We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meals again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of China Palace

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
China Palace
4059 William Penn Hwy, Monroeville, PA 15146-2504
412-373-7423
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 115 Restaurants in Monroeville
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Brechin, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great meals again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We make the China Palace an annual occurrence now while attending the Allegheny Sport, Boat and travel show in Monroeville. Great original recipe Chinese food and wonderful staff. The soups and appetizers as well as the main courses were great as usual!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    0
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Chinese!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stopped by China Palace in Monroeville for lunch during what was a very stressful week for me. I left after a great lunch in a much better frame of mind. First of all, they had the crunchy noodles to munch on while you wait (which are a weakness of mine), and then a pot of hot tea was quickly bought to the table. The service was very friendly and efficient and a crispy eggroll was soon followed by my entree order. The food was fresh, tasty, and a perfect size. I will be back again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Regular Customer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I've lived in Monroeville for 3 years and have patronized China Palace regularly, mostly through home delivery. The food is very good (Royal Chicken my fave) and service is excellent. Delivery can be slow but keep in mind this is Monroeville and the average traffic light takes 5 minutes to cycle plus they're busy because of the food/service quality :-) Regardless of the wait, the food always arrives hot and the drivers are equally pleasant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Forge, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Yuck! Worst I've ever had!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Most disappointing Chinese style ever! Did take-out - Tom Yum Soup, Scallion Pancakes, Vegetable Steamed Dumpling and Tofu with Vegetables. Tom Yum was for two - of the quart of soup, 90% was liquid with very little other (three shrimp) but was tasty. Scallion pancakes had very little scallions (this dish is normally mostly scallions), rubbery and very greasy. The dumplings, I expected vegetables - you know like something green inside - NOT! These had a brown grain like stuff in it - maybe vegetarian, but certainly not vegetable nor any good! Last and certainly not best...the tofu vegetables- funky smell, and worst taste. This dish was nasty, and inedible. I threw most of this order out, then went out for food.
Don't waste your money!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great little find. Hidden gem!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

I REALLY didn't want to go in this place. I'll say that now. I wanted to go to El Campesino next door, because the outside looked really run down. Boy was I wrong!! The decor was very well thought out and very modern. It wasn't the tacky typical Chinese restaurant decor.

The meal was served with complimentary hot tea, and the service was very prompt. We had a great meal here and the server was very friendly. I was completely wrong about this place! I can certainly tell that the owner takes pride in this establishment.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Palace also viewed

 

Been to China Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.