We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel choice in Moosic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Scranton Wilkes-Barre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Scranton Wilkes-Barre to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Scranton Wilkes-Barre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Glenmaura National Blvd., Moosic, PA 18507   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Moosic
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ormond Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel choice in Moosic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very impressed with this hotel from the moment we stepped in the lobby. Decorations for Christmas were very nice, the staff at the front desk was very pleasant and polite. My son was given a Christmas coloring kit for ornaments, as well as chocolates from the local chocolatier. Our room was very clean and quiet. Mattress was a bit on the firm side for my preference but still got a great night's sleep. Location is close to skiing, shopping, restaurants and the airport. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Scr-GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Scranton Wilkes-Barre, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. We were very happy you liked our decorations and enjoyed your stay. We appreciate you choosing the Courtyard by Marriott for a future visit to the Scranton area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    39
    19
    11
    6
See reviews for
36
26
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying 2 nights in this lovely Marriott Hotel. From the moment you enter until the moment you check-out, the service and customer attentiveness is beyond compare. We had a very spacious 2 room King Suite on the second floor which was very comfortable, clean, well-appointed, priced right, and quiet. The indoor pool and hot tub were great and the temperature of the area and pool were perfect. Very relaxing. The firepit is also a wonderful feature.

We were supposed to stay at the Comfort Suites up the road, but the trip advisor reviews were not the best, so we changed a few days before our arrival, and we were so happy we did.

We have never stayed at a Courtyard before, but usually select the regular Marriott's, Hilton, Westin, or 4/5 star hotels, but this Hotel was comparable. There was only 1 negative that we had about this restaurant. When you enter the lobby there is a Bistro Cafe which is so unattractive and so uninviting that it did not appeal to us to have anything in there. If they want to continue to have an eatery, this definitely drags this location down and needs major attention. Other than this, our visit could not have been better. The location is perfect, near everything, yet quiet and secluded.

Room Tip: The 2 room suites are very comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed there one night. Got no reservation and was lucky to have one of their last room avalaible that night. Service was polite. The hotel is modern with lot of parking and a nice scenic view. Our room was smaller than what we got generally in Courtyard (explained certainly by our last minute arrival without reservation) but confortable enought. The included breakfast was good. The access easy enough when you catch it is located behind the T.G.I. Friday restaurant near-by - and that they share the parking entrance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel has a great location - convenient to the highway, shopping, and restaurants. I stayed here one night while in town for business and had a really delightful stay. As is to be expected with a Marriott brand, the room was clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and check-in/out was a breeze. The bistro in the lobby was also a great touch!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Everything about the Courtyard is better than most. Decor, really attractive landscaping and scenic location, lobby, they are all great. Since Courtyard food leaves something to be desired, there are other eating options nearby. Panera, a Mexican place, others plus a multi screen movie theater. Close to I-81, but one drawback, the mattresses are terrible. We had two double beds and both were very bad. It's too bad since all else put this in the top tier of Courtyards.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStaff_1, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Scranton Wilkes-Barre, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay as well as your review of our hotel! We here at the Courtyard pride ourselves on our customer service and our great facilities, so we are glad you agree that they are great. Our location is superb for many different occasions and stays and we are glad that you found our location right for your last stay. If you could please contact me directly @ lori.cline@hershahotels.com, I will look into the issue you mentioned about the uncomfortable mattress in your room. Our rooms are our pride and joy and I want to ensure you that we will personally check this room and take steps to make sure that this is corrected.

Thank you again and we look forward to greeting you on your next stay!
Lori Cline - Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stopped over here on our way up North to drop our daughter off at college. Other hotels were full, but (luckily) the Courtyard still had an open room. The room was smoke-free and smelled that way. It was clean and well-air-conditioned. We were welcomed by the gentleman at the desk and greeted with candies from a local establishment on arrival. As another reviewer noted, the hotel is in a lovely setting without significant traffic. And there is lovely stonework along the drive in. If the cost had been a bit less and breakfast had been included, it would have been perfect for us. But even without these amenities, it was really quite good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

front desk staff was great and very helpful in recommending a restaurant. The room was quiet. I think the bathroom could use a little extra touch, though. All in all, I would stay here again. Loved the Starbucks in the lobby!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Scranton Wilkes-Barre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Scranton Wilkes-Barre

Address: 16 Glenmaura National Blvd., Moosic, PA 18507
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Moosic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Moosic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Scranton Wilkes-Barre 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether traveling for business or fun, the Courtyard Scranton Wilkes-Barre provides you with exactly what you need to make all of your travels successful. Directly off Interstate 81 at Exit 182 our Scranton PA location at the base of Sno Mountain in northeastern Pennsylvania makes us one of the closest hotels to the Sno Mountain Ski Resort and SnoCove Water Park as well as Bank of America, Cigna and Prudential. Our hotel in Scranton PA offers 120 spacious guest rooms with plush bedding and cotton-rich linens designed for comfort and productivity with separate sitting areas, free high-speed Internet access and free in-room coffee. Start or end your day at The Bistro with our healthy menu featuring Starbucks coffee, then relax by the fireplace in our lobby or unwind in the indoor pool and whirlpool. The Courtyard Scranton Wilkes-Barre also offers a 960-square feet meeting room, making it an ideal location for small meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Scranton Wilkes-Barre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Scranton Wilkes-Barre Hotel Moosic
Courtyard Moosic
Courtyard Hotel Moosic
Moosic Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Scranton Wilkes-Barre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.