We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here for 2 seperate nights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Monroeville

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Monroeville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Monroeville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3962 William Penn Highway, Monroeville, PA 15146   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Monroeville
IL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stayed here for 2 seperate nights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We drove through on our way to VA twice and stayed here both nights.

Reservations were easy to make.
Check in was easy.

The lobby was nicely decorated.

The first night we were on the 3rd floor with a balcony....very nice.
The room was nicely decorated.

The 2nd time we stayed we were on the 1st floor without a balcony. room had less furniture and we also missed the outdoor space.

We paid the exact same rate for both rooms...both on weekend nights.

the pool is tiny but we were the only people swimming.
the water was kinda cold so we all went in the hot tub to warm up.

we enjoyed the outdoor courtyard. we went and walked around out there.

gas station and restaurants right by the hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    48
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
38
21
7
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at this Courtyard several times over the past few years. We have always booked through priceline at a very reasonable rate rather than the high rack rates (not sure if I would select this hotel for $130+). Under those circumstances, the hotel is a good value as it is very clean and convenient to both the PA Turnpike and 376. If staying here, request a room on the back of the property. The rooms in the front of the hotel (especially on the left side if facing the hotel from the front) are directly behind the Sheetz gas station. If you are a light sleeper, during the night you can hear plenty of noise from the station like trucks idling, car stereos, etc. Also, you will get street noise from Business Rt. 22 on this side of the hotel. However, the worst noise offense was from the housekeeping staff on this last visit, and it might prompt us not to stay there again. In the morning, I kept hearing a loud BANG noise every few seconds. I went into the hall to determine the noise, and it appears that the housekeepers use the door's deadbolt to hold the door open. When they retrieve their supplies from the cart, they let the door slam on the deadbolt and it makes an awful noise. I did notice another housekeeper down the hall using a towel in the door instead. This was not a pleasant way to wake up on a Saturday morning, especially right outside doors that had 'do not disturb signs'. I noticed another housekeeper vacuuming the hall early in the morning right outside another room with a 'do not disturb sign'. This is not acceptable at a hotel with a noon checkout and people are trying to get some rest if they were out late.

Room Tip: Back side of hotel away from Rt. 22 and Sheetz gas station.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This Courtyard was a pleasant surprise- bright and modern with a large bar/bistro area and nice lounge space. Room was clean comfortable, staff pleasant. Really felt I could relax or get work accomplished in the room.. One of nicer Courtyards I've stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here. The service was excellent, rooms clean and atmosphere great. The pool was kind of small but it still met our needs. When staying in Monroeville this hotel is a great choice!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

New look that apparently will be rolled out to all Courtyards: Very spacious, open lobby; very modern look with giant plasma screen dividing guest reception and library / desks / fireplace / reading area; bar; and the list goes on. Very nice surprise.

Rooms were clean and comfortable. Service was good, but we had some bad luck: Although we were given a high floor, there were some very noisy / partying guests spanned across multiple rooms, chatting loudly and slamming doors until 3 am. This went on to the point that several other guests complained (we could overhear the manager on duty providing some explanations). They should have managed it differently. Other than that, a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

After this visit I can say that Courtyard is my favorite hotel chain. It seems to be overall consistent, and the beds are always firm, yet comfortable. I thought this hotel did a great job of providing a relaxing atmosphere, while being just off the turnpike. I liked the extra details in the room, like the fake flowers and mood lighting over the wet bar, it fit in nicely instead of being tacky. The Paul Mitchell products in the bathroom were also a treat.

Only two things bothered me ... One, the hair dryer in the bathroom started smoking when I turned it on. Two, the marble seat in the bathtub doesn't seem safe, marble is really slippery when wet. Neither of these things affected my rating, and if I was in the area again I would stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 221 has an obstructed view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights for a summer camp in Carnegie Mellon University. It is an 11-mile drive to CMU but it usually took 30 to 40 minutes. The location of this hotel is very close to PA turnpike and 376, in a very good neighborhood. We ate at Primanti Bros. at the location which is very close to the hotel. All the staff of this hotel are very professional and friendly. The new lobby is clean and very inviting. The hotel is at a hill behind a Sheetz gas station across from Golden Corral. It is very close to a CVS and Giant Eagle (supermarket), and quite close to Sam's Club.

There is a small refrigerator in the room. A coffee maker. A RJ45 connector for internet connection (very good). I have stayed at Courtyard several times. This one is definitely better than others we have stayed before.

Best of all, we only paid $65 (total) per day through priceline.com. We were very surprised at the quality of the hotel at this price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Monroeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Monroeville

Address: 3962 William Penn Highway, Monroeville, PA 15146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Monroeville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Monroeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Monroeville 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Courtyard Pittsburgh Monroeville hotel features a new lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new lobby experience is 'The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.', providing guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning as well as evening dinner service with cocktails. Our Monroeville hotel is convenient to the Pittsburgh International Airport, Monroeville Convention Center and the Rivers Casino. Perfect for business and leisure travelers since we are located near Philips, UPMC East, Oerlikon, Westinghouse and Cleveland Brothers as well as to Heinz Field, PNC Park, Kennywood and Sandcastle Waterpark. The Courtyard Pittsburgh Monroeville is the ideal hotel for visitors of universities like Pittsburgh, Duquesne, Robert Morris and Carnegie Mellon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Monroeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Pittsburgh Monroeville Hotel Monroeville
Courtyard Monroeville
Monroeville Courtyard
Monroeville Marriott
Courtyard Pittsburgh Monroeville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Monroeville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.