We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Rooms, Restaurant and Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North River Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages
48678 Cabot Trail, North River Bridge, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Rooms, Restaurant and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My parents and I stayed at the Chanterelle for 5 nights and we would have to say it was the highlight of our 2 week trip around Nova Scotia. Our room was spacious and well equipped, with comfortable beds that were very welcoming after a long day in Cape Breton. We loved the many personal touches in the room that Earlene (the owner) had collected over her life, as it gave the room a very homely feel. Over the course of our stay we ate at the inn every morning and evening and we were extremely impressed with the quality and seasonality of the food on offer. We had some truly outstanding food cooked by both Earlene and Brian, and we really enjoyed the opportunity to taste some very local produce. The staff are all extremely friendly and attentive, and as the inn was fairly quiet when we visited at the beginning of May, we were able to share some interesting stories and learn a lot about the area, also they went out of their way to check whether local attractions were open and they even organised our Whale watching trip for us. Other than that the Inn is in a beautiful location with great views from the terrace and dining room, and it was extremely convenient being located on the Cabot Trail. We would highly recommend this Inn and if we ever revisit the region we will be sure to stay at the Chanterelle!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeBretonFresh, Owner at The Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Having you and your parents here for the first of our visitors' season was such a positive omen! You appeared to love the area and took advantage of every opportunity to visit any of the attractions that were available. You made innkeeping a very fun business to be in. Thank you for being here and for taking time to write your very generous review. We hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    15
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
11
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I very much enjoyed my meal at the Chanterelle Country Inn. located about a 30-minute drive from Baddeck (about 30km, not the 17km stated on the website). The menu was part-traditional, part-creative, with interesting offerings such as beef perogies, squash gnocchi, and chocolate potato cake. I appreciated that most of the ingredients were locally sourced, and enjoyed reading the menu listing all the local farmers and fishers who supplied the fresh ingredients. My only complaint was that the serving sizes were a bit skimpy. $21 for approximately 20 gnocchi and 3 asparagus spears was not great value. The Inn is perched on a beautiful hillside with a stunning view of the facing mountains. We caught the lovely golden light of the sunset. The service was attentive, friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeBretonFresh, Owner at The Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for coming to dinner and for taking time to write a review of the restaurant. We do find it so gratifying when guests appreciate our efforts to serve a cuisine created from locally sourced ingredients. The squash gnocchi is one of our chef's specialties and yes, he does lovingly make it by hand using a classical technique- a rather time-consuming process. The sauce as well. We have often been complimented on our serving sizes so we particularly regret that you found it "skimpy". I would appreciate knowing if the other members of your party were satisfied with the serving size of their halibut courses. The chef did serve two amuse-bouches rather than the traditional one.

A factual correction: As to the distance from Baddeck, yes, it does take about 30 minutes. However, on our web page, we only give the distance of 17 Kms. from the TCH # 105 at Exit 11, not from Baddeck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Two friends and I did drove the Cabot Trail last weekend and chose Chanterelle Inn as our second night stop, decision maker was that they mentioned a ranking as one of the top 100 restaurants in Canada this year.

We were on the trail before the season really started and the Inn was not busy yet so the staff were extra attentive, or maybe that's how they always are? Either way it was fantastic. The view from the dinning area is beautiful and I can only imagine being there when the trees are changing colour in the fall and eating on the back deck (it was just a little too chilly for us to).

Besides comfy rooms with adorable homey decor, our high expectations for dinner were certainly met. Bryan Picard is a creative chef and it was a great meal. Breakfast was taken care of by the owners (I believe) and that was also fantastic.

Would go back anytime and have recommended it to a few friends who are headed there next week!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeBretonFresh, Owner at The Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous comments. We felt honored you came to the Chanterelle as a part of your graduation celebrations! We wish you the best in your chosen careers and hope you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We rolled in without reservation after dark (19:30ish hrs), and not only did we get a room, but also a stunningly warm welcome, including the best bouillabaisse I've ever had in my life. The owners get top spot from me for their ecological approach to foods and environment, with home-made everything made of fresh ingredients (including of course chanterelles) and solar panels on the roof. If you are a bird and mushroom nut (like myself), you will be right at home and probably won't want to leave. Fantastic views of the valley and inlet/lake contribute to that feeling. This is an excellent place with wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: I don't think it matters - this Inn has a fantastic covered and screened deck out the back with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeBretonFresh, Owner at The Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Your appreciation of the beauty of the area and what it offers warms our hearts almost as much as the lovely comments you make about the Inn and the cuisine we offer. We hope you return soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

On the Cabot Trail, above the road is an enchanting B&B named for the abundant mushroom species found nearby.

We arrived in the evening with the harvest moon shining brightly over the lake across the road. This Inn is excellent and well appointed by the owner. Everything is comfortable for an excellent nights sleep.

Breakfast was an mushroom lovers dream and well enjoyed by all.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Lake side have a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeBretonFresh, Owner at The Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your compliments. We enjoyed having you with us. As to the 'shrooms: this was a bountiful year for Chanterelles and you were here at the peak of a rather short season. We were glad to be able to share them with our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastham, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent four lovely nights at Chanterelle with beautiful surroundings, wonderful food, and caring hosts on our first trip to Nova Scotia. Our room was pleasant and immaculate with comfortable bed and homemade soaps in the bathroom. As one who is allergic to perfume I truly appreciated the effort that is made to provide a healthy environment. We were there with a package, and Earlene made heroic efforts to provide all the side trips despite less than ideal weather. The view from the veranda is spectacular, even with some showers and fog. The food is great. Dinners are 5-star, and the free breakfast is super--fresh fruits, homemade granola and bread, egg dishes and GREAT coffee (no one gets 5 stars from me unless they have good coffee). Hope to return some day to do the outdoor things that we missed on this trip-and I would hope to stay at Chanterelle again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeBretonFresh, Owner at The Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Such a lovely, lovely tribute. Thank you so very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Beautifully located right on the Cabot Trail this inn was a great home base for us. We bought the Sampler package and it was terrific value. Three nights accommodation with plenty of activities included (whale watching, museums, Bird Island....and more) plus a four course dinner and still time left over to go into the forest for some foraging. We found some chanterelles and Chef Brian graciously prepared and served them with our meal. Earlene does an amazing job of sourcing local products as much as she can and even mills her own soap. Staff are local, knowledgeable and support local wines, and express the nature of Cape Breton uniquely. We would go back without question.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeBretonFresh, Owner at The Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
It was great fun having you here scrounging around under the spruce after the Chanterelles! Bryan was all too happy to add them to your dinner. Remember, the Chanterelles are pretty reliable for popping up every year so you must return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages

Address: 48678 Cabot Trail, North River Bridge, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > North River Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North River Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 150 acre estate of the Chanterelle Country Inn and Cottages celebrates the beauty and the bounty of Cape Breton Island. Situated on the Cabot Trail, the award-winning property sits high on a brae overlooking the estuary of the North River as it flows into St. Ann's Bay. Nine rooms in the Inn, each with a 4-piece bathroom, antiques, ceiling fan, high-speed internet. Hot and cold buffet breakfast included for inn guests. Three one-bedroom cottages with 4-piece bathrooms, verandahs, ceiling fans and fully-appointed kitchenettes. Thirty-four seat restaurant serving a cuisine created from locally grown ingredients. Fragrance and chemically-free environment. Amenities include an extensive library, walking trails and a gazebo on the harbor with pedal boats. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Baddeck
Baddeck Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages to your Saves list