and peaceful place where we felt that there was an excellent balance between great service and privacy. If you plan to dine at the Inn you have to book your dinner reservation a day ahead, as everything is prepared fresh. We didn't eat at the Inn this trip, but will next time for sure. This is an excellent place to stay if you planning to explore the Cabot Trail!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

We booked a 5-night stay in one of the cottages here after reading of the owner's interest in the Slow Food movement. We were a little concerned after reading a negative review here, but after our stay find it hard to believe the author of that review stayed in the same place. The cottage was clean, well equipped, comfortable, and had a nice view from the porch. Earlene made breakfast for us each morning, and it was superb. We had two dinners there, and both were wonderful. The only potential negative is it's a bit far from some of the "attractions" on Cape Breton Island, but for some that may be a plus as it's a great spot to just relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages

Address: 48678 Cabot Trail, North River Bridge, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > North River Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North River Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 150 acre estate of the Chanterelle Country Inn and Cottages celebrates the beauty and the bounty of Cape Breton Island. Situated on the Cabot Trail, the award-winning property sits high on a brae overlooking the estuary of the North River as it flows into St. Ann's Bay. Nine rooms in the Inn, each with a 4-piece bathroom, antiques, ceiling fan, high-speed internet. Hot and cold buffet breakfast included for inn guests. Three one-bedroom cottages with 4-piece bathrooms, verandahs, ceiling fans and fully-appointed kitchenettes. Thirty-four seat restaurant serving a cuisine created from locally grown ingredients. Fragrance and chemically-free environment. Amenities include an extensive library, walking trails and a gazebo on the harbor with pedal boats. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Baddeck
Baddeck Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.