We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay, if somewhat unremarkable...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Monroeville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Monroeville to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Monroeville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3962 William Penn Highway, Monroeville, PA 15146   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Monroeville
Boalsburg, PA
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay, if somewhat unremarkable...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

For a recent overnight trip to Pittsburgh, I booked two rooms for one night at the Courtyard Marriott in Monroeville through Priceline for $40 per room per night for my wife and me and another couple. The hotel is obviously quite new, so the lobby and rooms were in great condition, well maintained and quite clean. The orientation of the king bed in our room was unusual (not directly facing the TV, though the TV could be turned on its pedestal to face the bed), which meant that the four of us could sit on regular furniture to watch college basketball together without having to snuggle on the bed. The room, including the bathroom, was quite spacious. Free parking is always nice, and the proximity to a million restaurants and several interstate highways was quite convenient. We were in downtown Pittsburgh within 20 minutes. And we enjoyed a quick soak in the indoor hot tub.

Several minor irritations kept this from getting five stars from me. The access to the hotel was rather awkward, with a narrow winding driveway at a strange intersection behind a gas station. The breakfast buffet cost $9.95, which is well beyond what we were willing to pay. I'd much prefer a simpler, complimentary breakfast than a fancy, schmancy expensive one. And the internet access in the room was either not free or not working, so my wife had to sit in the hotel lobby at midnight to get free wireless internet access, which was silly.

With these few complaints aside, it was a pleasant stay at a quality hotel. I'd be happy to stay there again if we head to western Pennsylvania the next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    51
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
42
24
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, PA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

This is a really nice Courtyard property. It was very clean and the staff was excellent. I don't understand how it could be hard to see if you know where the Sheetz is. Check-in was smooth. The next day I had wanted to go to the Strip and the front desk manager was great about writing out the best directions for us. The breakfast was really good for the price - it is pretty much all you can eat and eggs are cooked to order. The resturant staff was also good. I stay in hotels for work at least once or twice a month, and this stay rated up there with the best of them.

  • Liked — cleanliness, friendliness and location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

This was a fabulous hotel and the staff was outstanding. I have stayed a dozens of hotels over the past three years and this is a cut above the rest. Not only is it spotless clean (less than 3 years old) but the decor is all class. I left my make up case and they not only had it but sent it to me at there expense. I have changed my mind about Courtyard Marriotts and will definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — incredible King bed
  • Disliked — entrance is hidden due to construction
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Va
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

Stayed at the Courtyard Pittsburgh Monroeville over the weekend for a pre-season Steelers game. We had no trouble finding it thanks to a previous review that told us to look for the "Sheetz" gas station.
The hotel seems new and everything was in good shape but what really made for an enjoyable experience was the friendliness of the staff. Everyone we came in contact with from the people at the front desk to the housekeeping staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

Just returned from a brief one night stay at the Courtyard. As others have said it is a relatively new hotel. The checkin-process was smooth and the welcome warm and friendly. When we got to the room, I was very impressed by tthe size of the room. It appears to be a bit bigger than your standard hotel room. One small disappointment was the bathroom. There were three of us but we only had 1 washcloth and no handtowels. This is in spite of "Extra Towels" requeted in our Marriott Rewards profile. The bed and pillows were comforatble.

The pool is small but the hot tub was a nice temperature. It felt good after wandering around Kennywood for a day.

The biggest problem was the difficulty in finding the hotel. If you are coming down William Penn Highway, there is no sign on the road for the hotel. It is up on a hill behind the Sheetz gas station. So if you're looking for it, look for Sheetz and you'll be ok. They really should have a sign that can be seen from the highway.

Virtiually every national restaurant chain is within a mile or two of the hotel on William Penn Highawy so it is convenient to eating.

Overall a nice hotel -- if you can find it.

  • Liked — Size of the room
  • Disliked — Hard to find off of the main road
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

Stayed there for 3 nights. The usual newer Courtyard. Nice rooms and bathrooms. The property was very clean. The pool is very nice but the hot tub a bit too small. The hotel is located off a very busy boulevard that has plenty of restaurants and stores which can be useful. I would stay there again, no problem.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

Everything in this Courtyard was sparkling and clean, and was clearly a relatively new hotel. Everything in the room worked as advertised, with the free Internet being very easy to use. My king room was quite spacious, as was the bathroom. Staff was friendly, and unlike most Courtyards, this one had a bar - something Courtyards typically lack even though they say they cater to business travelers. The fresh Otis Spunkmeyer cookies are always a nice touch upon check-in.

My only complaint - and given that this was a new hotel, it should have been avoided - don't get a room near the elevators. I was two doors from them, and heard the floor indicator beep every time the elevator stopped at the floor. It was not loud enough to disturb sleep, but just loud enough to get irritating when awake.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Out of the way for anything but business in Monroeville
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Monroeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Monroeville

Address: 3962 William Penn Highway, Monroeville, PA 15146
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Monroeville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Monroeville
#6 Business Hotel in Monroeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Monroeville 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Courtyard Pittsburgh Monroeville hotel features a new lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new lobby experience is 'The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.', providing guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning as well as evening dinner service with cocktails. Our Monroeville hotel is convenient to the Pittsburgh International Airport, Monroeville Convention Center and the Rivers Casino. Perfect for business and leisure travelers since we are located near Philips, UPMC East, Oerlikon, Westinghouse and Cleveland Brothers as well as to Heinz Field, PNC Park, Kennywood and Sandcastle Waterpark. The Courtyard Pittsburgh Monroeville is the ideal hotel for visitors of universities like Pittsburgh, Duquesne, Robert Morris and Carnegie Mellon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Monroeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Pittsburgh Monroeville Hotel Monroeville
Courtyard Monroeville
Monroeville Marriott
Monroeville Courtyard
Courtyard Pittsburgh Monroeville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Monroeville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.