We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Dining Room Experience is Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ooka Japanese Sushi & Hibachi Steakhouse

Ooka Japanese Sushi & Hibachi Steakhouse
764 Bethleham Pike, Montgomeryville, PA 18936
2153611119
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ooka Japanese Sushi & Hibachi Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Macungie, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“The Dining Room Experience is Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have not done the Hibachi so I can only evaluate the restaurant side. The sushi and rolls have been fresh and tasty. The menu has some good stand-bys and there are often some good specialty rolls. I get the salmon every time and it is moist and very flavorful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ambler, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

While watching the chefs do their magic with knives and spatulas, the food is mediocre at best. Helpful hint: wear clothing that's washable, because you'll leave with the cooking smalls all over!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great night out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Loved the hibachi. Fun experience and excellent food. Was also nice that it wasn't an all night thing as my wife was pregnant at the time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“average and hit or miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have been here about 4-5 times, the kids love it. Me? I could take it or leave it.

The food is good, not the best Japanese I have a had. But by no means the worst either. It is standard hibachi fare.

The place appears to be very clean, but service can be very hit or miss. (a growing trend everywhere). Also, the Hibachi show is also very hit or miss.

For what it is, the place is expensive. But will probably go again because of the kids.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringoes, New Jersey
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“6-Course Omakase Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Japanese fusion cuisine, with a bit of "molecular gastronomy"

1. Arugula salad with tuna sashimi with a tahini sauce
2. Raw oyster with lemon relish, and tuna sashimi with guacamole and hot pepper sauce, topped with seaweed and goat cheese (sounds weird, but amazingly good, everything melts together)
3. 3 pieces of sushi, each with a little bit of a special topping that is to be eaten without soy sauce (don't remember the toppings, but some of them was in a lemon gel that was too sour. Would rather just have the sushi traditionally with wasabi and soy sauce)
At this point, we were given a house-made pear soda before transition to hot entrees.
4. Pan-fried cod in a shitaki soy sauce
5. Pork belly with edame risotto (this one is not for the cholesterol and calorie conscious. This is a 2 by 2 by 2 inches cube of pork, with half of it being fat and topped with a crust rind, grilled to perfection. Ate the whole thing despite my diet)
6. Lemon crème brulee with vanilla ice cream.

If you are still reading, this entire menu cost only $45, and additional $30 for the optional drinks pairing of wine and sake (we didn't try).

Overall impression, good ingredients, a bit of repetition (served tuna in 3 of the courses). They didn't overdo the fusion cuisine stuff. Service is attentive and our waitress was very knowledgeable about the food but didn't make a big deal about everything (I hate it when the server gives you a 2-minute description of every course and lists all the ingredients and how it is cooked). Great value and way exceeded my expectation.

One word of caution. As with any restaurant with hibachi or teppanaki, the place could get smelly with food odor. We came at 5 pm, and as we were leaving around 7:30, the place was getting filled up and the grills were fired up. So come early if you are not into the grilled stuff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ooka Japanese Sushi & Hibachi Steakhouse also viewed

 
Doylestown, Bucks County
Willow Grove, PA
 

Been to Ooka Japanese Sushi & Hibachi Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ooka Japanese Sushi & Hibachi Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.