We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rockridge House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porthcurno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rockridge House
Save
You added Rockridge House to your Saves list
Old Cable Lane, Porthcurno TR19 6JX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Porthcurno B&B and Inns
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“brilliant place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed here literally about 2 weeks ago for 4 nights. Chris was more than welcoming, straight and to the point. He offered us the flat as we had our little one with us and we thoroughly enjoyed this as it meant we could come and go and also had our own fascilities to cook if we needed them! Breakfast in the morning was brilliant as it meant we got to talk to the other individuals staying there who also offered some welcome information on where to go and what to see as this was our first time to this part of town. Breakfast was more than sufficient and he had a lot of variety. Chris also has a lot of knowledge on the local area and we welcomed this greatly. for a B&B stay couldn't have asked for more.
It is a 10 minute or so walk away from porthcurno beach as well as extremely close to the minack theatre. I have to agree with all the good reviews on here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    14
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
29
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

OK - the other reviews gave some info. that I agree with but mostly, we found this place to be a bit strange. After walking on the Coastal Path for close to 8 hours coming from Sennen Cove, our host was in the middle of a plumbing emergency and didn't really make himself known to us as the innkeeper. Our room was on the 3rd floor and he didn't offer much help with our bags. The common living room was part of HIS house and there was laundry all over. A pretty solarium was out of use b/c it had so much junk in it! We felt restricted to our room. In addition, although we were booked through our walking outfitter, we opened the door to discover 2 twin beds!!! We weren't quite sure how this happened and Chris offered no explanation or apology. Breakfast is in the kitchen and everyone sits around 1 large table. While I usually love to chat among the guests, this felt like an imposition and we didn't feel very welcomed! It is in close proximity to the Minack Theater and the Telegraph museum so that was the ONLY thing going for it. Mostly, we felt like unwelcomed visitors in this strange b & b!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveHall_11, Public Relations Manager at Rockridge House, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
I am very sorry you felt you didn’t enjoy your stay with us and we apologise that not everything was to your liking. We want our guests to feel welcome & pride ourselves in offering a friendly service. The guest rooms are large & airy with comfortable quality beds. They are meticulously cleaned and are at very reasonable rates including a lovely breakfast . It was unfortunate that Chris was in the middle of a flooding crisis in the basement at the time of your arrival but the twin room you were given on the 2nd floor was the room Chris informed the walking company as being available when they made the booking on your behalf. I would like to add it is a family home and not an Inn or Hotel with communal living rooms. Each guest room has its own bathroom and as mentioned earlier is large and airy complete with TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The conservatory ‘junk’ that you mentioned is currently storing my daughters furniture whilst she moves house and regarding the living room there is a lot of laundry that needs pressing each day. As for the breakfast around a large table I am happy to say 99% our guests enjoy being able to converse with other guests in the morning and hearing about each others holiday. We have a lot of lovely people who enjoy their stay with us and can only agree with the old saying 'You cannot please all of the people all of the time' even though that is our aim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalbeattie
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is a fabulous B&B. Chris our host was so lovely and helpful in every way. We enjoyed a performance of Shakespeare at the Minack together and Chris' kindness and attention to my family was exceptional. If you are in Cornwall I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This B and B provides very good accommodation. A major advantage is that it is within walking distance to the excellent Minack Theatre. The seaside walk from Porthcurno to Lands End is also excellent. The proprietor of Rockridge House is very knowledge and friendly and obviously enjoys being a host. We found this B and B to be priced fairly. Parking is available but is a bit tight.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed here on a recent visit to the Minack Theatre and found everything first class. The enjoyment Chris has in running a B&B comes across in spades and this is reflected in the service we received. The house is beautiful and extremely well appointed and it is in a great location for this part of the world. We wanted a double but, I believe, had the last room available which was a twin. The room was lovely, very comfortable and noticeable for its excellent en suite shower.

The breakfast, consumed around a larg oval table was excellent too with wide choices available.

Sometimes B&B accomodation can be claustrophobic but not the case here. Chris is very relaxed with his guests whilst providing the right level of attention.

One nice touch was that on the morning we left the car had a depleted battery. Chris was happy to get us going again with his jump leads!!!.

Cheers Chris-will definitely see you again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Clean , value for money , well located , Convenient , homely environment , can take your own booze , superb breakfast !

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I and my sister stayed this week and enjoyed ourselves. Chris friendly but not too overly, which is how it should be. Clean beds and rooms. Nice breakfast. Lots of stairs overall, but apart from that a nice stay. Will go back when we need to.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rockridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockridge House

Address: Old Cable Lane, Porthcurno TR19 6JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Porthcurno
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Porthcurno
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockridge House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.