We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in layout and design” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Radcliffe Dr, Moosic, PA 18507   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Moosic
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Disappointed in layout and design”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Normally a fan of this chain, but very disappointed in this hotel. Reserved 2 queen w sleeper sofa. Room layout was terrible. Very long and narrow room. Living area upon entering with a desk/work area separating sleeping area. Unfortunately, desk area has a frosted 'window' that opens to sleeping area. If the light is on at desk, it shines through to the bedroom area. Bathroom has a sliding door with a full length frosted panel. Again, light shines through very brightly to sleeping area. No way to lock bathroom door. Very long big bathroom with poor use of space. Very small sink with limited counter space. Would have been nice to have a mirror in living area or desk area for use when bathroom is occupied. There was a HUGE walk in closet with maybe 5 hangers, why? Honestly, a twin bed and dresser would fit in this closet, yet there were only two small drawers in the entire room that is meant to sleep 5 guests. Television was awkwardly placed on a 'dresser' between living a d bedroom areas. While it did swivel, it was not enough to really see it well from either area. The furniture and fixtures were sleek and modern, but someone really sacrificed functionality and common sense in the pursuit of modern design. It is really a shame that the room was so poor that it completely overshadowed the cleanliness of the hotel and friendliness of the staff. I would not stay in this particular location again and will have to do additional research before booking with this chain at other unfamiliar locations.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWBGeneralManager, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. We are happy that you were satisfied with our guest service and cleanliness of our hotel. We sincerely apologize that we weren't able to meet your suite expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    32
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
50
24
6
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel is consistent in quality with other Springhill Suites, maybe a little better. The rooms are sizable and make a good use of space. The bathroom was a decent size, and, this being a relatively new hotel, the fixtures all worked well. There's lots of storage in the rooms. Everything was clean and well-maintained, both in our room and in the public areas. I had no problems with the wifi. The availability of hot coffee in the lobby throughout the day is a real plus, and this hotel offers cookies at check-in. The breakfast was below average -- e.g., the eggs were cold. The hotel sits in a retail development across from the Shoppes at Montage shopping center, adjacent to a large movie theatre complex. It's far enough from 81 and Montage Mountain Road that it was very quiet here at night (though it's worth noting that there were no events at the minor league ballpark down the hill from the hotel's parking lot during our stay).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWBGeneralManager, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your kind feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and everything we have to offer here at the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My family of 5 decided to stop in this hotel for a night so that we could rest from our long drive back from our holidays. This was the perfect place to end our vacation. The staff was great! As soon as we arrived we were impressed with the location (BEAUTIFUL!!). The hotel is located in a small and new village that has a new plaza with restaurants, grocery store, Starbucks and some fast food; there are also a theatre and stores. The bedrooms have queen sized beds, and have a great bathroom. Everything was very clean. The pool and jacuzzi were great and you can really rest at this hotel. There is such a quietness in the village that is hard to find in other places. The hotel also has an outside patio with couches and it is a great place to spend a weekend. The breakfast was awesome, with plenty of food and delicious coffee and bread. This was the perfect place to end our vacation. We loved it and we will be back soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWBGeneralManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
We are so excited to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! We consider our location to be a hidden gem in Northeastern Pennsylvania, and we are glad you feel the same way. The patio is certainly a great feature of the hotel, and can definitely help you relax. We can't wait to have you back again with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My family wanted to go to the Knoebels Amusement Park, but I was looking for a hotel for a couple of days to stay at. The SpringHill Suites hotel was about an hour away, but good news..SpringHill Suites was definitely worth the ride! Loved the room with its modern look and the layout of the bathroom. The family loved the room! Room was spotless! Plenty of room for four and a good breakfast! Movie theater was just across the way from the hotel and restaurants nearby.....perfect spot for the hotel. If I come that way again, will definitely stay at the SpringHill Suites!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWBGeneralManager, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and that our suites meet your needs. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We got adjoining rooms for 2 weekend nights in August to accomodate 3 generations of family. We liked the layout of the rooms and the King (HC accessible) was surprisingly big.
The place was full of girl's softball teams and race fans (the big Pocono race was held that weekend) - so sharing the breakfast area in the morning and the pool in the afternoon was not that enjoyable. And the room cleaning left something to be desired - not bad, just not spotless.
Otherwise, the nice rooms, common area, and location were really more than we expected in the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton area. And the shopping and theatre complex within walking distance was a big plus.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, OH
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We made a last-minute reservation to break up our drive home from Hartford. The hotel really impressed me. It's relatively new, so of course everything was fresh, clean, and modern. The room was HUGE, even by SpringHill standards. The layout, with the sliding door to the bathroom, was excellent. Customer service was great, both the late night crew and early morning crew were welcoming and helpful. Breakfast had plenty of variety, both hot and cold. By far, one of the nicest Marriott properties at which we've stayed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWBGeneralManager, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your kind feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and everything we have to offer here at the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Nice new hotel, nice staff and good location but my room was very dusty and had food left in the fridge when we checked in . It may seem small but it was noticeable dust and how can you miss food in a fridge.
Breakfast was good, and plenty of food.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWBGeneralManager, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. I do apologize for cleaniness issue you faced when check in to your room. I would love for you to come back again and let us show you how great of a Hotel we are. Please give us a second try on your next trip to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre

Address: 19 Radcliffe Dr, Moosic, PA 18507
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Moosic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Moosic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.